Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worked well for our short visit

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: I was impressed by the friendliness of the Staff, in particular Leni was very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: One thing about this place is there are a large number of roosters that live on the adjacent property. They are loud, and non-stop crowing.
Location: Beaches nearby are very nice
I found the Gardens at West Maui to be very nice for our weekender on Maui. We came over for the Xterra race and needed a convenient place to stay. It was fairly close and allowed us to get every accomplished we needed to. I would have liked to stay longer, maybe next time ! ps. if you don't like roosters you should definitely not get a unit near the fence in the back. It didn't really bother us, but it might bother other people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for your visit. We are happy we could provide you with convenient and comfortable accommodations. By all means stay longer! We would be delighted to serve you again sometime soon. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Beautiful, quiet, roomy, and fully equipped

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Basically everything. Plenty of parking.
Cons: More geckos maybe? Oh wait, I wanted Splenda for my coffee. I just went and robbed a few packets from the local McDonald's when I got lunch though.
Location: All sorts of little surf/snorkel/dive boutiques and rental shops, places to eat all different kinds of food, etc. Right outside Lahaina, too.
For the price and 3.5 out of 5 star rating it had when I booked, I was worried I was getting a backwater roach-motel; couldn't be further from the truth. Full kitchen, living room with dining table, couch, glass coffee table, new 42" flat screen, all-new appliances - refrigerator, oven, glass stove-top, toaster, blender, microwave, coffee-maker with several bags of Hawaiian coffee, and a full set of silverware and new dinnerware. All the cupboards looked pristine and smelled brand-new. Big bed that folds effortlessly and silently up into the living room wall via hydraulic assistance. Every room has its own wireless internet. Some other reviewers seem to dislike geckos for some odd reason, but those cute little harmless geckos are probably the reason there were no bugs that we saw. Plus, you're in Hawaii/Maui - it's a jungle island; there are geckos literally everywhere. Deal with it. They eat the bugs for you. Also, the handy Napili Market (along with a small strip-mall of restaurants and various boutiques) is right down the road with all the food and basic amenities you could need. We arrived late and the staff was gone for the day, but we just picked up the free red phone by the office door, and the operator told us the code to the little metal lock-box that contained our room keys. Everything was quick and streamlined. Overall the place was fantastic-great value/quality. I will most certainly look forward to staying there again when/if I ever get to visit Maui again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, James! We truly appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review. We are delighted we exceeded your expectations and thrilled that we could earn your highest rating. It is very gratifying our resort renovations made a positive impression, and that everything was clean and functional. Thank you once again for your visit and generous comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay and would go back again
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom From Canada - visit Maui annually

experience fro]m the 10 days stay

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: OK price
Cons: comfort level
Location: OK
roasters wake up everyone at 4:30 am. no one at front desk. pool was not open at the time it was supposed to be. to get extra towels from maids were not available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we did not meet your expectations and will work diligently to improve in the areas you mentioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we did not meet your expectations and will work diligently to improve in the areas you mentioned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LEE

Good Location!

Posted Jan 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great place! very quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good news Bad news

Posted Jun 2, 2012
4am wake up call by roosters not good. Hot tub not working bad news.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms Coddyfrom Elk Grove, CA, USA

Place just like home

Posted May 22, 2012
Pros: cleanness
Location: The location is good by closing to two great beaches and small shopping mall.
We just got back from our vacation (5/14/12-5/21/12) so this is a fresh review: The resort was easy to check in even though the office was closed by the time we arrived. The one bed room suite was a bit old but well maintained. The suite was very clean and the bedroom bed was big and comfortable. but the pull out sofa bed was not in good condition. we had to put the mattress directly on the floor because of the coils. We also had some interesting neighbors -- roosters. When we arrived, they were quite annoying the first night because, unlike in the stories and movies, these roosters would start calling, not when the sun was due to rise, but whenever they felt like it (which unfortunately happened to be around 3am every morning). However, at the end of our trip, we came to love our fellow neighbors and will look back upon this trip and remember them as one of the interesting pieces of our vacation. All in all, this is a great resort with a great price tag -- and it's extremely close to two gorgeous beaches!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rio de janeiro, brazil

paradise

Posted Apr 27, 2012
Pros: the studio room
Location: very nice
its a very nice hotel, beatiful place, few steps from kapalua beache.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Beautiful Garden/Grounds

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed a week at Gardens at West Maui. The grounds are beautiful, well kept. Our room was spotless, very clean. Paid for a studio, but got a one bedroom. Two full bathrooms, more than enought towels. AC worked great, lot of big windows, and a nice TV. Biggest draw back to the room is lack of Wi-Fi. It does have wired Internet, but $$, and no Wi-Fi even in common areas. Cell phone reception was very poor, or not at all in our building. Pool was nice, clean all blue tile bottom, (slippery) but the pool was a little too cold for my liking. The hot tub was small, two couples and it was tight if you have long legs. The jets on the hot tub didn't work. I was in building 4, in the back near the pool. Yes the Roosters can be heard every morning, and are actually running around the grounds. But the noise didn't really bother me, they are actually kind of cool. If you plan on going and doing a lot, and you don't need someone in the office everyday (the office is not staffed everyday) then The Gardens are a good deal for that upscale part of Maui. But if you want to stay close to the condo, need a front desk that is staffed everyday, your better off paying more and getting a condo/hotel on the ocean. Over all I had a comfortable stay, no real complaints. No Wi-Fi is a deal breaker, with smart phones, tablets, and more than one person with a laptop, Wi-Fi is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Near great snorkeling

Posted Apr 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
A five minute walk from Kapalua Bay, with great snorkeling (we were there in April), across the street from the Napili Kai resort (Seahouse restaurant with good appetizers). 1 bedroom units are very comfortable. Building 1 units face the driveway/parking, but the very helpful staff moved us to an opening in Building 3 (view of the neighboring golf course). We'd happily stay again. (But I can't quite give a 5 to a Maui hotel without an ocean view.)