Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alicia from LA, California

Great luxury hotel, even with kids!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Love this upscale hotel that has a ton of great amenities and is also kid friendly for us who brought along our baby for this trip. We've stayed here many times and always recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Mart from Honolulu, HI

Girls weekend at the Ritz

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Pool, view and poolside service. Very nice and attentive.
Cons: A/C needs to cool the room, upgrade in room coffee service.
Overall good experience, but had a few disappointments. A/C did not work well and in room coffee was the pits!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place to Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Location: The Honolua store on site was an exceptional value for this area on Maui. The "Tree" in Lahaina is a MUST see.
We were able to take a shuttle to Kapalua Bay - by far one of the best places to snorkel on the island - we went four other places and none compared to this Bay. The staff was exceptional!! The housekeeping service was what you would expect with a 5 star facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2014
We were suprised to learn there is a 30 dollar per night charged that is not disclosed until you arrive. When we first arrived in our room our shower was broken and wasn't repaired for hours. Both of us desperately wanted to take a shower after our long flight and we weren't able to. The shuttle at the hotel can take up to 30 minutes to arrive and on one occassion take an hour. We ended up missing our dinner reservations as a result. In addition, there is no shelter from the strong winds and we felt like we were in a wind storm for most of the week. Stay lower in the island and avoid this place. It does not live up to the great Ritz name.
Comment from
Jan 21, 2014
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. At The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua we take great pride in providing our guests with the finest customer service and I sincerely apologize that we fell short in conducting your shower repair in timely manner. It is unacceptable that you would have to wait an extended period of time for this completion and I will be sure to look in to this further. I have also made a note about the shuttle delays you experienced and will address that with the shuttle management. In regard to the resort fee, I apologize that you were not made aware prior to your arrival. We do our best to outline any additional charges on our website as well as reservation confirmations. We will take a look at our process and see how we can make this more visible and hopefully avoid this in future. Thank you again for taking the time to give us constructive feedback that we can use to improve our guest experience as this is truly valuable to our success. Mahalo, Ian McPhee Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Kapalua area, the bathroom.
The hotel is nice, but lacks of feeling that you really are in Hawaii, you have to walk like 10-15 min to get to the beach, which is not really good for swimming, pool bar prices are extremely high. The Kapalua area is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Golden Valley, Arizona

Vacation in Paradise.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Location: The Honalau shop was inexpensive and the food excellent.
The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. The view of the overall resort was breath taking. The pool was heated and the pool cafe was wonderful. The view of the pool area was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from USA

First Maui

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Amenities
Cons: Add a microwave to the room
Location: Swim, Drives, Shopping and Food all in easy and due measure
Hotel amenities were excellent; location was clean and customer service oriented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chad

Family vacation in Maui

Posted Apr 15, 2014
This is a fantastic hotel located in Kapalua. We recently vacationed in Maui and stayed in three different hotels (Hyatt, Marriott and Ritz). The Ritz was by far the best hotel in terms of quality, service, food, cleanliness and professionalism. It is more private and secluded than the other two as well. The service is top notch, you'll be treated like royalty. My only critique is that the nearest beaches are average at best but the pool more than makes up for it. If I did it the trip over again I'd just stay at the Ritz all week. Overall this is probably the best hotel experience I've ever had!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good views, complicated room access, confused staf

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Cons: service
nice views, comfortable room. however, rooms with ocean views require long (5 to 10 mins) walk from valet to room, which can be difficult with kids. limited food if you are vegan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from los gatos, ├ža

Ritz Carlton was perfect hotel.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: close to everything
Our family had a great experience at the hotel, the staff was great, the service was great, we go there at least once a year and we always have a great time at Ritz Carlton.