Ratings based on 1,648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location is great and hotel and our room was very clean. Lots to do for families and teenage boys had a ball!
Cons: There are so many charges -- wi-fi, resort fee, umbrella/lounge chair on beach.
We just stayed at the Westin for 6 nights and had a great experience. We have 2 boys (13 & 15) and there was plenty to do. Room was a bit small for 4 and pool area very crowded every day, but it's a big resort and we knew that when we signed up. Staff very helpful and friendly and room very clean. We snorkeled by Black Rock, paddle-boarded, and relaxed by pool. Very nice to be able to walk to Whaler's Village with great food and wonderful sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Very nice place in great location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I stayed at this hotel in July 2014 with my teenage daughter and my 12-year-old son. This was the perfect environment on the island for families with children. Every single staff member I encountered was kind and helpful. It was truly some of the best service I've had at any hotel, anywhere. I've stayed at a lot of hotels around the world and have been highly critical of many in my reviews. But I truly have nothing negative at all to say about my experience at this hotel. You have to go into this with the right attitude. This place was not built for anyone's private retreat. It is a large resort for families and it will be crowded with families. That being said, I never felt I had to wait any extended period of time for any service. My check-in and checkout experience was efficient and quick. My dealings with the activities desk, restaurants, and the concierge were likewise efficient and expedient. I also used the spa services which were truly excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Maui Vacation in July 2014

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Great location. Ground and exterior environment were beautiful
Cons: * Separating couples and families by floor/area in the hotel
Location: Whaler's Village. Snorkeling
* Paid extra of ocean view at the Westin. Instead got great view of dinning room roof and parking lot. ONLY a partial view of the ocean. * The room only was cleaned twice in one week. * Food variety was limited at hotel and expensive. * Extra expense for incidentals (umbrella, tubes, etc.) in addition to $31 daily resort fee. * Parking was inadequate. * Room was on a floor with noisy families and crying babies. * Room was adequate but not up to a 4 Star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome front desk agent Mark Gano!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
My overall experience in this hotel was AWESOME!! Definitely the best birthday thus far!! Thank you Westin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent staff, awesome beach location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Staff is exceptional, location is unbeatable.
Cons: Wished we had free WiFi and a laundry room.
Location: Whalers Village: shops, & good restaurants. Lahaina, about 7-8 min away, really fun ocean front strip with tons of shops and many restaurants.
Stayed for 10 days, every staff member we encountered was so friendly and helpful, felt like we were being truly taken care of. Stayed in a deluxe ocean view room and was surprised that the room was a bit small. Very little room for clothing (drawers, closet space etc). Made it difficult to manage our clothes. The beach is amazing!!! Kids (9 & 12) loved the pool, kept them busy for hours. Food was excellent, and more restaurants and shops are just steps away at Whalers Village. Close to Lahaina which is really fun to go for shops and restaurants. Will DEFINITELY stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Avoid the Westin Maui Resort and Spa!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: Rooms, service, respect, staff attitudes, communication models, hotel welcoming, entertainment, music/ambiance ..the list goes on
Location: Everything is generally far, rent a car.
Avoid this resort if you are traveling to celebrate any special occasion or milestone celebration. In fact, we were there to celebrate two very special occasions and the "mass-factory style approach" of the resort was not very pleasant. Our stay was quite disappointing. Having travelled nearly 15 hours to arrive to Maui the check-in staff member didn't even ask how our flight was, the reason for our visit or even simply acknowledge any of our requests. As a Starwood Preferred Guest member we were treated as if we were being checked in at a motel. To make things worse -- we had a horrible room which was literally the size of a shoebox with a terrible view. Furthermore, people walking outside were easily staring into our room, and if the check-in staff member was cognizant of the purpose for our trip she would not have given us this room. We asked to change rooms twice and nobody followed up. The staff were CONSISTENTLY late on everything - had to call and remind them 4-5 times to remind them on every request. What made it even worse was the fact that they had poor mishaps on reservations and bookings. Our golf trip wasn't booked properly and upon arrival we were told the concierge desk gave us the wrong info (resort is across the street you would figure they would know) and other trips were cancelled with poor communication. Of course, when you plan your vacation on a day-day schedule a cancellation can become a serious hinderance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

water, food

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: bed
Cons: FOOD
Location: decent location, not great for kids
Nice hotel, good wait staff...food was not good at all, very limited vegatarian options for my daughter, best place to have breakfast=Starbucks!! Pool was too cold first two days of our stay, ocean waves way too rough, should of been told of rip tide. Luau was very nice. Room was great. Too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

JUST GO! You won't be disappointed.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The Westin on Maui was phenomenal. Laid back atmosphere, meticulously clean rooms, groomed landscaping, clear pools, and great, friendly staff. Whether you get an ocean or a mountain view, neither disappoint. The mountain view is amazing. We stayed a week and our room was turned down every day like clockwork. Even if we didn't use the soaps, towels, or water, we got new ones. There are palm trees everywhere, you're on Ka'anapali Beach, there is a waterside, flamingoes, coy fish, and cold drinks. Easy access to hwy 30 which leads to everything on Maui. What more could you ask for? Just do it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valencia, California

Location is great, service needs help

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Pool, newly renovated rooms, location and breakfast buffet (expensive though)
Cons: SERVICE (individually, staff are very nice, but there is an overall feeling that the hotel needs to save money, sell timeshares)
Location: Ocean, Whalers Village, Walks on the Beach, Black Rock for snorkeling
Location is wonderful, pool is fantastic, but if you have an issue or a problem the overall attitude shows a lack of care or concern. Hotel should hire a Lifeguard due to the amount of kids who come and enjoy. Overall "spirit of service" could be improved significantly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great family fun!!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Location: Right on a nice beach. Next door to Whaler's Village with great shopping, nice restaurants and even a food court with Subway.
This is a fantastic, family-friendly hotel. The pool is stunning, though crowded mid afternoon. Plenty of room in the pool, just not enough chairs. No problem if you are mostly enjoying the waterslide and pools. Lots of kids around, but still quiet and relaxing! Very pretty man made lagoons with swans and fish, so there is always something to enjoy. The staff is very attentive and friendly. We loved our vacation here.