Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Toronto

Little Paradise in Maui

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The hotel is really quiet and at the same time, offered enough activities to keep things interesting. A great place to chill and relax.
Cons: The restaurant at the hotel was too expensive. While the food is pretty good, they do not worth the price that we have to pay.
Location: Close to beaches, national parks. Beautiful scenery along the way...
My husband and I stayed for 8 days. When we first booked the place, we were a little concerned that the place is far from everything else on the island, remote and we will be bored. We were soooo wrong. This is a little paradise. The hotel staff were all exceptional. We were pampered the minute we got out of our rental car to check in to the hotel. Everyone was soooooo friendly, helpful and just want to make sure that we had a wonderful time. The room was super clean, roomy and quiet. There is no TV, air conditioning, radio or internet... but that was the best part of it. We spent more time in the outdoor, doing all sorts of activities and was not bored at all. The activities centre was soooo much fun. We had ukelele lessons, smoothie lessons, archery lessons... the staff was knowledgeable... tell us about local stories and just happy! This was one of my best vacation and never wanted to leave this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leif from Tucson, AZ

Heavenly Retreat, Amazing Vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything, there is even a spa that will blow your mind, the food is fantastic, the staff is wonderful & warm welcoming, the amenities are worth it.
Cons: Hire me as a chef
Location: Black/red sand beaches, Lindbergh's gravesite, lava tubes, bamboo forest, waterfalls, Haleakala Crater, winery tour, lavender fields, whale watching
This hotel is a small, 77 room retreat that is situated on the South Eastern Coast of Maui, in the center of a rain forest, but still on the beach. You can arrive by small commuter plane from Maui airport to Hana Airport or drive the Hana Highway, the hotel is only 50 miles away, but it will take about two hours driving time from Maui Airport. The Hana Highway is not your normal highway like in the states, it is a windy narrow road that hugs the cliffs of the coast line, traveling across dozens of bridges and many waterfalls, traveling during the day is recommended. Our room was a garden view room, huge spacious room with a king size bed, a table for four, sitting area and a wet bar stocked with a tea maker, coffee maker, coffee grinder and the best fresh coffee we have had in a long time. The bathroom is also amazing, walk in shower for two with a seat, it had one sink but plenty counter space. I am a big guy and I was able to soak in the tub with no problem. There is no A/C, but it is not necessary, the tropical winds coming off the ocean allow you to sleep in comfort. The covered patio comes with to lounge chairs and a table with four seats, very relaxing to sit for morning coffee looking out on to the well manicured grounds. My wife and I unplugged from the world and truly relaxed under the stars. The hotel, the staff, the food and the accommodations were amazing. Our new Heaven.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from B.C.

Georgous setting but not for kids.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
We stayed in a beautiful little cottage with the surf crashing 200 M from our door. Staff, for the most part are excellent but the dining experience is lacking the personal touch that we expetecd from a resort of this nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from San Francisco

Tranquility

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Arrived tired & stressed. Departed 2 days later relaxed & rejuvenated. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by janet from houston, tx

Interesting place.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Expected better mattress and lighting for the price. Overall, it was a change of pace, maybe a but too slow with no tv or internet in rooms
2 out of 5
by Glenn from Dallas

Mixed review

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: location, view
Cons: the accomodations should be updated (electrical outlets, lighting, plumbing, and it needs A/C ... it is time)
Location: not much to do by foot, quiet area to relax and enjoy your spouse/date. Drives to sights are close by.
View from room outstanding. Location is very scenic. Employees very friendly. Room outdated (bed uncomfortable, toilet and bathtub ran and dripped). no A/C as noted in advance, but when it is warm out and one has to sleep with the windows open it is not an enjoyable experience to be awoken by 1) massive downpours, which are commong to Hana, and 2) roosters providing a wake up call at 5:00 am. But the ultimate insult was a $105 "activities fee" we were charged at checkout for a one night stay. We participated in no activities, were not told of the charge in advance, and only slept in our room and checked out in the morning. It felt very dishonest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kristine from Gig Harbor

Relaxing environment

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Relaxing, scenic, peaceful grounds. Loved the view of the ocean from the jacuzzi and pool area.
Location: Pipiwai hike/trail that goes through bamboo forest, reaches a scenic waterfall (4 miles round trip).
I stayed here two nights with my two children (in their twenties) as a 50th birthday present to myself. The resort was quiet and relaxing. We loved the large bathroom, and the coffee/tea amenities. We enjoyed the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast, loving the relaxing environment and view. They make an awesome pineapple mojito! We drove to the state park and did the Pipiwai hike which goes through the bamboo forest. Nice, but not the most rigorous hike (2 miles one way). If you want a relaxing environment, this resort has beautiful, spacious grounds to hang out -- pool, jacuzzi overlooking the ocean -- but not a lot to explore for more than a day or two. There was also a yoga room with a great view overlooking all of this. Didn't get a chance to attend the morning class, but if you like this kind of thing you will enjoy the view! Glad we came, but glad we only booked two nights. We left early (7 am) to drive back from Hana, which we highly recommend to avoid traffic coming the other way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from California

Wonderful, very special stay!!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The setting, scenery along the way and at the hotel location! Loved the pool!!
Location: Well worth the drive!!! Don't hesistate!!
Felt like royalty staying here. Couldn't have a more beautiful area and more attentive staff. Recommend taking the Hana road continuing in the same direction back to Kahului. Wonderful scenery and very light traffic. After some rough and dirt roads, the rest of the way is newly paved road. Takes about 3 hours with a few photo ops along the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janice from Maclean Australia

Our night in Hana

Posted Feb 28, 2014
We enjoyed our night in Hana. A liile experience but good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Connecticut

Travassa Top Notch

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The staff made sure that we had a great stay. Our greeting was very warm and the services superb.
Cons: The resort had our Expedia reservation starting at our departure date. Our paperwork had our planned dates and the hotel had a room for us..
Location: A long but scenic ride from the main Maui airport. Easy access to Hana Bay, nearby beaches, and the National Park (seven sacred pools).
After the long but pleasant drive along the Hana Highway, we had an enjoyable stay at this resort. The garden suite was large and quiet. There were more activities than we could take advantage of during a three day stay, while still visiting other attractions in the vicinity of Hana. While the costs of a stay and dining are on the high side, the resort offers value to the guests and the meals are excellent.