Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Beautiful sunrises

Posted Jan 23, 2015
My stay at Travaasa was wonderful. The rooms are clean and private, the bed was comfy and th staff were friendly and accommodating. There is no AC in the rooms but you can leave your screen doors and windows open. There is no Tv in the rooms which I thought was wonderful, I don't enjoy sleeping with a Tv in front of me. I woke up early to see the sunrise from the pool/hot tub area. It was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

A wonderful place--but not always adults-only.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location, quiet, potential for rest and privacy (more so when genuinely adult-only), very welcoming and friendly staff, wonderful rooms.
Cons: -warnings about kid weeks! -menu diversity in price & food choice -pool bar should be staffed during posted hours -infinity pool not quite infinity
Location: Beautiful, rugged coastline, Haleakala National Park; hotel v. good for providing culturally engaged activities, many of which are free. Good stables.
We had a lovely two night stay and wish we'd had more time at Travaasa. The Sea Ranch cabins are beautiful, and the pool/hot tub areas are wonderful. But we wish we'd been warned that we were staying during one of their families-welcome weeks. A large reason we'd booked Travaasa's Sea Ranch cabins were because we wanted respite from the noisy family resorts on the other side of Maui, having just spent five days in one. It was a little irritating to enter an "adults only" area seeking some peace and rest to find the pool and hot tub colonized by kids, and, on the second night, to have a very noisy family move in next door (shared wall, and the sounds of footsteps and screaming travel). Fortunately there was a wonderful wind/rainstorm that dampened the noise from next door, but it wasn't quite the romantic, tranquil break we'd been hoping for. Giving couples a head's up when booking (or a grace cancellation period if booking externally) might be a nice idea. We still probably would have stayed, but we'd have requested a cabin shared only with another couple, not a family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Oasis at the end of the road (to Hana)

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were great. The grounds were quiet, tranquil, and impeccably maintained. The rooms were spacious and clean. NO TV!
Cons: The "garden" rooms were a little dated. The sofa had seen better days, and the decor was solid 1980s.
Location: The Haleakala National Park has great hiking. Stop for roadside food! The brick oven pizza hut (MP 31 I believe) was a treat after a long day hiking.
After a chill ramble down the Road to Hana we we arrived at the Travaasa Hana in mid afternoon on Christmas Eve. The staff were exceedingly helpful; wonderful greeting, easy check-in, tour of the grounds by electric cart, concierge quickly arranged for two spa sessions. Our dinner reservations, made by phone a month earlier, were lost due to some "computer trouble" but the hostess quickly scrambled and got us seated at a reasonable time. On Christmas morning we brewed a steaming cup of coffee (old school style with whole beans and a grinder), walked over to the hot tub, which was empty and has a wonderful eastern vista down to the ocean, and watched the sunrise through some low clouds on the horizon into a brilliantly blue sky! Use whatever adjective grabs you but "magical" come to mind. We stayed just one night before setting off to Oheo Gulch, but wished we could have stayed longer for the tranquility! The only real "noise," if you could call it that, was the church bells (adjacent to the grounds) ringing on Christmas Eve, and the fact that we even noticed says a lot about how "cluttered" the world can be. Our departure led to one very telling observation. The owner (or manager) was out in front of the hotel in the early morning with all of the staff. He was performing a morning "huddle" reviewing all the arrivals and departures for the day. He acknowledged the sacrifice of working on Christmas Day and thanked them for their service. You don't see that very often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle, wa

Refined comfort in great locale

Posted Dec 3, 2014
The hotel staff and overall appearance of the property is top notch. Aside from a slight mix up in arrival date everything we experienced was great. The restaurant offered a good wine and food selection and the meal was very good. We enjoyed afternoon cocktails in the open air lounge and found the shops and gallery to be extremely well appointed. One improvement needed is to upgrade the mattresses, the beds are uncomfortable. We'd crrtainly recommend the hotel and would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Don't waste your money...

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Most of the staff have been working on that property for 25 + years. They are very pleasant and helpful.
Location: The location is wonderful, Hana is magical.
We got married in Hana 10 years ago and decided to head back out to the "Hana Hotel" (which for some reason the new owners decided to change the iconic name to Travaasa). We rented to ocean front Sea Ranch, just like before, expecting the same magical experience as we did when the hotel was in it's prime. To our great disappointment the new owners have shut down half the Sea Ranch cottages so they sit on the property rotting. The ones that are being rented out are not being maintained. 1. Holes on the walls in the bathroom. The paint was blistered all around the unit. 2. Hot tub didn't work, wasn't clean. Had a ugly yellow/brown patch. 3. The counter tops are stained and were dirty 4. The wood was decayed from termites along with chipped/blistered paint everywhere on the deck. 5. The room hadn't been cleaned well, smelled like urine. 6. No A/C! How can any hotel in Hawaii that charges the rate they do not have A/C? Really??? 7. Food was very expensive and not very good. 8. 1 lounge chair on the deck (really on one for two people?). The table on the deck was missing it's glass top.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 愛知県

景色は最高

Posted Nov 20, 2014
客室の場所にもよるでしょうが、 私たちが宿泊した部屋は今一でした。 キッチンにはアリがいて。 気がついたら部屋の至るところに はい回っていました。 田舎のホテルだから、あることでしょうけど、私は長くは滞在できないなーと。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Large quiet rooms and very friendly staff. The "no tipping" policy was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom spring lake, mi

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Great way to end the day. Lots of actives. I made the mistake of not noticing that my reservation was for 1 person, so when I checked out there was a surprise charge of $50. Just double check before you book. If I had known how beautiful and how many activities there were we would have stayed one more day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Spacious Room But No Air-Conditioning

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Good landscaping; spacious room.
Cons: Restaurant price needs to be more reasonable. Ants need to be controlled.
Warm welcome with a loaf of delicious banana bread. Room was spacious, but there was no air conditioning. The fan can be noisy at night. Restaurant was very expensive. Tiny ants were crawling on the counter.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NEWPORT BEACH

the hotel is OLD…THE BEDS ARE HORRIBLE...

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: STAFF AND THE GROUNDS
Cons: ROOMS AND THE RESTAURANT
STAFF IS WARM AND WONDERFUL, BUT THE HOTEL ROOMS NEED A MAJOR RENOVATION…NOT WORTH THE $$$-THE ROOM IS NOT WORTH THE $$$…THE HOTEL GROUNDS ARE ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL…THE RESTAURANT IS A RIP OFF-60$ FOR A NEW YORK STRIP? IT WAS VERY TOUGH, FOR MEDIUM RARE…DISAPPOINTED WITH THE CREATIVITY OF AND ON THE MENU, AND THE FLAVORS:( PRETTY BUMMED, BUT WHEN THERE ISN'T ANYWHERE ELSE TO CHOOSE FROM-BEGGARS CAN'T BE CHOOSERS I GUESS:( IT WAS OUR BIRTHDAY AND NOT EVEN A HAPPY BIRTHDAY FROM THE STAFF (AT THE RESTAURANT)-KIND OF BUMMED ABOUT THAT…BUT AGAIN…IT IS WHAT IT IS.