Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Lots of potential but lacks value

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Beautiful grounds. Professional and friendly staff (exception of one dining room server). Large rooms. This place has a lot of potential but the value currently isn't there. Expensive. Dining options are very expensive ($30-45/entree) and very limited. Recommend buying food and bring it with you. There's no other food options in Hana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

nice get away resort, very relaxing

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: one of the most beautiful resort I have seen, nice pool, yoga. breath taking ocean view...... most staffs are very nice and friendly.
Cons: maintain the 3 hole course better, more dinner options. get rid off the extra person policy on the 2nd guest.....
Location: location is quite long drive (road to Hana) from airport, there are nice beaches near by. Hiking, horseback riding.
Very relax setting, peaceful and beautiful. We booked an sea ranch cottage, it is only about 80 feet from the ocean. they don't allow kids and pets on the sea ranch side, so this side is always quite and noise free. Room is very resort like, a little bit outdated, but still acceptable. They do offer a lot of activities, most are free which is nice. (the 3 holes course was not well maintained though, glasses were too high and greens were way too slow makes it impossible to putt.) Dinner choice is limited at Hana, this is a minus staying at hana. There was confusion at check-out, the staff was trying to charge me extra person fee given only me and my wife stayed here. She said, I booked the room for only 1 person, so my wife was considered extra......at the end, Manager Danny waived it for us. (though I still found it to be unbelievable, resort is charging extra person fee on the 2nd guest?? :-( The manager Danny was very nice, he sent us a bottle of wine to our next room in Ritz Carlton for our anniversary. :-) For this trip to Maui, which is my 1st time to Maui, I booked 3 hotels at 3 different locations on the island, Travaasa end up being the most relaxing and beautiful one. next time I am back to Maui, I will certainly come back here....this is what a Hawaii vacation is supposed to feel like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Great place to stay. Good beaches, tranquil atmosphere and large clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic !

Posted May 22, 2014
I thought I was in a South pacific paradise! When we awoke--We were!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from Florida

Quiet spa and resort near Red Sand Beach

Posted May 20, 2014
Room was large and nicely furnished. Didn't have AC though, which might be a problem if it's hot or you have allergies. It was comfortable with windows and sliding doors open. Staff was friendly but not super helpful. Restaurant / bar service was slow. After checkout, attendant brought bags and me to car in golf cart and stuck around but didn't offer to help me load them. I didn't mind but was puzzled. They say it is a "no tipping" resort but it seemed this person expected a tip just for the ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOVE LOVE LOVE THE PLACE!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: everything. Staff is so friendly!
Cons: Nothing!
a perfect relaxation spot as well as a ton of activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bus. Traveler

Great hotel right in Hana

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Large and very nice accommodations. Great showers, tubs, spa products in the room, whole bean coffee with a grinder, banana bread, etc., etc., etc.
Cons: Mattresses a bit hard, so sleep was not optimum.
Location: Eat at the Thai place around the corner. FANTASTIC (this comes from a Thai food snob). Red sand beach just off the property (coolest beach on Maui).
A really great place to stay. We used it to break up the drive when coming to Hana. This allowed us to see the wonders of the east part of Maui without rushing. Fantastic property with a killer ocean scene with wave crashing lava formations. Fantastic rooms with many extras included for a luxurious feeling. Only downside (for us, not for some), is that children, even older ones (well behaved) like ours are not allowed in the ocean side bungalows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dirk from LA

Great location, Great Nature

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Sport, spa, nature, taxi service
Cons: See breackfast above
Location: Red sand beach, some say dangerous, haha :-), sportivewalk that`s all, beautiful place
The hotel has is perfectly located. Great offering, spa, tennis, golf, cricket, but the breakfast and dinning room is terribly furnished and the breakfast personal is slow and not motivated. What about a buffet, not even an orange juice was available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Toronto

Little Paradise in Maui

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The hotel is really quiet and at the same time, offered enough activities to keep things interesting. A great place to chill and relax.
Cons: The restaurant at the hotel was too expensive. While the food is pretty good, they do not worth the price that we have to pay.
Location: Close to beaches, national parks. Beautiful scenery along the way...
My husband and I stayed for 8 days. When we first booked the place, we were a little concerned that the place is far from everything else on the island, remote and we will be bored. We were soooo wrong. This is a little paradise. The hotel staff were all exceptional. We were pampered the minute we got out of our rental car to check in to the hotel. Everyone was soooooo friendly, helpful and just want to make sure that we had a wonderful time. The room was super clean, roomy and quiet. There is no TV, air conditioning, radio or internet... but that was the best part of it. We spent more time in the outdoor, doing all sorts of activities and was not bored at all. The activities centre was soooo much fun. We had ukelele lessons, smoothie lessons, archery lessons... the staff was knowledgeable... tell us about local stories and just happy! This was one of my best vacation and never wanted to leave this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leif from Tucson, AZ

Heavenly Retreat, Amazing Vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything, there is even a spa that will blow your mind, the food is fantastic, the staff is wonderful & warm welcoming, the amenities are worth it.
Cons: Hire me as a chef
Location: Black/red sand beaches, Lindbergh's gravesite, lava tubes, bamboo forest, waterfalls, Haleakala Crater, winery tour, lavender fields, whale watching
This hotel is a small, 77 room retreat that is situated on the South Eastern Coast of Maui, in the center of a rain forest, but still on the beach. You can arrive by small commuter plane from Maui airport to Hana Airport or drive the Hana Highway, the hotel is only 50 miles away, but it will take about two hours driving time from Maui Airport. The Hana Highway is not your normal highway like in the states, it is a windy narrow road that hugs the cliffs of the coast line, traveling across dozens of bridges and many waterfalls, traveling during the day is recommended. Our room was a garden view room, huge spacious room with a king size bed, a table for four, sitting area and a wet bar stocked with a tea maker, coffee maker, coffee grinder and the best fresh coffee we have had in a long time. The bathroom is also amazing, walk in shower for two with a seat, it had one sink but plenty counter space. I am a big guy and I was able to soak in the tub with no problem. There is no A/C, but it is not necessary, the tropical winds coming off the ocean allow you to sleep in comfort. The covered patio comes with to lounge chairs and a table with four seats, very relaxing to sit for morning coffee looking out on to the well manicured grounds. My wife and I unplugged from the world and truly relaxed under the stars. The hotel, the staff, the food and the accommodations were amazing. Our new Heaven.