Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, but needs some attention

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Service. Grounds. Complimentary activities, and option for others. Beach service.
Cons: Room maintenance; needs a deep cleaning and tool kit, maybe some updating of fixtures. Lounge food/drinks overpriced.
It's hard to criticize an experience in Hana... but it's also hard for me to give a ringing endorsement to a room that has mold in the shower (the ceiling kind), fixtures that are barely hanging onto the wall, layers of dust in out of the way places, and bed mattresses that need updating (too squeaky bouncy for my taste). With such a high rating (and price) these are things that keep me from agreeing fully with everyone's positive reviews. Aside from those things, the rest is wonderful. Complimentary bike rentals, golf (pitch/putt), and a host of other activities helps justify the cost. Also the staff is terrific, make you feel very welcome. Though it's a simple thing, umbrella service at the beach 2 miles away was a great perk. Loved my time. Would I go back?... sure... on someone else's dime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Nice Get Away

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Staff were very helpful. Cottages were well appointed. Location / setting were beautiful
Cons: Restaurant was good but not great. Should be great based on pricing. An issue with how limited the food choices in Hana are.
Location: Walk to red sand beach. Transit to Hanoa beach (wonderful). Venus pool a must visit.
Loved the experience at Travassa Hana. The resort, and Hana, is a nice break from all the bustle of West Maui. The cottages at the Sea Ranch were very nice, private, and well appointed. The grounds are nice, well tended, and the pool / spa area was nice and never crowded. The facility is very spread out which offers seclusion and privacy, but be ready to walk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
It was a perfect get away and a throw back in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waikiki, HI

Stunning Get Away!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
This place is the perfect get a way. Stress disappears and comfort begins. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. The rooms are so inviting, spacious and serene. The grounds are truly and island get away with amazing views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Excellent facility - beautiful and relaxing. They were able to accommodate our early check-in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

An old fashioned resort in paradise

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The location is gorgeous. The staff is very accommodating. Spa is exAnd the facilities themselves (what there are of them) are pleasant and tasteful.
Location: Hotel offer
Hana is a tropical paradise isolated by a thirty mile stretch of winding road that takes nearly three hours to drive. The Travaasa is an old style resort hotel by that I mean you are meant to enjoy the experience of being there. Period. This is Hawaii so perhaps the absence of climate control in the room (neither heater nor air conditioner) shouldn't be a problem. There is also no TV in the room. Lack of TV and climate control perhaps normally wouldn't be a problem if the east side of Maui wasn't one of the wetter places in the world. Arriving mid-afternoon, chilled and wet from a downpour I found the room inadequate. Trapped inside I (we) would have appreciated good reading lights, but there was a light on only one side of the bed. Also, while it is not the hotel's fault, feeding one's self is a problem. Other than a number of road side stands, there are only the Hotel's restaurant and a modestly cheaper satellite owned by the same management. Food is quite expensive and the menus are quite limited. The room has a mini fridge, but no microwave or other provision for do it your selfers..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

都会や観光地の喧騒を逃れて、ゆったりとした休日を楽しむ。

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: レストランの食事はどのメニューも美味。しかし、価格は高め。また、ディナー時間帯は希望時刻を予め押えた方が良いかも。フロント前を通りかかった際には、担当者から名前で呼びかけてもらえたことは嬉しいこと。しかし、何と言っても、一番はゆったりした時間の流れ。
Cons: 滞在時期が良かったのか、冷暖房の必要を感じなかったが、その設備そのものが無いため、時期が悪いと、暑さ寒さを避けられないことも生じよう。また、適宜リフォームは行われているようだが、ペンキが剥げているところも若干あり、全般に古さを感じさせる部分がある。しかし、マイナス評価要素となる程のものではない。
Location: マウイ島カフルイ空港からの自動車でのアクセスは、ある程度運転技量に自身のあるドライバーでないと困難かも。(ハナ空港までの航空便あり。)しかし、ドライブそのものはハワイの原風景を楽しめる素晴らしいもの。車なら、ハナから更に先に進んだハモア・ビーチやオヘオ・プールにも是非足を延ばしたい。
ホテルはフロントやレストラン部分、海から離れたロッジ、カードキーが必要なゲートでアクセス制限のかかったシー・ランチ・コテージの三つのエリアからなり、静かな滞在を楽しみたいなら、16歳未満不可のシー・ランチ・コテージが絶対にお勧め。 広い敷地に点在するシー・ランチ・コテージのラナイ(テラス)からは太平洋が望め、朝焼けが美しい。 コッテージは手入れの行き届いた広い芝生にゆとりをもって配置されているが、一軒で二部屋(コネクティング可)の構造のため、隣室への配慮は多少必要(格別、音漏れがあるわけではない)。 コテージエリアにある広い芝生に囲まれたプールの水面は太平洋と一体化し、とても爽快。 二泊で利用したが、周辺観光も楽しみ、ホテル内のアクティビティーも楽しむなら三泊はしたい。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Amazing place!!!

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Our stay was amazing. Staff were super friendly and helpful. We went horseback riding and our guide was very knowledgeable and very nice. The horses were lovely to ride. The spa was very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Thanks for a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Zeist, Netherlands

Beautiful hotel with special atmosphere

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: atmoshere, atmosphere, pool area, room, location, views, balcony, restaurant setting. Did i already mention atmosphere?, the vibe is so relaxed
Cons: some small things in room could be fixed, prices on their website were inaccurate (sometimes cheaper if you just called or walked in)
Location: Red sand beach!!, in januari the seven sacred pools were almost dry..., the road to seven sacred pools is less fun than the road to hana
Beautiful located hotel, views over the see, relaxed special atmosphere (compared to lahaina and wailea), is this still the real hawaii?!, pool area with jacuzzi outstanding, large loveable rooms with balcony,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice suite, Beautiful property

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Garden suite was nice. A little outdated. The property was very beautiful and quiet. Perfect for honeymooners or those looking to really get away from it all. If I went again, I'd opt to pay more for one of the sea cottages. These are on a separate area of the property with amazing views of the ocean and a better pool/jacuzzi area