Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great staff, good food, roomy not cramp like the others. Beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Great hotel for small kids

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Great property, several pools including pirate ship kid pool, beautiful beach steps away, good restaurants on-site, close to Lahaina and Whaler's Village. This property is a great option for kids because of the villas, which include a kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Best Hotel and Staff

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, amenities, close to many activities
Location: The location is perfect! Quiet and secluded feeling, yet walking distance to other resorts, restaurants, and Whalers Village. Also a very clean beach.
This was literally the very best hotel, grounds, beach area, staff, and bars/restaurants of any resort in the Kaanapali Beach area! I would highly recommend this resort. From check in to our very last day everyone was extremely friendly at all of the bars and restaurants, some of the best fish tacos we had on the island were at the Ocean Pool bar and grill! Joyrama checked us in, and then absolutely made our entire stay when she helped us. Our initial suite didn't quite have the view we thought we were going to get, so she switched us over to a center courtyard 4th floor suite, with a view of the pool, ocean, and mountains! Absolutely stunning! Now that's customer service! This was our first trip to Maui, and because of Joyrama and the beauty of the resort itself, we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Very impressed, even better than the pictures!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The main pool was huge! There were always enough lounge chairs throughout the resort and poolside bartenders were always around.
Cons: I would like to see the lounge chairs available to guests on the beach at no charge. I can understand charging for the umbrella, but chairs, no.
Location: This was a great location, two resorts closer to Whaler's village than we normally stay. The free shuttle to Whalers and Lahaina was a huge plus!
We rented a studio, very spacious for the two of us. The only "surprise" was the fridge was smaller than the picture posted, but it fit all of our food for 10 days. All other amenities were great, bed was very comfortable, ample amount of pillows, toiletries, kitchen supplies, and staff was always a pleasure. This will be our new home away from home on Maui!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Gorgeous room! Resort beautifully maintained!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Everything? Unfortunately we can only compare against a Resort in Mexico, and this stay at Westin Ka'anapali was 10 times better.
Cons: Had to sit through a time share presentation and it was way too long. Felt pressured to attend even though we probably could have declined.
Location: Close to Whalers Village and only 10 min to Lahaina. Parking was a bit expensive though...
The room was more than we expected. We asked for a 1 Bedroom w/Kitchenette Resort View, and had a separate bedroom, full kitchen and 6 seat dinning room, full kitchen and partial ocean view! The Resort was always being manicured and maintained. Always looked so pristine! The beach was close and easy to find a spot to relax. Also kept very clean. Staff were always pleasant and happy to help. We would love to stay here again in the near future!! Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

"Ocean View" is not worth the extra cost.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Good snorkelling right off the beach.
Cons: Honesty about what a view means. Less sales regarding the time share.
We paid extra for an ocean view, but could only see it if standing. And apparently I was upgraded. Faced a parking lot, above a smoking section, with palm trees blocking any view of the water. Considering we spent most of our time away from the hotel, wouldn't recommend it unless you are one to want to lounge around a pool during your vacation. Also is a timeshare, so you will be hit up during the trip. Car is necessary for most activities outside the immediate hotel area. Most organized activities begin at 7, 8 or 9 a.m. but the free shuttle doesn't start running until 9 a.m.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Dirty hotel past it's heyday. Although we booked an ocean view room, we were given a view of the parking lot. It took hours of complaints to Management to adjust our bill accordingly. I had to pursue management persistently when we were clearly in the right and was hung up on/call never returned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
It was a last minute reservation and it was fabulous! 3 or 4 times so far staying there and each time was a great experience. Zero complaints!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Trip to Maui

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Nice entry way. Staff was not super friendly. Maids, however, were very nice.
Cons: More pleasant staff from the check in clerks to the food service people in the restaurants. Much too pricey for getting a lawn chair on the beach
Location: Location was good.
Nice beach in front of the hotel, but crowded. In fact the whole hotel was very crowded and very noisy. Our children are grown, so being surrounded by crowds and noisy kids was not pleasant. The Westin studio suite was nice as Westins are, however, we had minimal view of the ocean and no balcony. There was a 3 inch balcony that was not large enough to really stand on. I have never paid this price for a hotel room, and still had to pay $10 a day for a lawn chair and $20 for an umbrella on the beach. The cost for a paddle board was $55 for one hour only which was also very high. The cost for a local phone call was over a dollar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Family Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: It was right on the beach and had great amenities.
Location: Snorkeling right in front of the hotel as well as paddle boarding, sea kayaking, and snuba.
We were given a beach front room. My three young kids loved everything about it.