Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Sean from Hefei, Anhui, China

disappointed experience

Posted Feb 6, 2012
Pros: location
Location: it is in Walmar, west coach and just 10 minutes' driving away form Tamarin. from here you can arrive bird park and go to see dolphins quickly.
It was not easy to locate this hotel because there was no any sign or direction by the road, only went inside and passed the pearl hotel next to it we finally saw it. Our driver complained about it many times! The room was not spacious and looked dull even all lights on,and our room was near the bar but the worse is there was one cm deep door gap , so we had to endure some music or noise when we slept. Besides this, for the half-board food, we could only say it was just so so. The hotel is a three star one but it is small not only from outside planning but also from room layout.Maybe it is just located at a beach, and this is worth the money we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
Location: Flic-en-Flac is a good location for access to the main site and attractions of the island
Excellent value for money on an attractive beach. Would like hotels.com to have offered an all inclusive deal - it was not possible to upgrade at the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London - UK

KEEP CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL IF YOU PREFER A PEACEFUL HOLIDAY

Posted Jan 5, 2010
GOLD BEACH HOTEL & RESORT -FLIC EN FLAC-MAURITIUS - If you are looking for a peaceful time around X,mas- do not stay at this hotel and avoid the sea facing rooms as it has the bar, restaurant, swimming pool below and the music is so loud that you cannot relax and also cannot hear the TV in your room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2009
A small hotel with about 31 rooms. Staff are friendly. I booked a single room. and got a room with one double and one single bed, but no arm chairs. Rather limited choice at breakfast Evening meal was nearly always a buffet of the basic theme of salads for starter, main course was mostly rice, curry and vegtables, and desert was fruit salad and one or two other dishes. While plenty to eat, not of great variety and nor to of great standard. Nothing special for Christmas day. Christmas Eve was the same as usual, but with some dips and a free drink. There is twice a week in the morning a glass bottom boat trip along the reef for half hour - not bad. However, I skipped the "evening cruise" run once a week, which started at 4:30 in the afternoon for half-hour. Maybe starting at 7pm would have been better. About twice a week there was some loud disco music which started at 10pm and stopped just after 11pm. The hotel is next to the beech, and the sea is fine for swimming in or laying on the beech. The hotel provides a beach towel, although a bit small. Main local shops are at Flic-en-flac, while the hotel is at Wolmar, where there are only a few shops.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Marlborough

Quiet and Relaxed - food adequate

Posted Dec 31, 2008 on Hotels.com
In beautiful location the Gold Beach Hotel (Gold Beach Resort (GBR) is a quiet and very friendly hotel on the lovely west coast of Mauritius. The hotel is sandwiched between other more upmarket (and much more expensive!) hotels but holds it's own being so small and friendly. The staff are lovely and polite. The evening meal is little disappointing for some European guests, favouring Indian cuisine every day, but the food is always cooked well and is always edible. The hotel offers evening entertainment once or twice a week and the staff also perform songs and dances, which is lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Review of hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2008
The staff were of high standard, very pleasant, interacted well without becoming over familiar. The condition of the hotel was becoming run down, my bathroom and room needed a fresh paint, mould was showing and peeling paint. The description of the hotel was modern and I think that this must be a very old description as it is no longer modern however I like the fact that it was a small hotel it just needs upgrading, maintained and freshened up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

Quality budget hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2008
I was greeted with a complimentary drink by friendly hotel staff. The hotel grounds were immaculate and my room was clean. This is a no-frills hotel for those on a budget. Although my room was satisfactorily clean, there were stains on the linens provided. But the staff were helpful and the hotel food was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

cant wait to go back

Posted Jul 28, 2007
We went there in May of this year, the staff was very polite and looked after us very well. The food was not to my taste but if you tell them what you want the day before they will cook it for you the next day.