Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nilson from Northampton

Nice Hotel but very pricey....

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The staff and rooms
Cons: the cost of food and taxi's from the hotel a stupidly expensive
Location: nothing near to do!
If you are going to stay here then you should go all inclusive as it is very expensive to eat at the resort restaurant. Also, the location of the resort is away from the town so you have no choice but to eat there. Lastly, DO NOT get a taxi from the hotel as it is a rip off instead call one from hotel and agree an amount. use taximaurius. They are really good
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Jiri Benes, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience. I am sorry to hear that you didnt like hotel location. InterContinental Mauritius is settled in one of the prime locations in the island, within natural marine park and only 15 minutes drive to Grand Baie or Port Louis, capital city. Unfortunately we are not in control of taxi fares as these are published by government of Mauritius and also actual taxis are assigned to each hotel on the island. Yours sincerely Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing and Sales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it's ok , nothing special, definitely not a 5 star

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: noting comes to mind.
Hotel is in middle of nowhere , can't go out for a walks , have to get taxi every time you need to go out. Very expensive , taking advantage because there is nothing nearby, food in restaurant not up to our liking, buffet restaurant is ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Jiri Benes, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience. I am sorry to hear that you didnt like hotel location. InterContinental Mauritius is settled in one of the prime locations in the island, within natural marine park and only 15 minutes drive to Grand Baie or Port Louis, capital city. Unfortunately we are not in control of taxi fares as these are published by government of Mauritius and also actual taxis are assigned to each hotel on the island. Yours sincerely Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing and Sales
4 out of 5
by johan from Cape Town

The hotel is in need of maintanenence

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Nice pools.
Cons: Renovate the rooms.
Location: A bit isolated but quite close to Grand Bay if you like to go for some more action.
The hotel service is good but some of the rooms are in strong need of renovation. We changed room and had to pay some extra 50$/day for the upgrade. But other guests was telling horrible stories about their rooms , so how it claims to be a five star hotel is beyond my understanding. Maximum a four star for this place. Service was good and efficient. Staff very friendly. The hotel is on the beach but the beach is a bit stone filled and not soft sand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Nice hotel with pleasing view of the ocean.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Great wifi throughout hotel, 24hr room service, friendly and accomodating staff, food selection, nice ocean view, and a relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Availability of advertised items, clear desc. of services provided, bartender training, and amount of room keys issued (Got 1 key for 4 people)
Location: Great location away from the loud sounds of the city yet only a 20min ride to good tourist spots.
The hotel staff were very professional and helpful. The accomodations were pleasantly more than what was expected. Some of the services that were available were not mentioned upon our arrival and the all inclusive items were not explained enough in detail which may have resulted in more charges during check out. Although all of the staff was very pleasant some lacked experience in providing the service that their position required. Prices for food and lodging overall was good however some items for purchase were sold at unreasonable prices. The wifi was great and was available throughout almost the entire hotel. The scenic ocean view was outstanding and the grounds were well maintained. The 24hr room service offered a big variety of good food that was delivered in a very timely manner. Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to a friend that visited the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Was good

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: service and food
Location: location is good and there is nothing nearby. its just for relaxation
The hotels is very clean. i would recommend this hotel for honeymooners and couple only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Varghese from London

Mini-Moon

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The buildings, the setting and the accessibility to the rest of the island's attractions.
Cons: The real disappointment was the restaurant and the eating options in general the restaurants that required booking was full booked up many days in adv
Location: Day out on a catamaran - Don't use the vendors in the hotel (they're too pricey and they know you have limited choice). We used Croisieres Australes!
The hotel itself and the buildings are great. The room was excellent (Executive, beach facing) and we thought that most of the other services offered were in line with what we should expect from an Intercontinental Hotel having stayed at several other properties in the Hotel Group.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nat from Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Beautiful resort on the beach, infinity pool. The family room was big with 2 bedrooms, great for kids. We had problems with ants in our bathroom and after reporting it 3 times, our room was changed and the it was all good. Good entertainment in the evenings as well.