Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nick from Athens

Stylish hotel on Sugar beach.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Out of Full-board It's very expensive, specially vines.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Nick, Warm greetings from Sugar Beach, We thank you for leaving a comment on this forum. We hope that you had a nice holiday at Sugar Beach eventhough you found the prices quite expensive. We have taken good note of your comments and have communicated it to the concerned departments. However we would like to highlight that our prices have been benchmarked and found to be quite competitive . Your feedback remains for us a constructive one which will definitely help us to maintain or further improve our service quality. We sincerely hope to see you back to Sugar Beach in a near future. Respectfully yours The Sugar BeachTeam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darryl from Melbourne, Australia

Dream Holiday

Posted Jan 12, 2014
From the time you arrive, to the time you leave, you are treated like absolute royalty. The all inclusive package is a must. The resort has a 4 star rating, but is all 5 star in my books. The food is of the highest quality, with a very wide variety to choose from. I thoroughly recommend this resort to anybody, who is looking for a piece of paradise, with exceptional service and quality. Thank you La Pirogue. For making this holiday truely unforgettable. We will be seeing you again, very soon.
Comment from
Jan 9, 2014
Dear Darryl, It is with much pleasure that we read your comments on Expedia. We would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing our resort, for recommending us and for writing this review. Our team members indeed work with dedication and love in order to deliver a good service and we are really proud of them. We assure you that it will be to our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to La Pirogue. Respectfully yours The La Pirogue Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kazuo from kumamoto, japan

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: beach and food and room
Cons: toilet should be washlet (Japanese washable toilet)
Location: it's on the beach there are nice mauritian chinese restaurants not far from this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A

Wonderful friendly hotel with great staff

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: The spacious bungalows close to the beach, lots of sun loungers, very friendly staff, fantastic food - delicious grilled fresh fish and meat.
Cons: Some of the evening entertainment was a little cheesy. If not full-board the extra food and drink is expensive but there is a supermarket nearby.
Location: I would advise hiring a car to explore the island - taxis can actually be a bit pricey. Flic-en-flac is very close to the National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff from Saudi Arabia

Aging, but packed with activities/services

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
LaPirogue was celebrating its 37th birthday while I was there; although a bit older than some other resorts, it more than makes up for any shortcomings from make-overs (every ten years or so) with nice facilities and activities. The resort is comprised of many thatch roofed duplexes, with peaked roofs suggesting sail shapes, which are arranged in coves. Lawns for bocce and croquet; pools that manage to be large and cozy at the same time; sailboats, paddle boats, snorkeling gear, and ping pong tables are available to all. Vendors offering sportfishing and scuba are right on property at the beach. To top it all off, the all-inclusive package lets customers also eat and drink at the sister resort on adjacent property. It's a short bus or taxi (a bit pricey everywhere on Mauritius) ride to the village of Flic-en-Flac, but I comfortably walked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Good Experience

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall it was a good experience staying at La Pirogue. Would like to particularly mention the courteous restaurant staff and the Chefs who prepared Vegetarian menu for us. However the resort charged extra for my little daughter which they could have waived considering the age of the child. The Kids club is good and so are the facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kunal from Nairobi, Kenya

Great Hotel for All

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Service was great , ambience was also great
Cons: Pricey drinks
Location: great beach,alot of coral on the beach. close to the market. If you are travelling to other parts of Mauritius transport can get pricey.
Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Service, Fantastic people... absolutely loved our stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

racial discremination in 21st century

Posted Jan 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff especially the waiters racially discreminated us and it was really painful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful holiday

Posted Oct 15, 2012
An extremely friendly & relaxing place to be. Food was excellent and staff were always pleased to help. Room was well looked after & attention to detail was noticeable. Lots of facilities within the hotel which cater for children & adults. Definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from United Arab Emirates

A great spot to chill out

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Pros: Staff, beach, gardens, food, drink and water sports facilities.
Cons: The bed clothes were poor and really need to be upgraded. Just a sheet and a blanket meant waking up cold at night. WiFi was also poor. The only -ves.
Location: Fantastic - right on the beach about 45 mins from the airport.
Staff were superb - very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The grounds and setting of the hotel are also magnificent. Great beach, clear water and no feeling of being overcrowded. Food and drink options are varied and plentiful. We were on an all inclusive package which was great value with lots of choice. The hotel doesn't scrimp at all. Having use of the facility next door (Sugar Beach) is also a nice touch. It seemed to be slightly classier with a younger clientele than La Pirogue. Better live music and Tides is a great restaurant / bar. All in all La Pirogue is an excellent hotel and a great choice in Mauritius.