Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best aspect of the hotel was its staff, who were always friendly, polite and very helpful. Beautiful location beside the sea, and dinner was served under a different theme every night. The closest bus stop is a 10-15-minute walk, otherwise need a car. We were a little disappointed about the music every night, because it continued until past 22:00 and we didn't have any choice than listening to it even in the room. Too loud to watch TV or go to bed, even if we closed the window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from Sydney

Exceptional service and value for money

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was really impressed with the Sands. After researching thoroughly on the best place to stay in Mauritius we settled on the Sands and did not regret it for a second. Service was first class, the amenities were great and the location was terrific being close to Flic en Flac and a great little shopping centre with a Pick n Pay. The rooms are good and spacious. The bathroom will probably need updating soon but it was fine. The bed felt a little hard for me and could have been little more comfy but that would be my only complaint. All up I thoroughly recommend the Sands without hesitation. The staff were simply wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Mandurah WA, Australia

Mauritius Holiday

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Pool
Cons: The bed, Taxi fares very expensive if using hotel dedicated taxis - Need to bargan with them
Location: Great location
The Sands is a very nice Resort with beautifull gardens and pool area. The beach is ok but you need foot protection due to the broken up coral that washes up onto the beach in most parts. The room we had was clean to start with but with staying for 11 nights the upkeep was very rushed. We had the bed replaced twice as the right side was collasped. They replaced the top mattress first but after 2 nights I found that the bottom support base had its main beam broken which was causing the problem & this was eventually replaced. Toilet issues where also eventially repaired but they did offer us another upgraded family apartment style room which we refused as we only had another 2 nights left & they ended up repairing the toilet late in the afternoon. Food buffet every night was good for the first week but we were over it by then. Wine is very expensive - House wine equates to $44.00 a bottle in our dollars.
1 out of 5
by Nanda from Bangalore, Karnataka, India

Not happy!

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Food
Location: Alright
I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The staff was unfriendly. There were no English TV channels in the room and when asked, the staff replied "sometimes you get and sometimes you don't". The food in the Spices restaurant was horrible. Overall the resort seems cramped and not as beautiful as a shown in the photos. Not a good value for your money. I had stayed on the east coast for less and had a much much better experience ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Fantastic Vacation

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful Vacation in Mauritius this May'13 and in particular at the Sands Resort. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the property with specific mention about the heated Infinity pool, great buffet spread and a wonderful ocean facing room. Thanks to the staff and the entire property to have made our stay such a memorable one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly service and a fabulous view

Posted May 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed five nights here and were very well looked after. The staff are all very friendly and accomodating... for example: we were allowed to check in to our room after a very early arrival, also after a few days, the boathouse and restaurant staff knew us by name, the sous-chef is also a great character! There are plenty of organised activities, but if you just want to relax by the pool, there's an awesome view of Tamarin Bay and the beautiful scenery beyond it. The hotel building is a little dated and could do with a spot of paint, but this is only a minor point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith from Sydney

Mixed Quality

Posted Apr 19, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Food
Excellent and responsive staff. Food quality ordinary. Location fine as long as you are happy to stay put otherwise need taxi. Overall value for money only fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mandy from Guildford, Surrey, UK

Great for Chilling

Posted Apr 11, 2013
Pros: The ambience
Location: At the end of the bay so quiet
Fabulous on all fronts. Rooms, food, activities, service and environment