Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Hannah from Newcastle

Great beach, bad food

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The range of activities.
Cons: Stop threatening to charge guests £40 if they lose a beach towel and just leave one in everyone's room - your system is weird and insulting!
Location: Definitely take a trip to the Black River Gorge National Park and go for a hike, the views are beautiful.
We stayed for the second part of our honeymoon for 9 nights. The pool and beach were great and there were lots of activities. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly. However, the room was bland and dated and the food was overpriced and not very good at all. Generally, food in Mauritius is amazing - it's a mix of French and Indian, two of the best cuisines in the world, how could it not be?! - but unfortunately the Sands food was at best bland and at worst horrible. I think in general the problem is a lack of thought and adaptability. When you have had a completely empty dance floor all week, turn the blaring Abba and disco lights off, at least whilst we eat our dinner!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sab from Singapore

Nice but room and facilities quite old

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel had a nice pool and beach but once we got to the room, we thought the toilet and room were old and tired looking. Location was at the end of the road and not easy to access other locations or restaurants unless by car or walking very far. After paying so much for the stay, we realised that the hotel only gave 2 bottles of water regardless of the no. of days you're staying! The choice for breakfast was also not much and lacking, same type of food served throughout our stay. It was a nice stay but I'd try other hotels in Mauritius the next time..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best aspect of the hotel was its staff, who were always friendly, polite and very helpful. Beautiful location beside the sea, and dinner was served under a different theme every night. The closest bus stop is a 10-15-minute walk, otherwise need a car. We were a little disappointed about the music every night, because it continued until past 22:00 and we didn't have any choice than listening to it even in the room. Too loud to watch TV or go to bed, even if we closed the window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from Sydney

Exceptional service and value for money

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was really impressed with the Sands. After researching thoroughly on the best place to stay in Mauritius we settled on the Sands and did not regret it for a second. Service was first class, the amenities were great and the location was terrific being close to Flic en Flac and a great little shopping centre with a Pick n Pay. The rooms are good and spacious. The bathroom will probably need updating soon but it was fine. The bed felt a little hard for me and could have been little more comfy but that would be my only complaint. All up I thoroughly recommend the Sands without hesitation. The staff were simply wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Mandurah WA, Australia

Mauritius Holiday

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Pool
Cons: The bed, Taxi fares very expensive if using hotel dedicated taxis - Need to bargan with them
Location: Great location
The Sands is a very nice Resort with beautifull gardens and pool area. The beach is ok but you need foot protection due to the broken up coral that washes up onto the beach in most parts. The room we had was clean to start with but with staying for 11 nights the upkeep was very rushed. We had the bed replaced twice as the right side was collasped. They replaced the top mattress first but after 2 nights I found that the bottom support base had its main beam broken which was causing the problem & this was eventually replaced. Toilet issues where also eventially repaired but they did offer us another upgraded family apartment style room which we refused as we only had another 2 nights left & they ended up repairing the toilet late in the afternoon. Food buffet every night was good for the first week but we were over it by then. Wine is very expensive - House wine equates to $44.00 a bottle in our dollars.
1 out of 5
by Nanda from Bangalore, Karnataka, India

Not happy!

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Food
Location: Alright
I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The staff was unfriendly. There were no English TV channels in the room and when asked, the staff replied "sometimes you get and sometimes you don't". The food in the Spices restaurant was horrible. Overall the resort seems cramped and not as beautiful as a shown in the photos. Not a good value for your money. I had stayed on the east coast for less and had a much much better experience ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Fantastic Vacation

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful Vacation in Mauritius this May'13 and in particular at the Sands Resort. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the property with specific mention about the heated Infinity pool, great buffet spread and a wonderful ocean facing room. Thanks to the staff and the entire property to have made our stay such a memorable one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly service and a fabulous view

Posted May 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed five nights here and were very well looked after. The staff are all very friendly and accomodating... for example: we were allowed to check in to our room after a very early arrival, also after a few days, the boathouse and restaurant staff knew us by name, the sous-chef is also a great character! There are plenty of organised activities, but if you just want to relax by the pool, there's an awesome view of Tamarin Bay and the beautiful scenery beyond it. The hotel building is a little dated and could do with a spot of paint, but this is only a minor point.