Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Hattar

everything requires reservation in advance

Posted May 27, 2014
you have to reserve your table at the beach bar or any restaurant 2 days before your trip otherwise you will end up staying in your room the whole evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Kavita, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Hattar Thanks for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not dine in any of our restaurants and wish to advise that reservations are only required for our a la carte restaurants and can be made the same day. For the main buffet restaurant, no advance reservations are required. I hope that when next you visit Mauritius you will you will stay with us again and enjoy fully the dining experiences we offer. Kind regards The Sugar Beach Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Berkshire

Excellent hotel and staff amazing holiday!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
We stayed at Sugar Beach for a week in January 2014. We were recommended by a friend to stay here and it completed surpassed all expectations. The hotel was amazing, the main area, buildings, grounds, pool and beach were beautiful and immaculate. The staff were so friendly and helpful and made our stay really special and enjoyable. The restaurants were amazing with a great selection of food included in the all inclusive package, along with restaurants at the sister hotel. We shall definitely be going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2014
Dear Peter, Greetings from Sugar Beach, Thank you for staying at Sugar Beach during your recent visit to Mauritius and for the time taken to share your thoughts with us. It gives us great pleasure to read that our team members took very good care of you and that you were pleased with most of our services and facilities. We will certainly pass on your comments to them. We thank you again and will be pleased to welcome you back to Sugar Beach Respectfully yours The Sugar Beach Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fionne from Singapore

Make reservation of restaurant in advance!

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Reminder for everyone to make reservation for ala carte restaurant in advance. Otherwise you are stucked with buffet dinner everyday. Great location with a lot of beach activities available
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mandy Kilby from Bromley

Beautiful resort

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Glorious setting. Large resort but certainly didn't feel crowded. Very large swimming pool and then some distance away a quieter one for adults. They had put us to stay at the quiet end of the resort as we had no chn with us. It was perfect. Room opened on to beach. A lovely spot very well run
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and friendly staff

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: More choice on the all inclusive
Location: Casela Park, where you can walk with the lions, was only 10 minutes away by taxi. The park was well worth a visit.
Food was good and hotel clean. Activities were also good, with sail boats, canoes and peddle boats on the sea. Outside of the all inclusive the food and drinks were expensive; we upgraded to the all inclusive when we got there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Achim from South Africa

Perfect location, the beach is just the best.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Location to the beach and Flic en Flaq town
Cons: Rooms are a bit dated but are fine
Location: Shopping at Flic en Flaq
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Western Australia

Five Stars!

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: The lawns and gardens, the large pools, the style and grandeur feel and not feeling crowded in by other guests and the delicious quality of the buffet
Cons: Kids Club was tucked away in the far corner of the Resort and it was a long walk to visit our son regularly. Our Superior Room could have been bigger.
Location: We love the area of Flic en Flac but the beach was not good for swimming. We were told La Pirogue had snorkelling beach, but we ran out of time to try
After initial concerns about the two storey/terraced accommodation and the potential for excessive noise we were well satisfied with the beautiful resort. We only heard the guests upstairs once (scraping chair, high heels). The rooms were stylish and luxurious. We booked a Superior Room, but thought it would be a bit larger. My sister had a Standard Room which was upstairs with a balcony which was beautiful. Also, our bar fridge seemed to not work properly as the drinks were not very cold, even after one of the staff came to check it. The buffet was excellent (despite the first night being "Italian" and not what we were expecting for our first dinner) but the rest of the nights made up for it as it was followed by Mauritian, French, Indian, Fishermans etc. The buffet breakfast was top quality and with excellent variety. All the staff were delightful! From the first greeting at reception, the "lifeguards" at the pool, the waiters at poolside and the unforgettable staff at Kids Club, we thank them for making our stay very memorable. We did have one dinner at the sister hotel next door (La Pirogue) and even though this hotel too is beautiful and traditionally Mauritian, the buffet at Sugar Beach was far better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davor from Croatia

Great beach, great staff, great holidays overall

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Staff, room, beach, food
Location: La PIrogue hotel, sister hotel to Sugar Beach is close by and it is nice change to have lunch there occasionally as it has bit different setting
Never ever have I felt treated so nicely and with personal touch as in Sugar Beach. Although this is big sized hotel, with staff's efforts we have been made feeling nice and special - very boutique-hotel like. After few days staff knew our names, preferences, nothing was problem for them, they really went the extra mile. Perhaps this had to do with the fact we were getting married in hotel, nevertheless, we were treated fantastic. Nice, spacious clean room, close to picture perfect beach in combination with excellent food...can it be better then this?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Edinburgh, Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Beautiful hotel and fantastic e staff
I recently spent eight nights here with my 2 daughters. We shared a superior room which had 2 queen beds and an additional 'rollout' bed. This made space a bit tight but overall the room was great. We were on the ground floor with a lovely terrace overlooking a beautiful lawn and the beach beyond. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome. They were all polite, friendly and attentive. The complex is beautiful and very well kept. We were half board but after the first evening when we realised how expensive drinks were (£27 for 3 vodkas), we upgraded to all inclusive. Initially I had thought we could walk into Flic en Flac in the evening but it's too far (could go by taxi). We therefore spent each evening in the hotel bar Tides which had some okay entertainment. It was much cooler in the evenings than we'd expected so I would recommend trousers if you're there in July/ August. Day time was very hot. All the food was lovely- an extensive choice at the evening buffet with a different theme each night so it never became too samey! We ate at the Italian restaurant one night which was really lovely. The facilities at the hotel are great and we did some of the water sports which was really good fun. Organising day trips was really easy and much cheaper than I had seen online before going. We did the catamaran day trip which was amazing and the swimming with dolphins early morning trip. Definitely worth doing. Overall a brilliant hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fiona from Dubai

Great hotel, highly recommended

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: The amazing swimming pool in the centre of the resort plus the quiet pool further along and of course the beach, white powdery sand and turquoise sea.
Cons: Mosquitos on the balcony.
Location: There are some tourist shops and supermarkets 10 minutes walk from the resort although no pavement on the road.
We stayed in this hotel for 5 days in May and would recommend it thoroughly. The staff were very attentive and helpful and always pleasant and polite. Our room was spotlessly clean all the time. The food was delicious, particularly at Citronella Cafe. It's really hard to find something critical to say. Mosquitos around the balcony would be the only thing but even that wasn't an issue as the grounds of the hotel are so gorgeous that we were always out and about and never wanting to sit outside the room. The main swimming pool was huge and there was never any trouble getting a sun lounger, even one of the ones in the water! There's a lovely walk either along the beach or through the trees to the neighbouring hotel La Pirogue and guests at Sugar Beach can use all the facilities there too. All in all, wonderful holiday, great hotel, highly recommended.