Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic staff and hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: staff staff staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clare from Perth, Australia

Outstanding location to relax.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The gardens, the food, the staff & the beach.
Cons: A bit of maintenance here & there.
We are a family of 4. We are an active family having a 16 & 12 yr old. The hotel has beautiful grounds, although the rooms are a little tired. Tamasa has a very beautiful & protected beach. It provides sailing boats, kayaks, snorkeling & water skiing. The sports club has tennis, table tennis & lots of other games. The fitness gymnasium is modern & well equip. The food was fresh, well presented & tasty. If staying more than a week it does become a little monotonous. I felt that the staff were there to make your stay relaxing & care free.
3 out of 5
by ing from NJ, USA

Rooms are basic and bring extra toiletries

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Hotel setting very serene. However rooms are extremely basic. Soap and shampoo are provided once, one of each. If stays are longer than 2 night make sure you bring some with you. All inclusive food was extremely disappointing. Same food everyday and very limited selection. Book dinner in the beach restaurant when you get there for a better selection. Very hard to get a reservation even 24 hours in advance. During our 5 night stay we were never able to make a reservation even 48 hours in advance. Its nice that all water sports are included but beach is extremely dangerous. Strong current and coral left my legs and arms bloody despite being an incredibly strong swimmer and snorkeler. Both me and my husband return with cuts and blisters that still remain a week after we returned and itch terribly. The under current can sweep you away 50 feet in just a few seconds. We used the paddle boats and had to fight our way back to shore because the current was so strong. Many guests were disabled in the water and needed assistance/ rescue. The views, sunrises and sunsets were beautiful. This resorts offers overall beauty with the infinity pools and beautiful vistas but at a personal cost when it comes to the quality of room accommodations, dining experiences, and risk using the beach and water activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joseph from Perth Australia

nice getaway

Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
we loved the hotel, the service and the comfort and view of the beach room. All inclusive is good value. The location on the south coast is a bit windy, maybe it is the time of the year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dawn from UK

Perfect in every way

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: The food was amazing, so fresh and varied
Cons: We had to leave and return home!
Location: In a beautiful spot on the coast. Perfect for exploring the natural wondes of Mauritius.
Our previous holidays have been road trips in Iceland and Canada so this was completely different for us ( family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 7). Family room (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, balcony) was very spacious, clean and modern. The hotel itself is like a friendly village. The gardens were beautiful, 3 swimming pools within a few steps from our room, sea right in front of you and activities if you want some entertainment. The food was just wonderful - a different style buffet every night or a la carte in the beachside restaurant (no difficulty with reservations). We were half board and that was plenty for us. We had to pay for drinks which came to £250 for 2 weeks. Otherwise everything else was included - you can do waterskiing, glass bottomed boat trip, tennis, sega dancing lesson, cookery lesson, zumba...... and so much more! We took our own snorkelling gear and were in and out of the sea all day. Though you can even simply stand ankle deep in the sea and spot tropical fish. We hired a car and explored the coastline, mountains and city. Roads twist and turn but driving is safe and easy. We cannot leave a review without mentioning the fantastic team of staff at Tamassa. They work hard to ensure a perfect holiday for the guests and always with a friendly word and a smile. Mauritius is a wonderful country, but it's the staff that make this hotel the perfect destination.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Navin from Toronto, Ontario Canada

not a 4 star hotel , but 3 star for sure

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Pools where fresh water & cleaned daily Garden & walk ways where kept well & security is good.A safe hotel
Cons: Food quality & selection
Location: Location is away from any close towns so you have to get a cab to port Louis or any other city.
selection & quality of food at dinner buffett & at the restaurant was not very good. The staff was very helpfull & would anything out of their way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexander from Saint Petersburg, Russia

Very good hotel, but rooms need renovation

Posted Feb 11, 2013
Pros: - Staff and service quality - Territory - Food quality - Included activities - Location
Cons: Rooms need some renovation, hotel was opened in 2006 and we even made an upgrade to superior room, which was better, but anyway needed a repair
Location: Far from civilization, for quiet rest. But a lot of POI nearby, so we rented a car and visited almost all Island (except North)
Nice hotel with big enough territory, a lot of plants, etc. Located far from cities and shops. Pleasant staff, ready to help, a lot of activities like water ski, etc. included. Good food, changing daily with local, italian, etc. cuisines
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukraine, Kyiv

Greate hotel for sport style of vacation

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Pros: coconuts on trees, snorkling
Everything was very good. Qualified personal. Pleasant stay. Very sweet birthday cake :) The only thing that discourages is the prices for buffet. Why they are so big?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Jun 7, 2011
The hotel was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Venice, IT

Perfect get-away

Posted Jun 16, 2010
Very good experience because everythings was perfect. I'm greatful to all the Tamassa staff, who was so kind anytime during our stay. Price was fair. Perfect place for family, where parents could better enjoy the holiday because the hotel has a mini club, in which children could spend much of their time, even having lunch there. But I don't know if during high season you will find the same state.