Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san juan, Puerto Rico

Nice place to stay if you r visiting a nearby city

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We stayed for two night....i loved the historic feeling. The room was comfortable for two...it was a GREAT option for us because we planed to visit near by places like San German and Rincón and the hotels in that area were to expensive....i did not like that the window was facing the hall way... The hotel is walking distance to a few stores and restaurants including a very popular ice cream shop called The Rex......many places were closed, even though it was long weekend. This is a university town and almost every bar and store close during the weekend (when students tend to go home)...still, the hotel has great options or if u drive a few minutes there are great restaurants for breakfast lunch and dinner. Located like a block from the plaza u can hear the church bells...they start at 6:30am... Liked it because i woke up early...but it was a little frustrating when it kept ringing every half hour..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Nice hotel/walking distance to restaurants/plaza

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nice, historic hotel, quaint. Facilities well kept
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayamon, PR.

Nice quiet hotel with a confortable bed.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great quiet place to spend the night in downtown Mayaguez near the town's Plaza, across the street from Ricomini Bakery, where you'll find the best food for breakfast and food at any time. Huge parking lot also across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Everyone was wonderful!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to many wonderful beaches.
Location: Lots of beaches if you are adventurous!
Everyone was friendly and helpful whenever we needed anything. They were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson Hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Though room was clean, when we got into the room did not smell to good (strong humidity sensation). Overall without the aforementioned sensation it was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Orlando Bodon from Brooklyn, NY

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel was very nice. The people could not be better the young man who checked us in Waldemar took care of us quickly and gave us great travel directions to get around. Ernesto the manager was fantastic, he recommended great places to eat and when we stayed in and had the tapas again his recommendations were on the money. The only downside were the church bells every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014
Nice place to stay if you are going on a business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by altagracia diaz from carolina

good hospitality

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are in good shape,excelent location,the place is un downtown area
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barry from San Juan

Close to the University

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just spent 1 night to take care of busness related to the university. Room had a humid odor and linens did not feel fresh. Got off to a late start in the morning and found there was little left in the breakfast buffet. there is no security in the parking lot (not attached to the hotel) after midnight,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carmen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com