Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Wedding in Ballina

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Locality to Ballina, which is a lovely town.
Cons: Room TV is a bit small.other than that and a big stain on the room carpet everything was really nice.
Location: The location is fantastic to visit Ballina and the churches in Knockmore, although you definitely do need a car to get around as there are not many pa
Hotel was very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. When I needed a taxi the staff ordered me one and it was there in 5minutes, which is just what you want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great stop away from it all

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We had a good stopover at Hotel Ballina on a trip up the coast. There isn't much immediately around the hotel, but it's easy to get to from the main roads, and a good base for the local area. The hotel and room were both very good, and the staff were particularly friendly and helpful. There was a wedding there the night we stayed, so it was a bit loud outside (we could hear the wedding dance going on), but it didn't wake my 2-year-old. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or breakfast facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh

Overall good

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Position, parking, staff and catering.
Cons: As above, light bulb not replaced and carpet stained.
Location: Excellent position for a day's touring of Mayo in all directions.
The receptionist when we arrived was most helpful and pleasant. The staff at the pool were extremely welcoming. Request for broken light bulb was not attended to and the carpet in the bedroom was stained. Very good parking and the hotel is well-placed to see around Mayo. We ate twice in the hotel in the evening and the food and service were first-class and not too expensive. All in all, a most enjoyable stay and we intend to return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Half hour walk from train station

Posted Jul 10, 2014
As I used the train to go to Ballina I was disappointed to find Hotel Ballina is a 30min walk on arrival. The very good rate for the night was negated by taxi fares. My phone coverage was non existent inside the hotel and in my room though wi fi worked okay. What really annoyed me was the audacity of this hotel to charge a euro for promotional not-for-sale copies of a daily newspaper! I will not be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Phoenix, AZ

Wonderful stay!!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We arrived very late at night and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very clean and very spacious, especially for the Expedia price. Thanks to the staff there for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely nice hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Great hotel for a family or single traveller. Food is good and breakfast is varied. Rooms are comfortable with everything you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pauline from Belfast

Nice hotel, spacious grounds, very well maintained

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Neat, tidy, beautifully clean. Warm welcome, bar staff couldn't have been more helpful. Restaurant waitresses a little hit and miss.
Cons: Breakfast - having sufficient seating and waitresses to meet demands. Attention to prompt celaining of tables.
Location: Was at the hotel for an event so did not experience anything nearby.
Missed turn off which was not particularly well sign posted and having carried out a U turn when I did notice the sign it was not particularly well lit. Welcome warm and friendly. Room clean, comfortable and wonderfully quiet had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was a little haphazard!. Tables not cleaned quickly had to hover to find somewhere to sit. Ordered pot of coffee got a pot of tea and my daughter is still waiting on her water!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Noeleen from Palm Coast, FL

Rating 3Star

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: The room was nice, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good
Cons: Timed heat should be adjusted to suit guest's arrival and outside temperatures. More towels should be provided. Dining room tables need to be cleared
Location: The location is fine for an overnight stop, not much to do in surrounding area to justify a longer stay
The hotel in my opinion does not live up to its 4 Star rating. We checked in at 6pm, it was freezing cold outside and There was no heat on in the room when we checked in at 6.00 pm on a very cold, damp evening. I called reception to be told that the heating was on a timer, but that they would turn on the heat. I had to make a second call 15 minutes later because the heat was still not on. It took over 30 minutes before the heat started to come on. 30 minutes in a cold hotel room in winter is not acceptable. The leather armchair in the room had a large gash in it. Only a small bath towel and small hand towel were provided for 2 guests. We paid $30+ for a full Irish breakfast, the dining room was packed and the tables were not cleared of dirty plates/food in a timely manner. Not up to a 4 Star rating standard. I complained to hotel receptionist and also deposited a comment card but nobody has checked back with me despite leaving my email address a week ago. I stayed at the property 2/28