Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Ric from Minneapolis

Ok hotel on the beach with street in front

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was fine except for the checkout receptionist, see above
Cons: Honor the reservation made by Expedia
Our Expedia reservation said in print that our reservation was "European plan" but the hotel still charged us for breakfast 430 pesos and in spite of calling the management they wouldn't remove the charge, we'll never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by murray from oregon

old facility

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: cleaned every day, hot water all the time a good value
Cons: like most of mexico vegetarians are out of luck
Location: good pool. location is mid way between gold zone and reviving historic district. .traffic noise is as i expected
the hotel is old but well maintained and has a large staff that keep the place clean and fix problems quickly' we had no complaints
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by sharon from sayulita, mx

Great find if traveling with dogs

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Ocean access!
Cons: Clean rooms, update interiors, provide grass area for dogs
Location: Wasn't able to experience
We were given a very old dilapidated room. There was a huge puddle of water in the room, a/c very noisy....clanked all night. Hotel had very specific pet rules....we travel with pet towels & pet bedding. Hotel required 200 pesos per dog & a 500 peso refundable deposit. Room was inspected before our departure to insure dogs had not made mess of room. Room was in total decay...rusted a/c grill, sink with huge fracture lines, dresser drawers that don't open & many drawers without knobs, light switches without covers........but, they take dogs & the ocean is across the street. Room service was quick....dogs can't be left alone in room so we weren't able to go out for dinner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by carlos G. from U.S.

just your average hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
While they mention that Service Dogs are welcome, the only type they recognize it's the Service dog for the blind, and 'not' any other type! so they charged us $10.00 dollars and weren't allowed in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan from Houston

Great walking distance to many sights

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel on the beach. Great walking along beach side. Hotel also has great pool for the kids. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

March 2013 - Enjoyed The Hotel & Neighbourhood

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Pros: Location on Olos Altos beach & malecon, economical, friendly staff. Many small and inexpensive shops and stores, old style market nearby.
Cons: Constant traffic noise from main street in front during the daylight hours. Trade off for a seaview room; city view rooms would be very quiet.
Location: Choosen for access to Old Mazatlan, to be out of the Zona Dorada [ tourist zone and related 100's of retail stores, and to be on the Olos Altas beach
Aguamarina is an older four storey hotel but well kept and well staffed. Our 3 day choice on arrival in Mazatlan to give us access to "El Centro - Old Mazatlan", the Olos Altas Malecon [ 3km sea walk ], and nearby sights. We choose not to be further north in "Zona Dorada" - the golden zone for tourists. Staff in the lobby area were extremely helpful [ we asked a lot of questions ]. The small lounge and dining room are pleasant. Lunch was more than delicious - I spoke to the chef / cook and gave a special tip for the kitchen. The staff were very friendly in a real sense, as were the 50 - 100 people we encountered briefly as we roamed the neighbourhood. Daily, we walked 4 - 6 blocks south 2 - 4 blocks east to a large variety of small shops and services, and many food vendors and kiosks, esp on Ave Rotario [ honoring the local Rotrary Clubs [and perhaps benefactor clubs in esp in Western Canada & USA ]. Sidestreets and alleys invited us to look. We followed two women pushing their cart and yelling "Pan" [ fresh bread and sweet buns, all delicious ]. Another time I stopped on a sm street to ponder the sidewalk under repair and a sign "Cappucino" - a door opened and an older man invited us into his front room. He is the author of several books about the indigineous people and Conquest, and subsequent history. The Mazatlan 2013 Pacifico [ cerveca ; ] Tri-Marathon cycling and running events went past our hotel [ we had 2nd floor seaview ] for many hours for two days..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel experience

Posted Mar 17, 2013
The staff were great very polite and helpfull. Esteban our waiter for dinner was very good.The food was exellent The pool was not working our room was in the older section(we think) because it smelled musty and the water smelled bad .. That wing seems to require some paint and revamping. However in general we like the hotel and will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Good value hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2013
Good value hotel. In town for Mazatlan triathlon and the hotel was conveniently located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mexican traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful and we had an ocean view room. They did not have our reservation when we arrived, but they accommodated us anyway. The food in the restaurant was decent and the room was clean. Overall it was a good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

Aguamarine a bit of a letdown.

Posted Jun 11, 2011
Check in was fine then tried to exchange dollars and they had none, The air conditioning system was awful and I had the worst nights sleep. The room smelles musty the bathroom was not the best. I ate in their reataurant for one lunch only and had the worst hamburger of my life, I soon found other options. For the price I might as well paid half as much a night at a cheap joint, and gotten just as much. The staff was very pleasant and tried their best to accomodate their guests.