Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Great location! Very walkable.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The best things were the staff and the location
Cons: Towels seemed to be in short supply. They were removed when the room was cleaned. However, many times they were not replaced and the search was on!
Location: Excellent location. Shops, art galleries, restaurants. Go to Stone Island for the day--eat, drink and lay on the beach. Bus to the Golden Zone. Relax
Great location--restaurants and coffee shops galore. Close to a beautiful town square (Plaza Machado) with many more restaurants, vendors and entertainment. Wonderful staff. Great (included) breakfast buffet but they also offer any anything else not provided in the buffet (any style eggs, French toast, pancakes etc). Beautiful pool area on the top floor which offers a 360 degree panoramic view of the ocean and city. The 70 year old elevator is a "treat" to ride on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of my favorite hotels, but HARD mattresses!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and the views are outstanding!
Cons: The MATTRESSES! As I stated above, they are the hardest mattresses in the world. My wife did correct me, they are at least better than the tile floor.
Location: Great Location for walking the historic center of Mazatlan. Great restaurants, plazas and markets all very close. Ocean view and on the Malecon.
The Best Western is one of my favorite hotels in Mazatlan. It is in the historic district and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants and the largest market. It is close to the theatre and the cultural center. This is an excellent location if you love to walk a historic city. Do not expect to walk the beaches for miles at this end of Mazatlan. The beaches are small and much more rocky, similar to the US west coast. You can walk the Malecon though for miles and it runs along the waters edge. The hotel has a roof top pool and the best views of the city. There is a bar one level below the pool which also has excellent views. The bar staff takes care of you while at the pool. Expect to pay twice as much for your cervezas though! The breakfast buffet is a real treat! You eat on a terrace overlooking the Malecon, facing the ocean. The staff are very attentive and polite. I do wish they had better coffee though. There are excellent coffee shops all around you. I highly recommend the Looney Bean and Allegro. I cannot say enough about how nice all of the staff are! The room was also very clean. So you may ask, WHY ONLY A 3 RATING? The MATTRESSES are the hardest of anywhere I have ever stayed. They are similar to what we call the box springs in the states. I have stayed here multiple times but cannot take it more than a couple of nights. I am hoping the hotel owners read this. PLEASE upgrade the mattresses!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Staff should treat guests better

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked 4 rooms at this hotel for 5 nights each and prior to our stay I contacted the hotel to see if the hotel could accommodate us for an early breakfast or take away items. The woman I spoke to was not really friendly and understanding. She was a bit snippy and proceeded to say "if it was a big group we could do it but not for 4 people" Shouldn't all guests be treated equally? I understand the request may be difficult to do for 4 people but we weren't asking for a buffet - to not have fruit or other take away items available to us was pretty crazy. This was a bit upsetting especially since we couldn't take advantage of their breakfast buffet that we essentially paid for. Being at a hotel for business and having the hotel staff not accommodate us as their guests, especially with notice prior to our check in was not something my colleagues and I were happy about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Historic hotel across the street from the beach!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel is in the historic part of Mazatlan. We love the location.
Cons: This hotel has the very firmest matress's you could imagine. They are so hard, the floor and a blanket may be more comfortable.
Location: You are located only a few blocks from the sqaure. Friday and Saturday evening are the best time to visit the sqaure for entertainment, and vendors.
The bellboys, and breakfast wait staff were awesome! The maid, and desk service were okay. The rooftop pool is an awesome spot to hang-out and watch the beautiful sunsets. Rooftop access does close at 11pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Markfrom Los Angeles

Nice views, nice staff!

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed staying here. The hotel is beautiful and has a great view of the ocean or of the city. Really nice staff! Nice spacious rooms. Townspeople tend to party on the malecon--the walkway along the ocean in front of the hotel--until the wee hours, so be prepared for some noise from that and traffic while you're trying to sleep. But in spite of that, I'd gladly go back. It's close to restaurants and is part the old historic district, which is a lot of fun to walk around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Friendly staff (mostly), especially if you speak some Spanish!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, Alaska

Great location, pretty nice place, some issues

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Great staff. Clean. Easy check in and check out.
Cons: Make sure the AC units work. A least provide ice buckets in the rooms. Improve internet stability.
Location: On the malecon, very near Machada Square/El Centro, great restaurants really close, great hiking (i.e. - out to the light house, etc.).
The location is phenomenal and provides quick access to El Centro / Machado. Staff was superior and very, very helpful. Internet was in and out; when it was in, it worked well. The place is pretty old but recently renovated; the lobby is beautiful and the breakfasts were just fine. When you step into the elevators, you'll note that they are pretty small; you'll need to prepare for Mr. Toad's Wild Ride! The room would probably be fine for just a couple, but it was pretty small with our 11-year-old with us. Most disappointing were three things: 1. The beds are has hard as rocks. 2. The A/C unit in the room was VERY loud, and actually gave out the day before we left. 3. No refrigerator in the room and no easy access to ice (the staff would happily get ice for us from the freezer across the parking lot and bring it to you in a pitcher; however, there is no "ice bucket" provided. If you want to maintain cold beverages in your room I'd recommend purchasing an inexpensive foam cooler from one of the stores near the hotel and fill it with ice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cln

excelente lugar, personal muy amable

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Alberca en el 12vo. piso =)
Cons: El buffet-desayuno de cortesía:esperamos de 15-20 min. para tomar mesa ya que estaban reservando para un evento privado. Personal muy atento.
Location: Cerca de plazuela Machado: lugar perfecto para noche romántica.
Nos encantó la alberca en la azotea. Pequeña pero cumple su función. La vista desde ella es inigualable. Los cuartos están agradables y cuentan con sus amenidades. Volvería a hospedarme en él.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franciscofrom FRANCISCO DE ANDA RIVERA

HOTEL SIN CAFE

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
BIEN EN GENERAL, SOLO QUE HUBO UN DETALLE CURIOSO, EN ESTE HOTEL TIENEN CAFETERA EN LOS CUARTOS PERO NO DEJAN CAFE ¡¡¡¡¡¡ (NO TENIAN CAFE ESA NOCHE)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Doegp

Disabled need not apply

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The ocean views from thedining room
Cons: Make it a youth hostel
Location: Bay front is wonderful, nothing within walkingdistance
The hotel is at the end of the waterfront, away from the maddening crowd. But if you are disabled as I am once you are in the hotel you find that you cannot enjoy a walk along the seafront. Side walks require mountain climbing ability We are talking of 14 or more inches in height. The hotel has only one ramp out of the hotel, the car ramp!! The rooms are not that bad but the bathroom requires 2 steps, for some one who is limited, walking this can be a challenge. I personally do not pay these rate to be challenged.