Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Excellent experience I recommend this hotel to everyone
2 out of 5
by Dick

Disappointing

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything else.
Felt old. Carpet in the elevator was falling apart - could have been replaced for a couple of dollars.
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Texas

Total Disappoinment

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: I liked the swimming pool area
Cons: If one thing must improve is the attitued of the staff memebers
Location: The hotel is situated in the "Zona Dorada", infront of the beach. It is close to the "Malecon" and theres are a lot of store to shop
I reserved to rooms at the Cost de Oro Hotel, but it came to a total disapointment because they gave us an terrible customer service. The rooms are not updated and the beds are super uncomfortable, there is no fridge, microwave, iron or blow dryer. If you want to have internet access you must pay extra, as well as then iron and blow dryer. The ice is limitied to a small bag and if you want more you must pay extra. Coffee, water are extra too.The rooms were clean and the swimming pool area was berautiful. They have a jaccuzzi that only the time-share members can use. The staff's attitude is not freindly at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lupe from las vegas nv

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Love the beach and the pool is beautiful good zone and very safe
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shirley from Minnesota

It's not how it looks.

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The outside lobby and common areas of the hotel are nice, however the room was not at all how it looked in the pics of the web. They still have actual keys to get in the rooms and they hand you the tvs remote control at check in. The rooms are very out dated, the coffee maker was dirty and the maids would never say hello, good morning or good night even after we greeted them in our 1st language which is Spanish. The location is good but I would never stay at Costa de Oro again.
1 out of 5
by David from capitola, ca.

Horrible vacation because of dirty and unsecure r

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.......... The outside was kind of beautiful.
Cons: Clean rooms.
Location: N/a
The whole outside area was nice. The rooms were dirty and it smelled. Things were old and out of style.
1 out of 5
by David from capitola, ca.

Horrible vacation because of dirty and unsecure r

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.......... The outside was kind of beautiful.
Cons: Clean rooms.
Location: N/a
The whole outside area was nice. The rooms were dirty and it smelled. Things were old and out of style.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. Morales from Tennesse

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: to be close to the beach and the view.
Cons: What I just mention above.
Location: All kind of water sports, shopping and delicious food.
The most disappointed was for the hotel not having an ice machine for guest, neither microwave, fridge, table & iron or hair dryer. Every where hotel even the lowest stars hotel in USA provided of all these items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mazatlan friend

Very small beds, but nice pool by the beach.

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The swimming pool, and the service.
Cons: I think they need more light at the pool area, it is very dark at night. It is also very dark at the lobby and hallways.
Location: The location is excellent, right by the beach and walking distance to clubs and boardwalk. It is also close to the shops where you can buy souvenirs.
I really liked that the hotel is right there by the beach. Most of our time was spent at the swimming pool, which is really nice for children and adults. I was only disappointed with the beds, they are very small. If you are taller than 5.5 your feet will be off the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by I from MN

Great family hotel!

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Rea
Cons: Wifi should be included in the room at no extra price like most of the hotels do. Towels (pool and room) are scratchy & need to be changed
My family and I highly enjoyed our stay at Costa de Oro, the pool was perfect for all ages and the beach was great! The staff was friendly and the room was clean and nice and cool to be in a 90 degree weather, the only reason I gave 4 stars to the facilities is that the pool area is really dark at night, there are no lights in the pool or around it, as well as the lobby could use a little bit more light at night, we had a great time!