Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice beach front hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Beach front, with restaurants and shops closeby
Cons: Time share staff if the guest says NO the first, stop the aggravation.
Location: Great spot, near shops & restaurants
This was a great beach front hotel, Denisse from the Club Elite staff gave us excellent customer service and should be commended. Only draw back and the reason I didn't give this hotel a 4 star rating was the constant annoyance from the time share staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Salvatore, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, I would like to thank you for your recent contribution to Expedia page. Your nice words to Demise are greatly appreciated we are happy to having her working for us. I regret the inconvenience with the time share people and be assured I will share your impressions with the time sharing representatives, so them to look a better way to getting to our customers without being annoying. I hope to have the opportunitty to host you in a not too distant future. Warm Greetings Salvatore Sánchez General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel really close to the beach

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Our stay was excellent! The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is safe and really close to the beach. The tours are amazing. We took the city tour, the deer island tour and the zip lining tour. All were excellent and the groups were small which was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jwp from tucson az

Great location old building

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
great location The building. is starting to show its age but the service was top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from California

Awesome Vacation!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Awesome staff and excellent pool/bar service......good memories and good times!
Location: Location to excellent off site meals is great also.
My family and I had an AWESOME vacation at El Cid during the first few days of June.! We were celebrating 5 birthdays during our stay.The staff in all levels were incredible.We were here in November of 2013 and thought that that was an awesome idea to get 9 family members to join us in June and it turned out perfectly!! The pool staff, cleaning staff,check in staff,food staff in our opinion were top notch!! We are already planning to visit again soon.Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Calgary, AB

Excellent Hotel for the price I paid

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff
Cons: in-room wifi
I needed a quick one night stay before heading home. I found a room for under $80 and based on the reviews I booked it. When we arrived we were quickly met by staff to take our bags and whisk us off to VIP check-in. The room was excellent - clean and well-appointed. The A/C was very cold which was nice after a very hot cab ride over. We did not use many ammenities as we were only there for a very short time. The grounds were in immaculate clean condition, the pool was clean and our dining experiences at the Pergola restaurant were superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful looking after all of our requests. One disappointment was the lack of wifi internet access. The network was only available in the lobby area and for a charge of about $10/day. In this day and age, I expect wifi to be available in-room without charge for a hotel of this calibre. To their credit, they were clear about this in the hotel description, so it was not an unexpected feature. I will say that the listed room rate was about $225 and for that price, I would have expected more. But at under $80, it was an excellent 3 1/2 star hotel experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jimmy from Arizona

An aging resort in Zona Dorada

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had to make exactly 5 calls down to the front desk before they brought us extra blankets. We paid for 3 people in a room with double beds and were told we could get an extra bed brought to us. Well, the extra beds were out after we booked and were left with our extra guest sleeping on the floor with some extra sheets and comforters. It took exactly 5 calls until they finally delivered us the extra bedding. Besides that issue, the resort is just plain aged. If you will be lounging at the beach/pool most of the day, it is great, tip well and you will get a flood of drinks served to you. But if you will be visiting areas away from the hotel, you can do much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Del from Alberta,Canada

Great location with plenty of amenities for all!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location and family orientated
Cons: Reserving pool side lounge chairs and the snack menu for the all inclusive guests.
Location: Ideal location for shopping in te gold zone, many restaurants to choose from in walking distance.
Stayed for 7 days at the end of March and had a great time! Great place for families and the food was outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Salvatore, Hotel Management
Dear, guest I want to thank you for let us know or pros and cons during your recent visit to Mazatlan, your comment are really appreciated. It’s pleasant to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, good food and easy access, as well that you have a 7 wonderful days with us. Concerning to the long chairs we strength our security on the poolside, likewise we public this information in our daily Cid News for let the guests knows our policies. We hope to host you in a not too distance future. Salvatore Sanchez General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Rosarito Mexico

A must stay!

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only way to go- All Inclusive! Had two problems the room was right next to a speaker that started music at 10 AM. I complained and they moved me to an ocean view room so we really can't complain about that. The other thing was we were charged about $100.00 more than the advertised price on Hotels.com. Other than that a wonderful stay- Special thanks to out waiters at the buffett Victor and Tiburcio for excellent service. All in all a great stay and I highly recommend this resort to anybody that might read this. The resort is very secure, clean and great food and drinks. We really enjoyed the service at the Italian restaurant- great manager there and it has a piano man that plays elegant music while you dine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com