Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by W from Whitehorse, Canada

Ageing facility!

Posted May 19, 2014
Cons: Change the connecting room doors!!
We stayed in the north annex right next to the small VIP pool which is adjacent to a stage area overlooking the beach. Very attractive! However… the rooms are connected to the adjacent room(s) and the doors are sound transmitters - no privacy or quiet rest whatsoever: you can hear your neighbours whispering, and if they stay up late watching TV or some other activity, well so do you! And if they get up at 5AM, so will you! Management also rents out the lounge and outdoor area for weddings or other activities - throughout the week. I cannot blame them as they are a business and the area is very attractive. But you will not sleep as it is an outdoor facility and the sound comes right into your room. They need a different area for these events - not adjacent to the rooms! And forget about putting your kids to sleep early. This was our second stay at this hotel - It is our last! I have to say that the front desk staff were very sympathetic to our plight but obviously could not do anything ago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

Don't ever stay here!

Posted May 7, 2014
Everything is old and the room was dirty. The bathroom was not even cleaned! Stay away!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by larry from savannah ga

Nice hotel at the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Everything was ok
Cons: The toilet sounds like a jet Will wake you if someone flushes
Location: Location I s fab !!!! The Italian restaurant close by is a must..the food is fab!!!!! Cabs were great
Music was kinda loud The vacant lot next door people partied with loud music till early mornings and kept us awake
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Flintstones Bed and language barrier

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The pool area and beach area is great. The location is also very nice. Staff was friendly.
Cons: Beds and furniture needs to be updated with more comfortable options. Drink mixes and choice of rail drinks was poor even when I chose to pay.
Beds were on slabs of concrete or plywood. No springs. We were all inclusive but it was difficult to make reservations and one morning we called for over an hour and kept being told the lady who does the reservations wasn't in yet and to call back in 20 min, when we finally got through we were told the only times available were 9pm. It was hard to understand what was included in our package as others with all inclusive could eat and order food around the pool that we were told we couldn't. The language barrier is a problem and it didn't seem like we could get straight answers to many of our questions. The staff was very nice for the normal items that didn't require discussion so it isn't an attitude thing. I would just think they would have some people to go to at the front desk that could answer more complicated questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Thunder Bay, ON, Canada

Great location, close to the beach.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Pool area is fantastic - our boys loved the slides, area to jump in the pool, and especially daily activities. View from the 27th floor was amazing.
Cons: The all-inclusive needs to be improved - we booked 'regular' all-inclusive and could only eat in certain restaurants, we did not know this in advance!
Location: Great location .. right on the beach, lots of shops/restaurants near by.
This hotel is great for the kids, though a little bit dated. Fantastic activities and staff in the pool area for our boys ages 7, 9 and 11. The pool is wonderful with 2 slides and a rock to jump from, plus right on the beach. Could do with a toddler / shallow pool as our young nephew was with us, and the pool was too deep for him. It would have been nice to have an area that he could have walked into himself to paddle. The activity staff are outstanding, and the boys were treated very well. They even came and said goodbye to our children in the lobby as we were leaving. The all-inclusive is very confusing and frustrating. We booked regular all-inclusive (didn't realize there was more than one option??) and found we could only eat in certain restaurants. The pool bar and snack bar allowed us to drink there, but not eat at lunchtime! So we had to go to the sister hotel (Castille) to get a poolside lunch, when there was a snack bar in our own hotel, seems ridiculous to do that! This was something that was frustrating. There is a picture of a lovely restaurant on the website in a palapa hut that we were excited to try, but that was not part of our plan!! Also, this hotel could do with an outdoor evening beach bar. There is one lobby bar in the Castille for the evenings, and it is very loud, over crowded and inside. We went there every evening to get a drink and then took it to our balcony, so we could sit and talk and listen to the waves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Seattle, WA

Watch out for exchange rates!!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: This is one of the best resorts/hotels in Mazatlan. I have been coming for years. The pool is great, the beach is great. It has a golf course.
Location: There are some great restaurants in Mazatlan at well as night spots to hang out for music etc. Pedro y Lola is one of my favorites for great food.
While the standard exchange rates were running about 12.5 pesos to the dollar, the actual room charge in pesos to me relative to the amount quoted on the Expedia website was 16 pesos to the dollar. When I questioned this at check out, the counter person said that this is the rate Expedia attaches to the transaction. It added about 35% to the bill. I am not happy about this and am complaining to Expedia about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El Cid El Moro Beach Resort

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Had to walk way too far everyday to take advantage of our all inclusive. No hotel grounds outside that a person could walk through and enjoy. Very disappointing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Estera from Seattle, Wa.

The best staff from Mexico!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The friendly personal and the location!
Cons: The rooms need a little more attention and color.
We stay at EL MORRO hotel from 1st - 9th March. The hotel is not that great, the rooms are an older version of Mexico, but clean and the hotel personal are very friendly and pleasant, especially Jose from the front desk and the activity people Hans, Angelika and Ruben. The restaurant are good, especially La Concha and the shows from La Pergola are really nice to watch. They play every night something different, my daughter( 21 months) really enjoyed the Disney show. If you don't have to many expectations from the hotel and you go to have fun you really enjoy staying at El Morro. If I have to go again to Mazatlán I will definitely choose this hotel. Thanks for the great time EL MORRO!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated for the price

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Reception desk very unorganized, hotel very outdated for the price, wifi is not free, it took them 40min to find my reservation, didn't even make it to the elevator and the time share people were already trying to sell. Will not stay again at least el Moro beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gilbert from Fresno, CA

We were treated like royalty!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was outstanding.
Cons: The beds are a bit hard. Substituting the hard mattresses for a softer style would make the room more desirable.
Location: The beach is within walking distance; there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the hotel and the vicinity; and,the pool in the hotel is fantastic.
The moment we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by all staff members and we realized that their primary objective was to make us feel comfortable and to ensure that our stay was enjoyable and relaxing. Every staff member was courteous, respectful, attentive and professional. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The view of the beach from our balcony was spectacular. I will be visiting Mazatlan in the near future and I will make El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel my first choice. Only one way to describe the entire experience at this hotel.........First Class!!!!!