Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Despedida de Soltero

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Ambiente
Cons: Amabilidad del personal y rapidez en room service
Muy buen ambiente, solo un poco desorganizado el personal y muy lento el room service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manitoba, Canada

Nice. Hotel, right on beach

Posted Mar 11, 2015
We were in a newly renevated room which was nice. Liked the kitchenette. Hotel is in a good location. Beach was very nice, good for walking. Very nice pool area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: on water
Cons: lots
not good, to much pressure to go no hotel tour, shower is terible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

An overall excellent experience!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Very clean, excellent buffets and food. Staff was very friendly and eager to please!
Cons: More clarity around booking the specialty restaurants, amenities, renting water sports equipment.
Location: Excellent beach, shops on the strip and in the hotel itself! I would not recommend going the beach as the beach vendors are relentless!
Just back from a 1 week a vacation in Mazatlan and I have been raving about this hotel, their staff, and the location of this hotel to my friends and family! I do, however have some serious criticisms around the "1 hour" presentation we were pressured into taking. We were lied to when told that the "1 hour presentation" was not to sell anything. We were told that the 1 hour presentation was more geared towards finding out information about the many activities that can be booked through El Cid El Moro. The questions asked prior to the presentation were quite intrusive and took about 1/2 hour before the presentation even started which exceeded the "1 hour". The "pitch" can only be described as being "hard core" pressure with the expectation to remain past the 1 hour. I would NOT recommend this presentation! My next criticism would be the beach vendors! Walking down the stairs and onto the beach one has to pass through a gauntlet of beach "salesperson" who will NOT take "no gracious" for an answer at any level! they actually "stalk" hotel patrons walking down the beach and going down the beach became quite unpleasant! Towards the end of our vacation, these beach vendors actually began whistling at us to come down to the beach and buy their souvenirs while we ate meals in the restaurant! Unfortunately, this was the majority of the reason "why" other patrons weren't going to the beach too!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta

Smelly

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The smell of mildew in our room was so gross. When I got home all my cloths smelled like mildew in my suitcase. This hotel is old and in great need of a total renovation. Considering the price we were surprised. I couldn't wait to leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego CA

Old and outdated

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Views
Cons: everything
Location: good location
This hotel I use to visit when I was a child it was my dream to go there. But nothing has really been done to the hotel since then 80's, they have not done a good job at up keeping it. The Hotel feels and looks old and updated. they rehabbed a few of the rooms but that's its. stay at the Hotel PLAYA they have kept of on the maint. there. Disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom torreon

Viejo pero bueno.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Mas vale viejo.... como molestan con la promocion del tiempo compartido
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sinaloa

Buena experiencia todo incluido

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Tuvimos una buena experiencia y nos animamos al todo incluido "Elite" y fue una experiencia de lujo. A pesar de que el hotel estaba lleno. La atención amigable de todos los meseros en areas de snack y en restaurantes La Concha, Pergola, La Fonda y El Patio (Argentino) fue muy cordial y servicial. *El Buffet en La Concha esta muy completo en ambiente agradable. (Chef Pablo muy atento) . El MeseroRamón (La Conchita) en snack atendió de lujo a mi familia. Los niños encantados en los toboganes y en las inmensas albercas. nosotros con buenos drinks en los bares junto a la albercas. *Cesar de Actividades muy alegre y dinamico con las dinamicas En la Torre El Moro nos tocó una buena vista hacia las islas. El Room service muy rico y hasta botella de vino tinto. ** se recomiendan los shows pero es importante resevar y llegar temprano.. Se llena. Gracias por todas las atenciones.. Regresaremos muy pronto
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MABSfrom TORREON

EL SERVICIO ES EXCELENTE

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
MUY BIEN PERO EL HOTEL NECESITA ALGO DE MANTENIMIENTO PORQUE YA SE VE CANSADO, VIEJO