Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property. Great place to relax.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
We visited during the off season in early June and really enjoyed not having to deal with crowds or to compete for reservations at the a Italian and Argentinian restaurants (those are at El Moro, but were available to us through our all-inclusive deal). The short water taxi ride to the beach is nice. Beautiful beach and lovely marina. Some acquaintances went deep sea fishing and brought in several mahi mahi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sammy from or

Friendly visit

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Offer better access to the Airport
Location: There are a lot of cool boats in the harbor
Selected Hotel for a wedding and its location. Hotel provided a boat shuttle to their beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Washington State

Great stay in Mazatlan

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location, Loved watching the boats and could catch a free shuttle to other El Cid for shopping.
Have stayed several places in Mazatlan and this was wonderful. Clean, bigger room than expected (kitchen), nice staff and the grounds/pools are beautiful. Wish we'd had longer than three days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Eduardo Alvarez from San Antonio, Tx

Great Stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kris from Vancouver, BC

Great family hotel!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The rooms, pools, beach, grounds. The front desk and bell men are very helpful and friendly! It has a quiet atmosphere, not party life.
Cons: They nickel and dime you on everything if you are not all inclusive! Room service brought burnt food, hid it on purpose!
Location: The bus stops in front of the hotel and for 10 pesos you can go to city centre and the market on the Sabalo Centro bus. Eat at the Fat a Fish.
Before booking at marina El CID I did a lot of research. I had also walked through the hotel due to other trips down to see family so I was familiar with the hotel and restaurant as we had eaten there previously. We were happy with the facility, staff and service. The pools are lovely and have spaces where our 3 year could swim in a shallow area. I really liked the cold pool as the other one was quite warm and not refreshing. The only thing I wasn't aware of is if you are one the far building (which has the best views!) it is quite a lengthy walk to the beach boat or lobby. You can ask them to drive you in a golf cart but many times we did not want to bother anyone, so we ended up carrying our 3 year old, a lot. The rooms were quite large. The beds are quite firm which my husband likes. The patio door has a lock but it's pretty easy to unlock so we were quite diligent in watching our child. It might be worth bringing the little plastic child lock if you have young kids. The beach is great but you do have to take the boat across. The food is mediocre at best. We noticed too that good service at the restaurant was dependant on your tipping which bothered me because I am not going to tip generously for poor service. There are lots of restaurants to eat at down the road if you are not all inclusive. Beware of the "Welcome breakfast" as it is a vacation club pitch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to stay

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: clean and great layout
Cons: nothing
Location: free shuttle to the golden zone
Had a week timeshare so booked a day early using expedia. turned out to work great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to bus, 2 pools, beach

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly, clean, quiet, great activities, nice beach & pools.
Cons: Terrible internet.
Location: Close to bus routes. Lots of eating & activities close by bus or palmoniea.
Stayed 10 days. Enjoyed quiet at night, staff very friendly. Internet terrible. Room spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randy from Bay Area california

Great Service from Check- in to Check-out!!!

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: I loved the room and the service, the pool and bar. Amazing and beautiful.
Cons: I would like to see you open an all night snack bar... cold sandwiches, or something simple like tacos or hot dogs on the property.
Location: Plenty of good food, Dancing and of course the Fishing is excellent
Amazing Property.... The El Cid Marina is always very clean, the staff here is very attentive and most speak some English, with the Front Desk and Bellman being fluent. The food is good and you can eat pretty much whatever you like, they have lighter fare or you can have a Buffet, or full courses in a romantic environment. Pick a restaurant!!! I used room service twice and it is fast and the food was never cold. The property is very close to dancing, drinking and more restaurants. You can walk or take a Taxi for $3.00-5.00 to most of the closer locations. My room is always amazing, and all have great views and access to the Pools, food and Marina. I had a great trip out fishing this time to El Cid Marina, and the crew was very professional, and we were on top of the fish in less than 30 minutes out. It was Great, Thanks again to Miguel who helped me book the trip and the crew, Jose and Chris. I have visited Mazatlan many times and stayed at many different properties, some of which have sold or have been renamed. This property has consistently been 5 stars for food, service, amenities and value. My last two trips have been to the El Cid Marina and it will continue to be my preferred lodging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Nebraska

Nice quiet resort.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Well manicured, clean hotel situated in a peaceful Marina setting.
Cons: The rooms could be updated a bit as far as furnishing's and bedding.
Location: Golf is available as well as some of the best deep sea and bottom sea fishing in the world.
If you are looking for a nice quiet relaxing resort, El Cid Marina Beach Hotel would be an excellent choice. We arrived on Feb 15, 2014 for a week long stay. There are two pools to choose from and a very nice beach that is a short water taxi ride away. The atmosphere at any of these is very quiet and relaxing. The far pool does play 1970's style music starting in the late morning. Food and beverage provided at any location as well. We chose the all inclusive and found the food to be excellent on the Marina Beach property but average or below average at the other El Cid locations. The only off site El Cid restaurant we enjoyed was La Concha. This is an open atmosphere restaurant along the beach with very good food. (May require the Elite inclusive or an additional charge to the traditional inclusive package). The entire El Cid staff was extremely friendly and helpful. From our experience, don't expect a younger pool party atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from BC

Great place for a relaxing vacation

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed every day of our vacation!