Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego,CA

Good option for what you pay

Posted May 4, 2015
I spent a couple nights at this hotel with the family and opted for an all inclusive because I did not want to leave the hotel. The food is good but you have to look for those gems at the buffet. We tried the Asian restaurant available only with a reservation and that was really good. The drinks are not the best quality but ok. Service was ok as well....I consider this overall an economy all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I've ever stayed at!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The staff was the best I've ever experienced and the food was amazing. Overall best al inclusive I've been to and I've been to a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Fabulous food, great amenities. We loved it!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Nearly everything! Food, pools, bars, we're all outstanding! Liked the layout. Liked the in-pool chairs, the beach and the rooms.
Cons: The entertainment was lacking. A larger kids area would be nice for the size of the resort.
Location: City tour is great. Huge water park across the street.
We really enjoyed this resort. It's a great all-inclusive option, with outstanding food, pools and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Beautiful Hotel and friendly people.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The help was a selling point to the hotel. Never ran into a non helpful, smiling person.
Cons: The size of the hotel and massive amount of people may turn some people off. But again the staff does a remarkable job moving the people along.
This is the best all inclusive I have personally been at. If you cannot find something you like to eat here your tastes are entirely too high. The sight is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and the staff was absolutely terrific. There were a few minor issues we had during our stay but to even mention them it would be petty. I would recommend Riu Emerald.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maple Valley, WA

Wonderful hotel and staff.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe a larger kids play area pool that would work for older kids
Great experience. Staff was so nice and kept the hotel and grounds so clean. Great time and wonderful beach and pools
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The sunsets were nice
Cons: Every morning at 8 am a staff member would load a cart of dishes at the end of our hall, very loud.
Location: not much to do
food was terrible, lots of bees, sink in room did not drain
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mazatlan Riu

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Great pools and free drinks. Excellent for relaxation. Weather is best in March/April. Stay below 16th floor for bigger balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amarillo, TX

Great pools off the beach!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Accommodating staff and variety of activities made it fun ( ping pong, water aerobics, volleyball, yoga, shows). Buffets had good variety; specialty restaurants were great! Only complaint is stinky blanket and lack of pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coquitlam

Very good place

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Very good place, perfect location, great food. Beach is awesome. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Very safe place to stay No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Very nice hotel and amazing beach

Posted Mar 20, 2015
We have stayed here before, staff is cleaning non stop. Food is very good with lots of variety. The only exception is the Mexican restaurant Tabasco, service and food were awful. We ate mostly at Tres Islas which had themed days that changed, it is buffet style but very good every day for dinner. Beach is very good, ocean is fantastic but dangerous, need to be very careful. Life guards are very alert and were quick to rescue a few people that got caught in the rip tide. It's shallow, the waves are massive and people don't realize how fast they get caught and can't return. Room was always clean, drinks were very good. They could use better red wine and the pool drinks are way too sweet, but you need to find your favorites. They should cut off some of the people as they get way too drunk, but everyone is having fun so it's all good. Stay in a lower room, evaluators are terrible. The view is amazing up high but not worth the elevator hassle. Below the 5th floor is great and gives you some exercise. The shows are mostly very good when the main dancers come on, but on break days the entertainment is bad. Beach activities are great for the kids everyday and the activity staff is great. Starting March 15 they open Maz Agua water park about a block away, it's super cheap and the kids had a blast. It's rated on Expedia at 3 stars but it's an easy 5 star for Mexico.