Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel 90 years old but AC issues

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: old nice looking
Cons: maintenance, AC to be fixed and ice machine wasn't working
Location: visit mexico
AC wasn't working and first room was extremely small
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by IC, Hotel Management
I apologized for the inconvenience you encounter at our hotel during your stay. Rest assured we have shared your comments with the staff to ensure better service on your next visit to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The bed was really comfortable. The fridge was a nice size. The grounds are beautiful & Enoyed the wa
Cons: better coffee selection., more towels for bath rooms with no tubs
Location: the hotel was really close to Central McAllen shopping area. we had the option to eat in house or at the local restaurants- Burritos Broncos
The room was not like the ones on the pictures. We ended up in an ADA room for the handicapped. Which was fine and we stayed in the room bc it looked comfortable. The room had not been cleaned. We found loose staples and glass pieces on the carpet floor throughout our stay. The carpets had not been vacuumed the first day. The room bedding smelled like someone slept there for a while. the bathroom had the coffee maker next to the toilet? The shower water leaked out bc there was no bathtub (ADA bathroom) but each time we turned on the shower the water was all over the floor and there were not enough towels to clean it up. the cleaning staff did not leave enough towels to assist with the clean up of the excess water. When we asked for coffee they only brought us decaf. The kept offering to bring us coffee from the restaurant but wanted to charge us. The tv remote did not work. The alarm clock stopped working.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, Tx

Maybe pick a newer cheaper place

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: parking, bed
Cons: Less odor.
We arrived late and pretty much just slept and had breakfast on the way out. Staff was friendly and check in was fast. Wifi was a no go. Smelled sewage in halls, maybe due to rain. Room smelled musty. Carpet was old/worn. Shower Caulk was moldy and towel shelf was loose. I understand it's "historic", but I might opt for a newer place next time. Parking was good and felt safe. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable. Lobby was nice and atrium/pool looked nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Armando Gerardofrom Monterrey N.L.

No se respeta la reservacion

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Yo reserve una habitación con 2 camas matrimoniales y llegando al hotel resulta que me dan una habitación con una cama King size, que asi estaba requerido, por lo cual les mostre mi copia de reservación, entonces me dijeron que no tenían disponibles cuartos dobles. Que lo único que podían hacer es poner un catre con un costo extra de 20 dls. Que no se respeta la reservación por medio de Uds??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Willem

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Josephine Godin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. Your reviews are appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterrey, Mexico

Hotel agradable para el shoping

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Todo Muy bien. Limpio y acogedor. Muy buen servicio de Expedia y el Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rocky

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Josephine Godin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. Your reviews are appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas Texas

I like the location within the city

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Great comfortable beds. I sleep great.
Cons: Needs Extended hours at the bar and bar snacks. Closes way to early.
Location: It’s centrally located and convenient to most attractions.
I enjoy the history of the build and the great architectural look of it. Has a calm, romantic feel to it. The beds are amazing. It’s unfortunate the bar closes so early. But the bartender was very pleasant and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Josephine Godin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. Your reviews are appreciated. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations in regards to our bar closing early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Whar didn't we like
Cons: Heated pool.
Location: Your right nxt to the dwn town, and there's a very nice park just across the hotel........ may a romantic picnic?
Very romantic place, we will definitely be going back for another weekend get away. The staff makes you feel welcome and also make you feel especial. We recommend there restaurant ask for Marivel AND always leave her a well deserved gratitude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new braunfels Tx

Posted Dec 2, 2014
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel , but I didn't have opportunitiy to use all the facilities do to my business but I like it very much.