Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: nothing
Location: not located in the best part of town.
Pictures don't match the actual sub-par condition of the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a bit disappointing

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: lots of parking, free breakfast. Probably great for business people or people who have events to attend at McClellan.
just older and more tired looking than I thought it'd be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
This hotel is a bit off the beaten track, a little quirky (renovated from the old air force base), but suited me fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was quite good - better than I expected. The grounds have a quaint, old neighborhood feel. The building I stayed in could use some renovation on the outside. The room was nice enough, although the kitchenette area was pretty sad. Everything was clean. I was just staying one night on a road trip; this was a quick detour from I-5. Reasonable rate, comfortable room, good meals, great staff. Just what I needed to rest and get back on the road.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ceres ca

you get what you pay for

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: the outdoor areas, the patio out by the pool
Cons: fix your rooms and equipment
Location: not much you need to drive to get to sacramento where the attractions are
the beds were ok but the tv did not work and the bathroom door was broken and the a/c filter was dripping, the concert was good, the breakfast was ok,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from Eugene, OR

Inexpensive nice clean

Posted May 28, 2014
We found this hotel online and it was a good price. We were pleasantly suprised that it was a re-purposed military facility. It had a lot of charm and good energy. We slept well. Only downfall was the AWFUL continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Traveler from Missouri

Good for an over night

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and decent. Parking was not convenent as it was across the street other than that it was a good hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by itsbean13 from San Jose, CA

convenient for event at McClellan Conference Cente

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was more than pleased at this hotel. It looked more like an apartment complex, but in a nice resort-y way. We didn't get to try the pool or hot tub because it was just for a sleepover before our event the next day, but it looked really nice. The room we had was spacious, nice size and classy, plus a kitchenette (again, would have been nicer if we stayed longer to use the amenities). But I had heard the neighborhood was iffy, and we felt secure and family friendly. I recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience for us.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We found a live bedbug crawling in our bed and immediately notified front desk. More than 24 hours later have yet to hear from management about resolving the issue. We will never stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Terry Stewart, Hotel Management
On behalf of our Lions Gate Hotel, I would like to personally express sincere apologies for the unsettling episode that you and your daughter experienced during your recent stay at our Hotel. I have spoken with our front desk Managers, Supervisors and Agents regarding the delay in our Hotels response to your concerns and implemented new procedures to ensure this does not happen again. We always strive to have quality service with excellent relationships with all of our guests, and provide everyone with a pleasant and memorable stay. Upon notice of your experience I immediately contacted Ecolab, a top rated Global company in this field, and had your room and a nearby room inspected. I have sent you the report of their findings during their inspection, and while no evidence of bed bugs were found, we elected to have the rooms treated as a precaution. Please understand I do not disclaim you finding something in the room, our Hotel is surrounded by many different types of trees and plants it is very possible it may have simply blown in. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to experience our Lions Gate Hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michelle from Sacramento

Great Friendly Service Near the Convention Center

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the hotel for one night see if it was a good location for a future extended (five day) stay related to an event taking place at the McClellan Convention Center. Upon pre-booking a king suite, twenty days in advance of my stay, I requested: "Top floor if available. Facing away from major streets. Not near ice machine or elevator or stairs. Looking for a quiet safe place." When I arrive the woman at the front desk inquired about my specific request and what I was looking for in a room. She recommended a particular location and later allowed me to view other rooms to determine if that would be the best location for my future stay. She was polite, accommodating, and very helpful, as was all of the staff I interacted with at Lions Gate. McClellan appears to be an industrial neighborhood, but the hotel's immediate surroundings are pleasant. The room was clean and quiet. It was a restful overnight stay and I plan to return to Lions Gate for my future convention event.