Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OK

Convenient to where I needed to be

Posted Nov 20, 2014
I had clicked on hotels that accept pets and this one came up. When I arrived he informed me they do not, nor have they ever accepted pets.I was not happy with hi ow he handled it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cindyfrom Oconomowoc

Quick stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed was super, uncomfortable...
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy Jacobsonfrom Lake Forest Ca

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would not give slightly early check in with an empty hotel. Watched us sit in the parking lot for an hour. Got strange looks from the owners as if we were fugitive the entire stay. One morning we found a ton of ants crawling on the floor. I call the front desk and get the owner again and let him know. I was not angry, just calmly stated that we were even going to extend our stay for one more night but wanted to move rooms.He proceeds to start lecturing me about why there are ants in the room. Not a single apology, just blaming us. We are clean and did not have things laying around the room that would attract them as he suggested. We weren't going to let this jerk ruin our vacation so we pack everything up. Went to the desk and started getting set for a new room. He started lecturing me again as to what we need to do to keep ants out of our new room. I got angry and told him that his customer service skills were terrible. His words "I'm not going to apologize, it is not my fault". WHAT! At that point I told him to refund my credit card and we will take our business else where. He said "good, that's what I want". Mind you that this hotel maybe had five other rooms occupied. We stayed another four nights at the Hampton Inn a mile or so down the road. For an extra $50 a night we were happy to pay it for a real hotel with service and not a scary, dingy room that looked like it was out of a 70's horror movie.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

The staff makes this place worth staying at

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stay at this Super 8 often when visiting my family in the area. It's basic, mostly clean. There are maintenance and fit/finish issues that need to be addressed so it's not a particularly visually appealing place. However, the staff is GREAT. Super friendly, call you by name, and a great sense of humor. They take pride in their hotel and make it a place worth staying. If you want basic, this is a great place to stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ronfrom Donaghy

Not a good experience at all.

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
First sign of trouble was when we showed up at 3.00 pm and the room was not ready. Check in time per the hotel is 2.00 pm. We were tired from driving and had to wait till we finally got allowed in. The hallways had a bleach smell to them and it was strong. Once finally in the room the first thing i notice is the two cheap flat miniature pillows on the bed. Really ?? I look around the room and the recliner that was in the corner looked like it was picked up out of the junk and brought in the room. The TV was an old style small tube one and the remote wouldn't even change the channels.. The bed was very uncomfortable and we had to ask for a couple extra pillows that were as bad as the original two.. The wall air conditioner would barely function and was very loud. We were suppose to stay two nites but could only handle staying one nite. Of course we paid all up front for both nites and wasn't even offered a refund for the nite we didn't stay... Next time im in McHenry i will be staying at the Hampton.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Do not stay here!!!! Burned sheets dirty room stinks of smoke in non smoking rooms bathroom unclean found an old guests clothing behind bed. Vending machines do not work. Horrible experience and nothing near by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DRfrom McHenry, Illinois

I am happy with this Super 8

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I came here to visit someone so all I needed was a clean, safe, quiet, friendly place to stay at night. I am very satisfied with that on every front. The people working here are very welcoming and helpful. My room is the cleanest I have experienced in a hotel in a while - which includes the air (ie the room does not smell of freshener - it is just clean!) And my room faces out on green, away from the road, and I can even open my screened window to get the night air which I prefer to air conditioning (which is also available and works instantly). And when I travel, I also need wifi, which they have. I am a very happy customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place to sleep

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Place was ok,pretty clean and AC worked, needed a pen and paper and wasn't any in room and went to front desk and they didn't have any either. Didn't try breakfast, went to McDonalds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by ADfrom River Forest, IL

Was OK for overnight stay, but kind of stinky.

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and comfortable, but had a funky smell to it. Initially thought it was that smokers had been in the room previously, but the next morning realized the hallways had a similar 'funkiness.' Certainly worth the low price for the room and I got used to the smell enough that it didn't bother me too much--just could have done without the smell overall.