Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a very historic city

Posted Nov 6, 2013
We chose the Xara Palace as we wanted something classical and didn't want to stay in a large touristy hotel. It was everything we'd hoped it would be, set within the fortified walls of historic Mdina city, it was a perfect base from which to visit the island of Malta. Having a world class restaurant, it was naturally very expensive to dine there, but Mdina itself has many top class restaurants just a few minutes walk from the hotel and Rabat, just outside the walls has great places for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PS62 from Salford, UK

Special Getaway

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel in an unrivalled location. Staff very friendly and approachable. Ate in the De Mondion restaurant as a special treat - expensive but well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Top end hotel...

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
...but lacking a real wow factor. The lack of on site swimming pool was disappointing (they can arrange a 5 minute transfer to a sister property's pool). There was also a lack of atmosphere to the public areas due to few guests actually using the cocktail bar. On the plus side, the location can not be beaten, and you do get a sense of real history staying in this beautifully restored palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jane from Usa

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful placebeautifulmservice but to floor living w bedrooms upstairs and sometimes bathroom too steps winding
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Visitor from London from UK

Superb location

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Xara Palace in Mdina is in a superb location and is a beautiful building. We very much enjoyed our stay. However, this is not a five star hotel - that said the hotel room rates in many countries would likely be higher for five stars. There are several details of service, bathroom quality etc that were below par for an up market hotel, but most significant was the state of the air conditioning in the bedroom - unusable, it was clearly very old, and was so noisy and smelly in our bedroom that we had to turn it off (hot though it was) in order to get some sleep. At the hotel's Trattoria 1530 restaurant, for which I had seen mixed reviews, we had an excellent pasta lunch (cooked just right, al dente) in the charning square - very tasty yet large portions and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful sanctuary in a magical place.

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Staying in Mdina
Cons: Not having a view
Location: Step back in history
Very helpful, courteous staff. Most comfortable bed and lovely bed linen. We had a duplex room which had everything we needed, these rooms don't have a view which isn't a problem if you are out all day, as we were. More expensive rooms have a view across the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mb238 from Cambridge, UK

Unforgettable ambience, a memorable place to stay

Posted Feb 27, 2013
Wonderful setting in medieval town. Very comfortable, superb views over the city walls and countryside beyond, service impeccable - nothing too much trouble. First class dining room. Strongly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clare

Beautiful Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent. Hotel is perfectly located in the Mdina. Easy transport anywhere on the island. Evening times are very quiet in the Mdina and perfect for romantic stoll. Room smallish (we had cheapest option) but very comfortable bed. Service excellent, staff very helpful and friendly which is normal in my experience of Relais and Chateaux hotels. The downstairs restaurant was nice, we didn't try the other. Room service food very nice and not too expensive for this class of hotel. The only slight drawback might be if you are noise sensitive and like to sleep in. Our room overlooked the narrow street and with the echo of the high medieval walls any passing horses / cars can be heard quite clearly. Overall excellent, would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

its a great adult get away hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
the only disappointment was the Italian resturant which sits infront of the hotel was not good. the quality of the food was average and my pasta came to the table cold. service was not to the same standard as the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointed

Posted Mar 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel looks great, the staff are friendly, and the roof-top restaurant is excellent. Unfortunately the one night I spent there was the worst night of a one week trip to Malta. We found out when we arrived that the second restaurant (Trattoria) was closed for renovations. We also discovered that our room had a single window over looking the front of the hotel. Foolishly I had assumed that the rooms would overlook the countryside, due to it's location in the citadel walls. Consequently, the view from our window was not particularly breathtaking. However our location did put us directly above the courtyard and within 20 feet of the workmen in the Trattoria restaurant. We awoke at 7:00 am to the noise of power drills and hammers. Coincidentally, the hotel workers had been joined by some city workers who were doing maintenance work in the square which involved scraping shovels over the cobbles. I gave up trying to sleep around 7:45 and left my partner with several pillows over her head before going for an early morning walk. The Xara Palace staff apologized profusely when I mentioned the noise, but seemed intent on blaming the city council. While we were discussing the city council's lack of forewarning, the Trattoria workmen were happily hammering fittings into the facade behind me. This point seemed lost on the receptionist who suggested I spoke to a manager. I did not speak to a manager. I went for a walk. When I returned my partner had given up trying to sleep. We elected to check out and never return.