Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular Pilazzo in the ancient Mdina of Malta

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Overall excellent but a few hiccups to start with in Room 11 - it had obviously not been used for a while as it was damp with a musty smell + the electricity failed twice - this was very swiftly and efficiently dealt with so absolutely no complaints there but the air freshener did not beat the smell so we moved to room 7 for our remaining 2 nights though this incurred an extra cost of 100 Euros which I thought was a little steep considering. Excellent restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alainfrom ASPREMONT

Si tous les hôtrels pouvaient ressembler au XSARA.

Posted Dec 9, 2014 
Certainement l'un des rares meilleurs hôtels de Malte. Le service du personnel est exceptionnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

古くて美しいホテル

Posted Nov 19, 2014
城壁の中にある古くて美しいホテルでした。シーズンオフで空いていたので眺めのいい部屋にしてくれて、すごく贅沢な気分で過ごすことができました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom England West Yorkshire

Beautiful Hotel in a Wonderful setting in Mdina

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: We liked everything, the warm and friendly staff. The Hotel is perfection and elegant, an unforgettable holiday.
Cons: We were happy with everything.
Location: The heart of Mdina is a city of majestic palaces and beautiful cobbled squares set inside bastion walls. Mdina is steeped in history. Wonderful place.
The Xara Palace was a beautiful hotel, the staff were so helpful and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Mdina in our opinion was the best place to go for a quiet peaceful holiday. We visited for the Mdina Classic Car Grand Prix which was fantastic and after the day to return to such a peaceful hotel with luxurious decor was the icing on the cake. Felt quite sad when we left the hotel as we would have loved to stay longer. Mdina is a beautiful Silent City with some lovely restaurants and wine bars and even though it was a little busy during the day with 'tourists' it was still peaceful. A romantic place to go for couples if you like it quiet and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cherriefrom New York City

Lovely hotel typical of Relais & Chateaux

Posted Oct 11, 2014 
We reserved a duplex room, not realizing that the bedroom and bathroom were on different levels. They were accommodating, and put us in an upgraded room, but at a higher cost. The hotel is beautiful, and the surroundings in Mdina were spectacular. Dinner at De Mondion was good but not outstanding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ritafrom Oakland

Xara Palace pretty but not worth the price

Posted Oct 7, 2014 
Mdina is a beautiful place to stay. Very quiet so you have to take a bus or taxi into Valletta. Hotel was clean but smelled so bad of mold. we complained and they tried to do something but I don't know what. We had a room out on the deck of the restaurant so you had people eating their dinner and breakfast right outside your door. Don't think I would want that room again although the view was good. Service was great. Everyone was very professional and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nordmannfrom Ringerike

Formidabel atmosfære

Posted Sep 7, 2014 
Et meget godt hotell med svært god service. Hotellet er ikke nyoppusset og har noen mangler for å være blant de aller mest lukseriøse etter dagens standard, men atmosfæren i 1700-tallspalasset i middelalderbyen Mdina er helt eksepsjonell, og det er helt fantastisk å vandre rundt i og utenfor byen også etter mørkets frembrudd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location in the Silent City

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The location, quietness and stunning views over to Valetta (not all rooms will have this.)
Cons: Admit that they are a 4*, drop claims about their pool or be more open about its location and availability.
We had a week long stay at the Xara Palace. The Hotel benefits from a great location in Mdina, is quiet and in easy walking distance of a number of Restaurnats within Mdina itself. The Hotel is one of the best on the Island but is showing its age, is a little tired in places and not a 5* by modern measures. Still, it has a good Trattoria and even better Restaurant although a little expensive perhaps, especially for Breakfast. Rooms are traditionally furnished and comfortable but not exceptional, air con was very old and noisy, bathroom was good but aged in places. However the biggest issue is that it claims to have a pool, which it DOES NOT. The pool is at their conference centre over a mile away. You need taxis or transport to get there and it closes at 5:30 pm, is open to non residents and locals alike and even for party bookings. This is unacceptable in a claimed 5* Hotel, do not go there if you want quiet easy days and evenings by the Pool. Ultimatley we enjoyed our stay, the Xara palace is still a good Hotel but it isnt a 5*, doesn't have 5* facilities and is in need of upgrading to live up to its claims. It is fortunate to have such a great location and reputation on which it continues to trade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Beautifully restored building in Mdina

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: the stunning architecture, the location and the staff
Cons: If i had to make any negative comment it would be that the bathroom could do with updating
Location: it is in central mdina which is beautiful and you can easily walk around everything. there are several restaurants and bars.
Hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. We were offered a drink and snacks on arrival. We had a room with a jacuzzi terrace which was lovely and the views were across the whole island. We used the free shuttle service to the nearby Zara lodge to use the pool which was nice. We had the continental breakfast which was very good.