Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Good value

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Kitchen, pool and sauna(though I didn't use it this time), breakfast room, bathtub.
Cons: There is an oven/stove, but no pots or pans, and there is dish soap, but nothing to wash dishes with, such as a sponge. TV was old and small.
Location: South end of town, near restaurants and downtown.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and there was free internet. I was expecting a mini fridge and microwave but there was a full kitchen, a very nice surprise. Unfortunately there were no pots or pans to cook with. The room was large and looked and smelled clean. It it near to downtown Ashland. I thought it was a good room for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom g

Strange but True

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I'm conflicted about this rating because several aspects of the Cedarwood were good. The room was fine and the price reasonable. However, the objectionable aspect was uniquely weird, and I hope management sees this review. A carload of homeless people, two men, a woman and a baby, had taken up residence just outside our door. Feigning car trouble, with the hood of their old red Audi raised, they spent the night in and around their car, by our open bathroom window, talking, eating, smoking and peeing in the bushes.There was considerable litter around the area, including cigarette butts, sunflower seeds and paper, but I saw no tow truck or any effort to move the car. When we arrived, I thought they really were waiting for a tow. When we left for the evening, I started to worry that the car folks were watching for travelers to leave so they could loot their room, and when we came home from the Shakespeare festival, the office was closed, and next morning at checkout time, the office was locked with a "back in 5 minutes" sign on the door that. We waited ten minutes to talk to the manager, but needed to hit the road. There was nobody to complain to without involving police. If people are going to run a respectable motel in a tourist town filled with hospitality options, they have to peruse the property and get rid of squatters and interlopers. Management's lack of awareness, appropriate response, and their lack of accessibility made me wonder if they thought this was ok. It's not!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Nice hotel near theatres and restaurants

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Lovely rose garden. Nice staff, view of mts in rear, indoor and outdoor pools. Small, clean, compact. Good shower!
Cons: Fix faucet leak, give more water to plants by office. Fill gap between door & floor; ok in summer, cold breeze at night. Clean windows. Have tissues.
Location: Good location for center of Ashland and Shakespeare Theatres. Walkable in 30 minutes - a few minutes by car.
I stayed for five nights and grew to enjoy my "nest" - nice breakfast and diversity of people to chat with. Nicely designed room. Good location and views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Greatest Value in Ashland

Posted Oct 8, 2014
I stayed 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. The amenities are incredible for the rate and are better than most of the other places in town. In a city with ridiculously expensive rooms, it's a steal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, California

quiet place. it is away from the downtown area.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: location. quiet. price
Cons: could be modernized.
Location: a few miles aware from the Ashland Shakespeare festival.
We have stayed there four or five times over the last few years. It is generally less expensive than the other hotels in the area. We have found it work for us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too small. Bedspread looked as if hadn't been wash

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Too small. Bedspread hadn't been washed in quite a while. Room wasn't very clean. On par with a $50/night room, (i paid more). Drive on by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2014
It was decent. Priced right but not the cleanest of places. ....If you are going to have a kitchen with silverware in the drawer it should be clean and when a maid comes to make your bed if you are staying more than 1 night than just throwing the blankets on the bed is not making it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kay Kochfrom Saint Paul, OR

old chicken left in microwave

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we checked in we thought the room smelled bad so we purchased some air fresheners. On our second day we went to microwave some food and found some rotten chicken left in the microwave that smelled terrible once we opened up the microwave. We reported it to the office. When housekeeping came to take care of it they removed the chicken and then took two kleenex from the bathroom and wiped out the microwave and left. No cleaner nothing. The place just feels dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurafrom Santa Cruz

Inexpensive place to sleep for one night

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were driving from Portland to Santa Cruz and we needed a place to crash for the night. It was a few mins drive from the I-5, but it was quiet and the bed was comfortable enough. It was nothing fancy - very basic. No hair dryer in the room but there was an iron and ironing board. Also there were no mini-shampoos or soaps. Glad I had my own packed. We didn't use the pool or go to the free breakfast.