Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Team Jab from Sydney

Creative Hotel with ease of access to everything!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The quirkiness, the cleanliness and the vibe around the surrounding areas.
Location: We would recommend starting your day at Dukes Coffee Roasters, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Then spend your day walking up and down Chapel St
The Cullen is a very funky, creative and relaxing hotel. We stayed one of their Studio Suites which even had a kitchenette. The hotel is located minutes away from Chapel St and you're surrounded by awesome cafes, bars and friendly people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing from start to finish

Posted May 18, 2014
Our check in time was 2pm. However we did not get to our room until 4:30pm. We were given 2 drink cards to keep us happy in the bar while we waited. But because we waited for such a long time we then approached staff to see how long the wait would be. After we had to wait some more they offered has free parking within their car park & late check out. We were finally given our room keys but only to find that when we got to our room they were still cleaning it! This is very unnerving, were they just lazy or was the room trashed from a previous guest? God I hoped it was cleaned properly! We booked the Suite and I was horrified with the bathrooms. Just a bit of glass separating you from the room! Our view and balcony were also very dismal. We had a view of a new building being constructed & the balcony was so small it was uncomfortable to even be out there. Glad to have been given a late check out time we decided to order room service for breakfast but surprise surprise no menu. We then had hotel staff barging into our room to clean it as reception had notified them of our departure, even though we had not checked out as we were given a later check out time! Thankfully we were decent in towels and robes!! At checkout the clerk then informs me I need to pay for the parking that was already offered to me for free. Absolutely everything that could go wrong, did go wrong! It was a waste of our time and money! We will never stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Los Angeles

Awesome funky hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just had a quick one night stay in Melbourne for work and I must say of all the hotels I've stayed at in Melbourne over the last 6 years this was by far my favorite. I prefer boutique hotels with a more personal touch and that's exactly what this place is. The street art scene in Melbourne is so vividly represented in the styling and decor, which a very upscale feel. You are a few blocks from chapel street and all te best restaurants and shopping and if you're a gym fanatic like me, close to two fitness first locations. Will def be back again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by J

Great location, just a few quirks.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: It's a $60+ cab ride from MEL, but I think it's worth it for the location. Helpful desk services. Quality toiletries.
Cons: Better room condition checks between guests. Better lighting in bathroom, and a vacuum under the bed once in a while wouldn't hurt.
Location: Prahran Market, Chapel Street, and easy access to transit for St. Kilda or South Bank.
Hotel looks great, staff were polite and knowledgable, but in the day to day, there were little things that just weren't thought out. We were there for three days for events, so to notice little things in the short time we were actually in the hotel made them stand out even more. My friend and I had decided to take a girl's weekend to Melbourne since neither of us had ever been. I picked this hotel because of the location and the boutique element. But at the risk of sounding nitpicky, the double room didn't feel like it was ready for two single occupants, least of all two single females. Two bathrobes, one incomplete set of toiletries. Called for more, got a collection of toiletries, but not really what we needed and asked for (i.e. hair product, and an extra shower cap). One bulb was out, and one bad outlet. Housekeeping ran the dishwasher and there was a puddle of water in front of it when we got back. The kitchen cabinets are really high and was hard to reach for mugs and plates. (I'm 5"5, and my friend is 5"2.) The room had great light from outdoors, but it wasn't the best in the bathroom -- which is a problem if you're getting ready for a night out. Dirty underneath the beds. No hooks for robes inside the bathroom with glass walls (not for the shy). It really was just little things that chipped away from the experience. Nothing that would keep me from recommending it to others (on sale), but had me doubting my understanding of five-star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from San Francisco, CA

Excellent hotel and location

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Great room decor. Great hotel lobby decor. Friendly staff.
Cons: More privacy in the bathroom. Even when bathroom door is closed, someone could look inside if he/she wanted to.
Location: Great shopping, massages, restaurants.
We were amazed by how great the hotel looked. The hotel interior was stylish and chic and the hotel room had a feel like the W hotel. We also loved the neighborhood; close to shopping, restaurants, and other stores. We got a 2 queen room and there were also 2 light-blocking curtains in the middle of the room that allowed us to partition the room into 3 sections -- which was a nice touch. Nothing much to complain about. No deal breakers but 2 minor items: 1) I was there in March 2014 and a new building was being built next door. I couldn't hear the construction noise at all because my hotel room was at the far side, but it wasn't as nice to see construction. 2) When I had reserved the room, I didn't realize that the hotel room bathroom had clear and frosted glass with some gaps between the glass seams. While we wouldn't be able to see anyone inside the bathroom in detail, we would definitely be able to see a person's silhouette if in the main bathroom area. Shower area was completely frosted so even a silhouette was barely visible. However, if there is anyone on the toilet, there would be no 'sound' privacy -- so we found ourselves using the lobby bathroom on occasion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by NBW from Sydney

Food and checkout

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
My checkout was shambolic. I was asked the same questions repeatedly so she was clearly not listening. Also the bill was wrong and it took me considerable time to sort it. Staff on checkin were fantastic. Coffee and poached eggs were both awful. So the hotel needs to get some basics right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jodie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Cullen

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: The bed and pillows were fantastic.
Cons: Front desk service.
Not my idea of a 5 star hotel. Check-in was extremely inpersonal with no suggestion of taking our bags up or showing us the room. There was also an unusual odour throughout the hotel which was quite unpleasant. Our experience was far better at the Olsen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by emjay from Gold Coast

Awesome everything!

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the second time we stayed because our first stay was so great! Location, Rooms, Comfy beds, Easy tram ride to all the best Melbourne Suburbs!