Ratings based on 1,704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

backpacker dorm

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: A complete make over, and security and lights in the apart, there was none and completely unsafe for a lady or gent forth at matter.
Location: Everything, although avoid ok idol I sushi - garbage
Deplorable state of the room. The windows were old and dirty on the outside and inside. The carpet was filthy old. Torn and worn out. The walls were dirty stained and needed a complete painting over in white. The kitchen and bathroom was outdated and incomplete. There needed to be updated crockery and the curtains all needed throwing out and replaced with modern blinds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KUALA LUMPUR

VALUE FOR MONEY...

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: VALUE FOR MONEY
Cons: ELEVATOR
Location: LOTS OF RESTAURANTS AND CAFE, LUNA PARK, COLES SUPERMARKET, WOOLWORTH STORE
Pros - Microwave, big room, free WiFi, heater available, dining table, very friendly and helpful staff, complimentary St. Kilda map provided, location and LCD Cons - Tram noise is quite irritating at times, there was no lift in the block we stayed, no dustbin in room (small one in bathroom only)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Hayley Bliss, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving you feedback on your recent stay with us. Its lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us with the exception of the some external noise. Being in the heart of St Kilda and so close to the tram stop, unfortuantly some of our room types do receive traffic noise. We do have other room types available which are up higher and over look the back of the hotel, that do not receive the tram noise. I trust this was not too much of a hindrance throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards Hayley Bliss Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to st Kilda and tram.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
info from expedia about requiring 2 beds wasn't given to hotel but I had my booking confirmation. hotel changed room really quickly so pleased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Hayley Bliss, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving your comments on your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that the team were able to accommodate your request upon check in. We look forward to you visiting us soon. Warmest Regards Hayley Bliss Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We asked to move rooms after we checked into a dorm style room right next to the busy street, very noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Hayley Bliss, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear your reserved room was not to your liking. The Cosmopolitan Hotel offers a number of different room categories accommodating all types of travellers. As we are located in the heart of vibrant St Kilda, we do have a handful of room with a street facing outlook, we do however have many other room types available which face away from the street which allow for a peaceful nights rest. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back the Cosmopolitan Hotel again. Warm Regards Hayley Bliss Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton Victoria

Good all round

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Very clean, spacious, quiet, friendly staff, well furnished, great location, off-street car parking, everything good!
Cons: Everything was good.
Location: Very convenient location, plenty of things within a short walk.
I stayed in a deluxe room and it was at the rear of the building, so away from the main street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice 3Star Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: It is clean
It is by no stretch of imagination a 4star hotel - I would rate it a 3 star hotel. While it is clean and pleasant to stay in, the room is quite small and there's no room to put one's suitcase. It is also not that close to the CBD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by Hayley Bliss, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am disappointed too hear we were unable to provide you with a memorable stay. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel soon Warm Regards Hayley Bliss Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as its rating

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Its close to transportation and because St Kilda is a backpackers area, there are plenty of restaurants/cafes within walking distance.
The rating for this hotel threw me off a bit as the rating is better than the hotel deserves. Now don't get me wrong, its average and its not terrible by any means, it just doesn't deserve its high rating and is closer to a clean version of a hostel. Pretty much everything needs to be updated such as carpets, curtains, new paint...especially on ceilings as its peeling and a bit of mold. Also, the bathrooms in the double rooms are teeny tiny...and I'm a skinny girl that doesn't require a lot of space, both in body mass or counter space. I asked for an upgrade and the apartment I was upgraded to for $20 more, had more space but was in worse condition as it looked like a college kids dorm so I went back to the double. Needless to say, a renovation should be on the to do list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Great Stay!

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Free on site parking. Comfortable beds / room.
Cons: More prominent pricing of drinks in the fridge. My son used two bottles of water to make coffee / tea so ended up costing a bit extra!
Location: Stayed to get to US Embassy so didn't see much. Realised close to beach which would have been fun to go to!
Great stay! Just needed a place to sleep for a night and was very happy. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. TV didn't work in our room so were moved to another room which was great as well. Very clean. Beds were comfortable. Would stay here again if we were back in Melbourne. Not far from St Kilda beach which would have been great to walk to had we had more time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Will stay again

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly and very helpful staff.
Cons: foxtel
Location: Very nice hotel and the location is fantastic, with the trams, restaurants, shopping and city very handy.
Quick check in with a smile, free parking and a very nice room. The bed was comfortable and with the double glazing the noise of StKilda didnt disturb us at all. Also for a late check out all I had to do was tag the hotel on Instagram.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: gated car park facility, new and well maintained room, complete facilities provided.
Location: location was great, near to Tram Route 96, 3a, and 16 to CBD. lots of shopping, dining and entertainment just close by.
cosy and modern style hotel with great location within a beautiful suberb. car park facility is splendid and receptionist very helpful and friendly. enjoyed 3 comfortable and restful nights here!