Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayno

Nice Chinatown Location

Posted May 9, 2014
Easy walking to Chinatown and parliament house and train station, also close to city free tram service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and it's close to town

Posted May 8, 2014
Me and my friend are enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to shops

Posted May 7, 2014
Very good! A little noisy in the corridors, but it is a busy hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lumpy mattress motel.

Posted May 7, 2014
Room 505 mattress was like sleeping on a hill. The worst mattress I have slept on. No hot breakfast, contiental only. I do not see how this hotel got a 4 star rating. The best thing was the location and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roberta from FNQ

Nice hotel in walking distance of city centre

Posted May 2, 2014
Cons: New hair dryers
Location: It is right next to china town so there was no shortage of excellent restaurants to eat at.
Nice hotel friendly staff, great location, in walking distance of major shopping centre.
3 out of 5
by Monique from Melbourne

Hotel in the city

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The bed was big, the TV was a good size.
Cons: Be specific about the fact "free internet" means you can go and use an old computer out in the hall. The mini bar was limited and expensive.
Location: Good location in the CBD close to heaps of great restaurants in Chinatown and close to banks/convenience stores/cabs etc.
It wasn't a bad experience, but is really only a hotel to stay at if you need a bed for sleep and nothing else. The bathroom was disappointing and small, there was no room service, there was no wifi although I was promised "free internet" which apparently meant access to a computer in the lobby outside my room. City views actually translated to the view of a rooftop that had pervy builders on it that were staring straight into my window and pay TV translated to a couple of movie channels with regular free-to-air TV. Check-out took forever, I was not warned about a $100 dollar bond which took days to go back in to my account, and the air conditioner and light switches were impossible to figure out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jack from tasmania

a hotel of value

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: central location to inner city . plus walking distance to MCG and close to transport if needed
Cons: like it as it is
Location: close to china town .federation square. central shopping tram service yarra river ferry etc
We experienced a warm welcome by staff and the rooms were comfortable and very clean .A great location to experience Melbourne by day or night .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel, in Chinatown, great location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable beds, near to downtown and tourist attractions.
Cons: Just new elevators
Location: Walking distance to Eureka Tower, train station. Tram, train and bus tour services. Lots of shopping and easy access to main attractions.
Very clean, big room, reasonable car parking rates and free internet. The only con was they need new elevators. Two weeks in Australia and definitely the best hotel experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the top end of town where we wanted to be

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Position and cleanliness
Cons: Larger foyer
Location: Near restaurants and theatres
Very clean and comfortable and the lifts were fast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: The fridge of the mini bar is inside a cabinet, so the cabinet gets hot. I think it would be better if the doors were removed from the fridge cabine
Location: China town, and the down town.
As soon as I checked in they asked if I wanted to pay for my whole stay plus a $100 Australian deposit for the mini bar in case I was to leave without paying. This I thought was a bit over the top. They then subtract whatever is consumed from it and return the balance upon departure. The room are not particularly well insulated noise wise as I could hear conversations from adjoining rooms late into the night. It is conveniently located on the edge of Melbourne's China Town