Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tasmania

Heavenly beds!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Stayed 4th aug 2014 arrived late 1pm from Perth staff were so welcoming and cheerful! Even at that late hour loved the old time opulence felt transported back in time walking down the grand corridor too our room, our room was quiet, clean and the bed had a feather mattress topper which was heavenly! So cosy fell asleep immediately. Our lift room was spacious and modern, great location, loved it will definately recommend this old time belle!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great location but rooms are old and feels like an old hospital when walking the corridors. Shower was like in a nursing home with curtain on rod with wheelchair access No heating in bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hotel was close to Southbank, South Wharf

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Hotel room was quite spacious we had a Studio Room. Although it is an old hotel rooms were well renovated. Did hear the trains but had a lovely view of part of the city of Melbourne. Staff were very helpful and friendly and close the the area of Melbourne we wanted to be.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

fine hotel generally convenient

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: location slightly
Location: free tram to good things
excellent dignified building polite non pushy staff very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank-you Greg for the great feedback. Were we only meant to get 1 star? Glad you enjoyed your stay though. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Jane Moroney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geelong,Victoria

love this hotel so close to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: convenient and close to station
Location: location is great and all walking distance to all the shops or just jump on a tram its so easy
love how close to crown, DFO and Harbour Town. My daughter loves the pool. House keeping and staff and so pleasant it just makes it great to stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank-you for the lovely review Alicia. I am so glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed our service and facilities so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, Jane Moroney General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Great stay at hotel, affordable rates, easy location to remember
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much for this great review. I am very glad to hear that you received value for money and that the location suited your needs whilst in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best Regards, Jane Moroney General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rooster from cranbourne vic

Our midweek city get away

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: location cant fault
Cons: over all revamp , brighten up , splash of colour
Location: located within walking distance to city centre , casino , edihad staidum,docklands
Always wanted to stay here at the hotel , looks grand from the outside , but alas that was it, as on the inside leaking taps ,at night drip drip drip , sometimes toilet would nt stop flushing, light blown in bathroom rather dark ,great location , but dollar $$$$$ wise not value for money i have stayed in less star **** or self appointed hotels and i have paid a third of the price ,over priced over rated , sorry grand hotel you dissappointed us !!!!.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Dear Rooster B, Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that the location suited your needs but I am sorry to hear that you encountered some maintenance issues in your room. We do have maintenance here every day so I am sure that these shortfalls have now been rectified. Thankyou for bringing them to our attention. Thanks again for the feedback and the opportunity to improve our product. Kind Regards, Jane Moroney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel and location. wish wifi was free. Proximity to convention center and train station was excellent. Hotel staff was very friendly. WOuld definitely recommend to others
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your great review! I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay and the location suited your needs so well. Kind Regards, Jane Moroney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by B.G from Melbourne

all the comfort you need

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was just as it had said in the information bar and in the photographs of the room. A relaxing and spacious but cosy in the right ways.The rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a delight!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Dear B.G. Thnak-you for this fantastic review. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and you were able to enjoy our facilities and services - especially breakfast. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Jane Moroney General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Grand Hotel - this is much appreciated. Kind Regards, Jane Moroney General Manager