Ratings based on 1,024 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient to CBD

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Nice hotel, convenient to Southern Cross station, and Collin/Bourke trams. Nice restaurant and bar, although plenty of options within walking distance. Only complaint is excessive cost of hotel parking - when you're paying over $250 for a bed and shower, $45 per night is insulting. Still service was excellent, room was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Easy location close to Skybus and Etihad

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, value for money.
Cons: Perhaps a general update, particularly of the bathrooms but that's only being super picky 😉
Location: Easy walk to Crown, Southbank DFO/bars/restaurants, Southern Cross Station, Etihad Stadium. Tram stop out front - free trams in CBD.
Our hotel of choice in Melbourne. Close to Skybus (Southern Cross Station) so we jump off the bus and walk to the hotel - no need to waste time in the hotel transfer bus. Close to Etihad for football and easy walk to Crown and Southbank DFO. With CBD free trams throughout Melbourne now, getting into the centre of Melbourne is easy from this hotel too (straight down Collins, Bourke or Flinders Streets). The hotel is not fancy but it has well priced, good sized rooms and the staff are polite, helpful and friendly. Our family like the twin double rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good. Not worth for the money

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: staff ok
Cons: Carpet, Food
Location: good
Not well maintained. Not worth for money. Dinner not worth for money paid. Breakfast also not good when compared with other hotels same rate
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to Crown Casino and Southern Cross Station

Posted May 4, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location was great. Could walk to everywhere that we wanted to go.
Cons: The rooms are a little old and could do with some refurbishing. But still comfortable and clean. Good Value.
Location: Walking distance to Crown, Southbank & Southern Cross Station. Great location.
Had trouble checking in due to error with wotif. Hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Average

Posted May 3, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Good customer service
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms need a facelift
Location: Good location - close to all amenities
I am a loyal IHG customer, who regularly stays at Crown Plaza and Holiday Inn hotels. I felt that this hotel was a little on the average side, when compared to other group hotels I have stayed at.. The rooms look like they need a bit of a refresh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location. But Hotel Not What Expected.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Breakfast and the staff
Cons: A modern update to the bathroom and a bigger tv.
Location: The Aquarium which our on loves and easy access to South Wharf shopping and also the crown complex.
We were a little dissapointed with the size of the room and general older look of the bathroom. This looked much bigger in the photos. And also we booked the room for 2 adults and one child. But still had to ask the staff for a bed for our son as there was not one in our room. Also we were advised that because we booked through Wotif that breakfast was not included in the deal although we checked in on a Saturday. Parking was a bit steep at $40 for the night. Staff were great and friendly and the breakfast which we ended up paying for was good with a wide selection of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Denis from GEELONG

GREAT PLACE

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
CONVENIENT LOCATION AND COULD NOT ASK FOR BETTER
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Allan Gavin from Central Coast NSW

Great Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
a great stay in a great location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adelaide

Great location for footy trips

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Location, close to Etihad Stadium, Crown and tram stops, quiet and comfortable, good value.
Cons: Perhaps the bathroom is looking a bit tired and soap container and grout falling off but this wouldn't stop us staying at this hotel.
We visited for a weekend footy trip with our 6yr old son in a twin room (2x double beds). This hotel was the only hotel We could get for our budget as others we preferred were booked out due to major events in Melbourne. We were pleasantly surprised and more than happy with the location, facilities and service. The hotel is a short walk to Etihad and Crown and the tram stops out front. As all trams in the Melbourne CBD are now free to hop on and hop off, we could jump on any tram and be in Bourke St Mall, at Fed Square or at DFO or Harbortown in no time at all. We could easily and safely walk to Crown for dinner and there are various cafes close by for a cheap, quick brekkie. Whilst for longer stays we like an apartment, we will definitely stay again for weekend footy or short trips and have already recommended the hotel to others. Note that the shower is in the bath so may not be suitable for all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful hotel, bed needs repair

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The staff, the service, the facilities and the location
Cons: Replace the bed in room 411.
Location: Right near the city, shopping, Southern Cross station, the Casino and the Convention centre.
The staff, the hotel, the facilities, the location were all amazing and I would have given this hotel top marks if I had of actually been able to get some sleep. I stayed in room 411 and the bed was terrible. It's like someone had been jumping on it and broke it. I have stayed at Holiday Inns before and the beds have always been good which makes me think that it is just this particular room in the hotel that has a broken bed. I would not stay here again though as I can't be sure if it was just the 1 room that had the dodgy bed or if all the rooms have broken beds and I could not risk having another bad nights sleep. I literally only got 2 hours of sleep and I had a very sore back the next day. I was so uncomfortable I was tempted to move the bedding to the floor and sleep there. To the staff at Holiday Inn, please replace the bed in room 411.