Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
We bought the renovation special and felt that we got a really good offer . We did not hear any noises from the Reno during our stay . We will definitely choose this hotel again in future !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Central location and very helpful staff
Cons: Very slow lifts .
Location: Very close to markets and handy to trams and city central.
Reason for low facilities rating reception area was gutted for major over hall .Will look forward to seeing it when it is completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Convient location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Apart from the renovation, the hotel itself and the room is very neat.
Cons: Lighting could be a bit brighter in the bathroom
Location: Close to tram stop, Queen Victoria Market, Melbourne Central, probably a good walking distance to the CBD itself (if you are fit).
The hotel staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel is very good - right next to the Queen Victoria Market, very close to the tram station. One tram stop to Melbourne Central or a 5 min walk. To my surprise, it's very quiet even it's right next to the tram line. The down side is, there are lots of contructions around at the moment. Plus the hotel is undergoing renovation, so it's a bit noisy early in the morning. It is a good hotel which I would probably go back to when the renovations are completed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Handy

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: It was very close to the shopping
Cons: We had to park 3 blocks from the hotel and wheel our suitcases in for check in due to lack of parking
Location: Shopping, shopping, shopping
Jasper Hotel is very close to the main shopping area of Elizabeth Street (only 3 blocks from Melbourne Central). The hotel was undergoing renovations, so the foyer was not as welcoming as it could be, only one lift was available also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melb, VIC

Great modern hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Satisfied with hotel, no complaints. Very modern and central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in excellent location!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good quality simple rooms with good facilities.
Cons: Sli Bigger TV in room would be nice.
Location: Great location ! Near Vic markets / Breakfast cafes / City centre
Undergoing reno - but rooms are good - bathrooms modern and clean - new range of bathroom products excellent. Easily recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovation Effects

Posted Aug 21, 2014
I have only rated the Jasper a little lower than I usually would because of the reno. I had a short stay so was not so much any noise just inconvenience that the restaurant was not available. The location is ideal for a quick overnight stay and price is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very Central, Next Door to Queen Victoria Market

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The showers are amazing, great pressure!
Cons: Maybe triple glazing on Elisabeth St side, as can be quite noisy. The beds sound like they are going to fall apart when you roll over.
Location: We liked that it was close to everything..mcDonalds, Subway, 7Eleven, Boost etc all on the same block. Tram stop within a 2 minute walk. Market right
Very friendly and helpful staff, they really made our stay! our room was clean and tidy and has all facilities. Hotel is Central and is only a short walk away to everything. Hotel is currently being upgraded, would love to come back next year and see the end results :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria country

A very disappointing experisance

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Quite near the Victoria Markey and public tansport was availalbr.
The room was OK but there was no room service as requested and as it appeared on the booking. sheet. Cetrtianly no breakfast at $17 or any other price. I did realise this hotel was being renovated but did not expect to be woken at 7 am by a massive drilling which felt like it was coming through the wall. Good of them to offer an 11 am check out but noone could have stayed beyond 7.30.am with all the noise. The shower cublicle was so small that I couldn't shut the door which was very unsatisfactory. So I found ,myself at McDonalds next door much earlier than I anticipated and then had to find somewhere to wait before meeting up with my firends at 10.30am. I go to town from the contry once or twice a year and look forward to it as a special treat. Being and aged pensioner money is tight I and was very disa pponted with my stay at the Jasper. Anotherproblem wasthe TV which had few chaneels(not the one I watch) and all the peoplehad orange faces. I really feel I am due some compensation for my night of horrors..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

over priced for what we got

Posted Aug 5, 2014
firstly, renovations were being done which was extremely loud, even on the sixth floor. it wasn't relaxing trying to sleep, shower or watch tv with all of the drilling and banging. the elevator was extremely slow, the only tv channel worth watching had a dodgy connection and it generally was unpleasant. I would have been better off staying in a back packers hotel. if I'm paying $130 for one night I think I would deserve a bit more than what we got.