Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very Central, Next Door to Queen Victoria Market

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The showers are amazing, great pressure!
Cons: Maybe triple glazing on Elisabeth St side, as can be quite noisy. The beds sound like they are going to fall apart when you roll over.
Location: We liked that it was close to everything..mcDonalds, Subway, 7Eleven, Boost etc all on the same block. Tram stop within a 2 minute walk. Market right
Very friendly and helpful staff, they really made our stay! our room was clean and tidy and has all facilities. Hotel is Central and is only a short walk away to everything. Hotel is currently being upgraded, would love to come back next year and see the end results :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria country

A very disappointing experisance

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Quite near the Victoria Markey and public tansport was availalbr.
The room was OK but there was no room service as requested and as it appeared on the booking. sheet. Cetrtianly no breakfast at $17 or any other price. I did realise this hotel was being renovated but did not expect to be woken at 7 am by a massive drilling which felt like it was coming through the wall. Good of them to offer an 11 am check out but noone could have stayed beyond 7.30.am with all the noise. The shower cublicle was so small that I couldn't shut the door which was very unsatisfactory. So I found ,myself at McDonalds next door much earlier than I anticipated and then had to find somewhere to wait before meeting up with my firends at 10.30am. I go to town from the contry once or twice a year and look forward to it as a special treat. Being and aged pensioner money is tight I and was very disa pponted with my stay at the Jasper. Anotherproblem wasthe TV which had few chaneels(not the one I watch) and all the peoplehad orange faces. I really feel I am due some compensation for my night of horrors..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

over priced for what we got

Posted Aug 5, 2014
firstly, renovations were being done which was extremely loud, even on the sixth floor. it wasn't relaxing trying to sleep, shower or watch tv with all of the drilling and banging. the elevator was extremely slow, the only tv channel worth watching had a dodgy connection and it generally was unpleasant. I would have been better off staying in a back packers hotel. if I'm paying $130 for one night I think I would deserve a bit more than what we got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

If only we knew

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We were not informed about the MAJOR renovations going on and it was very noisy, very dusty and a bit of a shambles. They said they tried to contact us but they must have the wrong ph. Number. Turns out they had the correct one but obviously don't know how to make overseas calls. I suggested they could've emailed us
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel okay . Close to shops and market.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel is close to the city and Victoria market which is very convenient It is close to restaurant and just next door to McDonald for breakfast.
Cons: The lightning in the bathroom . TV and air conditioning should have instruction on how to use.
Location: Restaurant . Shops in the City, Victoria market , Mc Donald. Convenience store. public transport.
We had difficulty finding the entrance of the hotel. We we're disappointed coz we weren't informed that the hotel was under renovation. We had problem trying to work out to operate the air condition. The light in the bathroom was not bright enough. The shower flooded and needed to stop for a while so the water doesn't overflow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Great location ,next to markets and close to transport and walking distance to all the sights of Melbourne .We knew when we booked that they were undergoing a refurb ,the staff were coping very well in muddle that was the reception .It will be great when finished. The rooms were old but comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, no frills, pleasant staff, convenient

Posted Jul 29, 2014
No frills, comfortable and convenient budget conscience place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Building Site - Stay Clear!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: There's a 24 hr McDonald's next door which is handy if you can't sleep because of the noise on Elizabeth Street
Cons: Communication with their agents who market their hotel - like Expedia - and making sure that the communication to potential clients is blatantly clear
Location: Victoria Markets
I booked and prepaid in April 2014 for a July 2014 stay of 5 days. Expedia neglected to make very clear that the Jasper Hotel at that time would be having extensive renovations done - ie. 1 working (slow) lift; entrance via a makeshift corridor with ply walkway and men working from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday. An angle grinder cutting through a concrete floor was the welcome music outside my room on arrival. I requested a room on the other side of the hotel - facing Elizabeth Street - which the Manager on Duty did warn had traffic noise. He was certainly right about that - but neglected to mention that another building site was opposite and work on that began at 6am - jack hammers and all. So if you're planning getting up before 6am and will be staying out of the hotel all day, you might consider this hotel. However, if you're like most people staying in hotels - and wanting some sort of relaxing experience with good sleep being part of that - stay clear.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Maybe when the renovations are complete

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room, which I assume had already been renovated was quite nice.
Cons: Since they are renovating it is hard to comment. The internet was terrible, and the TV was not really up to standard compared to other similar hotels.
Location: It is very close to the Victoria Street Markets and a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute tram ride to the city.
At the moment the hotel is undertaking major renovations. It is very noisy and dusty during the day. When it is complete I'm sure it will be very nice. The room itself was nice and functional, but the internet was terrible which was frustrating since internet becomes essential when one is away from home. It seems to be a small hotel and there was a lot of noise from the road and street although it was a Saturday night. The discounted prices make up for the inconvenience I suppose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch New Zealand

Handy hotel near cafes and Victoria market

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It's smaller size and friendly staff.
Cons: Hard to say as the facilities were less than normal.
Location: Locale is very close to Victoria markets, several good cafes, tram stop into central city, and car rental companies.
We were longer staying visitors (8 days) so we experienced quite a bit of disruption from renovations being carried out on the hotel. Whilst it was a nuisance with unreliable lifts, having to move rooms because of no hot water, no laundry facilities and concrete cutting going on for much of the day, the staff were very friendly and accommodated our needs as things arose. Top marks for coping skills!