Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad facilities.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Location: Good location near all the main attraction in Melbourne.
This hotel has a very good location, but the rooms are old and non renovated. The housekeeping was unacceptable, and the daily service was limited just to the beds and very little in the bathroom and kitchen. The condition of the carpet was terrible. The Gym and locker room have an open shower in the same space of the toilet that was terrible unclean. We will never go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Close to central Melbourne

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Location: Shopping, Restaurants, Theatre
Very nice surroundings. Comfortable apartment. Pool and Gym
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vernon bc canada

good location in Melbourne

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: ll the comforts plus in house laundry
Location: easy to walk to the trams and the shopping nice and convenient to seven eleven where you could load up your metro card easy access to grocery
we enjoyed our experience with the mantra n Melbourne that we continued to use this hotel chain in Brisbane and Sydney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney NSW

Great hotel in a very convenient location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: best location, cleanliness of hotel, pleasant reception staff, good buffet breakfast and certainly 4stars and above
Cons: swinging glass shower door quite annoying
Location: Chinatown, CBD shopping and close to free tram stop
it was the perfect place to stay for weekend shopping in Melbourne. Would definitely book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Great location, spacious room, helpful staff.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Our room was beautifully clean, with a comfortable bed and living room furniture. We had a rear room so no view but still had access to a balcony for some fresh air, the plus was no road noise at night. Hotel is centrally located and we walked everywhere. Reception staff were very helpful. Will come back and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfection!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Location: Fantastic location - so close to all you would need at QV centre
Could not fault the friendly staff, delicious buffet breakfasts etc. The beds are SO comfortable, beautiful pool, everything clean & organised. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Very roomy

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms
Cons: Don't charge for a specialist coffee with breakfast.
We had a lovely 2 night stay here. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Location was good, close to Chinatown, Her Majesty's Theatre, the State Library and many other attractions. Handy to the shopping areas also. Breakfast included in our deal was a bonus, only one thing I would complain about was if you wanted a "specialist" coffee, such as a cappuccino, you had to pay extra for it. Thought that was a little strange. Opted to go to a choice of many other great coffee places in the CBD. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Heart of Melbourne CBD and Chinatown.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Centrality. In the heart of Melbourne CBD - transport and shops within easy reach. The ambiance of Hotel in general. Good-sized room - space aplenty.
Cons: Bathroom handrails (loose/not level) and tapware not up to scratch with rest of Hotel's amenities. No exhaust fan in bathroom - very basic.
Location: Melbourne CBD location, in heart of Chinatown. Transport, dining, and attractions within easy reach. Easy walk to Bourke St. Mall shopping precinct.
Overall, had enjoyable stay in Hotel I selected specifically for easy access to all forms of transport and amenities on offer in Melbourne. Centrally located, in quiet CBD area, within easy walking distance to shopping, and dining. Exactly what the doctor ordered, without being fancy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch, New Zealand

Excellent position and great facilities.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Its location, facilities, service and value for money.
Cons: It is most probably due for a wee bit of refurbishment as some items in the room were showing wear.
Location: Fantastic location so close to everything, so easy to get to everything.
Our stay at the Mantra on Russell was excellent from the time we arrived at the front desk until we left. It is so central to everything in the Melbourne CBD and so easy to travel out of the area. We were greeted by an awesome friendly guy who was so helpful and obliging, as were there way before check in time, he checked to see if a similar room we booked was available, it was and he proceeded to check us in, awesome. After our early arrival flight time this was so much appreciated. The overall friendliness and helpfulness was un approachable, even to asking where we could find a general type shopping mall. No problems, the young lady recommended a great mall, gave great directions how to get there on the tram, top service. They had a great display of what to do while in Melbourne and can assist in booking trips etc. The room itself ( a one bedroom plus cooking facilities) was awesome with great facilities, spacious, tidy, clean, quite and well equipped. This made for a very relaxing time spent in the room. A great service they do offer is an extended checkout time, at a small charge, considering we weren't flying to early evening we took up the offer. Considering they were fully booked that night with it being Melbourne Cup time they allowed us to extend for a shorter time than normal which suited us fine. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending The Mantra on Russell to any traveller due to its location, facilities and the cost, thank you Mantra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Albury/Wodonga

Right in the heart of the city

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: All the amenities, such as the gym and pool.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet, could not hear your neighbours.