Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mantra on the Park, Exhibition St, Melbourne

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Location. Balconies (that were big enough to use!). Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Perhaps more attention could be paid to finer details re cleaning --but this comment comes from a clean freak and the rooms were in no way dirty.
Location: Central location. Lygon St (famous for its restaurants). Theatre. Graffiti art.
The Mantra was central to everything we needed and everywhere we wanted to see (Lygon St, Comedy Theatre, restaurants, cafes etc). We needed an early check in and they were only too pleased to facilitate that. They also upgraded our rooms. Based on my experience, I would highly recommend the Mantra to anyone travelling to Melbourne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J&J from New Zealand

Nice hotel.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Handy to everything.
Cons: The bathrooms could be up dated.
Location: The Thai Delicious just outside the hotel had fabulous food and reasonably priced.
Nice views over the park, the room we stayed in was north facing and had a lovely deck. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed for our 5 night stay. It was walking distance to the CBD and the free tram was very close to the hotel. The pool and sauna was excellent with a nice relaxing sun lounging area. Would stay at Mantra on the park again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Sydney

Melbourne with grandkids

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were great.
Cons: Only internet access was the problem too dear like too many Australian Hotels. Also a DVD in your room would be a good idea.
Location: Free Tram close, Victoria Markets, Lygon Street for eating. Cinemas within 2 blocks, care hire places close. Rock Climbing was close Melbourne Museum.
This was the best hotel I have stayed at in Melbourne. Most of the others were in the Bourke and Collins St area, without much of view. We overlooked the Carlton Gardens, on 2 mornings hot air balloons drifted across the city. We were only 2 blocks from Melbourne Central, with its cinemas, and eateries. Lygon street is only a block away. Victoria Markets were easily accessible by foot. The free tram goes pass the hotel if you want to use it and it takes you most of the tourist things like the Auarium, Docklands, Fderation Square etc.. The staff were very polite, professional and honesty friendly, much better than the professional distance a lot of hotel staff keep. They generally said good day whenever we returned from our outings. They were always helpful and had good local knowledge. We had to move room in the middle of night due to a disturbance next door. They found room helped us move. Then the next day while we were out put us back into a garden view room and moved all our luggage for us, even collecting one of the grandkids toothbrushes left in the bathroom. This hotel would suit most travellers due to its central location. Also I used the attached restaurant and the staff there were also very polite and friendly, consider I had 2 young children with us, nothing was a problem and we had a full evening meal, the children were catered for and ate the their meals. M wife and I had excellent meals for a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Sydney

Great location but hotel in need of work

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Cons: In need of maintenace and updating.
Our family (two adults and two teenagers) just spent a long weekend at Mantra on the Park. The location was great, within easy reach of the CBD, MCG and various other points of interest we visited. Whilst we loved the location and our apartment was confortable, the Mantra is in need of an update. The apartment was not particularly well maintained with several of the lights not working (ceiling, bathroom and lamps). Also a problem with the basin in the ensuite not draining and the lifts were unbelievably slow. Apart from the location, the other pluses were that the staff were all very pleasant to deal with and the city circle tram stop across the road was very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Perfect for Families

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Located 100 metres from free tram, 2 bed apartment well equipped. Floor 6 perfect for pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by happy cath from SA Australia

Great ..no complaints..would stay there again

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Very happy would recommend to others..nice..clean..and friendly staff..thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Glenn from Cook Islands

convenient to Melbourne CBD

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Bigger than expected asked for 2 beds - got a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, laundry, full kitchen and sitting room - with views out over park.
Cons: Slightly dated - due for a renovation in the next few years.
Location: great location - walking distance to shops, restaurants, theatres, museums and public transport. Easy to find and easy to get out of town by car.
Family reunion in Melbourne - met up with my two adult children. Had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Top location at reasonable rates

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Reception staff
Cons: Refurb bathrooms, reception area and free wi if in rooms please
Location: Close to Chinatown. Outstanding restaurantsTrunk cafe on Exhibition St - breakfast Lupino on Little Collins St. - Italian. Crystal Jade -Chinese
Reception staff were fabulous and rooms were up to date. Cleaning staff were poor and bathroom tiles were covered with mould. Room service food was just about average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lillian from Sydney

Lovely hotel & centralise

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Everything Rooms, location & excellent service.
Location: Chinatown, DFO, Crown casino & main shopping on collins
we usually stay at the Hilton when we come to Melbourne but this time my mum booked The Mantra on the Park for my sister as a christmas present I but I could not make it due to work schedule but my sister and my mum went and stay for 3 nights, they are very happy with the hotel, right in the city centre, close to China town, DFO & Crown Casino. we will definitely come back to this hotel in the future, Staff very attentive & helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in city near Her Majesty Theatre

Posted Feb 17, 2014
very disappointed due to no consideration given for 1 nights accommodation lost due to cancelled flights(weather grounded flights out of Port Lincoln on Friday 14th Feb). We were staying for a further 2 nights and would have appreciated some kind of credit ie. free breakfasts or such for the $209 paid for the lost night.