Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff very accommodating

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Excellent......great view....staff only to willing to help!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Pre flight

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of staff on checkin
Had stayed previously at the hotel and it was easier to stay there with an early flight next morning and easy access to terminal. Facilities and staff very good .Restaurant food was good but thought prices a little high for what you got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and modern
Cons: Woollen blankets and sheets rather than continental quilts which are often to hot to sleep under.
Location: location met our needs as we are seniors and it meant that we could farewell our departing family leaving at 2am in the morning for overseas.
The location met our needs as we are seniors and it meant that we could farewell our departing family leaving at 2am in the morning for overseas. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the experience of gourmet food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Disappointed

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service was the main thing. Sound proofing the rooms so you didn' t hear plans from 4.30 in the morning.
Location: Airport
We stayed at the Park Royal at the airport because we live in the country and were picking family members up from the airport early in the morning. This hotel was disappointing. When we walked in a shelf had fallen off the wall and smashed. We instantly spoke to a staff member who just stuck it back up there. We tried to use the television service to see if the plane we were meeting was on time. Even though it was August, the screen was still stuck on April for international arrivals and when we asked (at 4am) if the reception could help us, the man we spoke to told us to go to the business centre and do it ourselves. The bed was not that comfortable and we had a window facing the airport and unfortunately was definitely not at all sound proof. We had stayed in a similar hotel in Hong Kong and Vancouver and had great experiences, but this hotel is overrated. Good in theory but not so good in reality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed too soft

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The bed was too soft and thought I was going to have to find a chiropractor on my travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hobart

On the way to Bali a nice stopover

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: So close to the airport
The hotel is well appointed and the staff very professional - no complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful Night's Stay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Accommodating customer service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just a night's sleep before my flight
Really enjoyed my stay at the Parkroyal with my partner and baby girl. Great night's sleep before long haul flight to the USA and great breakfast early before the flight , thanks to how accommodating the staff were. On that front, my partner was allowed to check out later in the morning after I had left for my flight. Thanks for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, Australia

Great transit hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the terminal - just an 8-10 minute walk from the luggage carousels via a covered walkway. Friendly and helpful reception staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Proximity to the terminals - perfect for a layover.
I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone transiting through Melbourne. The standard of the hotel is very, very good - my room was spacious and I had an excellent view of planes landing. The noise of jet engines wasn't disturbing and my room was quieter than many city hotels I've stayed in. My meal in the restaurant was good value and perfectly cooked and presented.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Overpriced airport hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We paid for the convenience but although arriving close to midnight found ourselves in a long queue for the checking desk. When we got to the desk it was confirmed that we had prepaid the room but none had been allocated so we would need to take a seat whilst it was sorted. We realised that everyone in the queue had been told the same. The good news was that the breakfast ($35 per person) was included but the bad news was it was not served in time for our early morning flight. Would have been nice to have a refund. All in all the $50 an hour for this room was not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient if you have an early flight

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It's proximity to the airport
Location: There's nothing to do nearby - the hotel is at the airport
Generally the experience was good but I wasn't impressed with the restaurant.