Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Madge from Adelaide, SA

Weekend at Gordon Place

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The Heritage 'feel' - very Victorian era.
Cons: Larger bedroom.
Location: Very close to China Town - excellent eating. Within CBD, so trams etc very easy. Marvellous Melbourne and I was in the middle of it.
I was given a delightful apartment - every convenience one could wish for. I did not arrive until 7pm, so was hungry and looking for a drink - there were three really good choices in Little Bourke St opposite the apartment. I tried Mezzo - which was sublime - recommend it. My entire stay was extremely pleasant. Staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Daryl from Adelaide

Convenient location, noisy nights

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed staying here until we needed to sleep on Friday night in which the dull roar from surrounding pubs was very irritating and made it almost impossible to sleep. It was however a nice hotel with a really good "feeling" to it. The café kind of atmosphere below combined with the very solid building made it a great stay. Gym was convenient if lacking a bench (a staple in my training).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by denise from melbourne

Our stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Great location Nice peristyle garden
Cons: Fix the oven please or/leave instructions. Parking expensive.
Location: Perfect. Walking distance to all amenities and attractions
Oven broken so disappointing. Otherwise it was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from New Zealand.

Inner city Charm!

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: The rooms, the pool, the café and the history!
Cons: Better lighting. Some of the ceiling bulbs were dead in the living room and the bedside light was too dim to read by. Provide a reading lamp!
Location: Theatres, parks, shops and Chinatown. Everything is very handy!
What a great place to stay. Great location. Handy to the city and just around the corner from Parliament, the Princess Theatre and right next to all the restaurants in Chinatown! My extended family all booked rooms here recently, in order to attend an inner city family wedding and it was perfect. The apartments with their separate living rooms, provided perfect family meeting places and the pool was like a little resort oasis, just what was needed after a hot day at the shops!. The staff were courteous and helpful and I liked the charming character of the building itself. Lovely little café for breakfast too. We really enjoyed the pancakes with lemon curd! Next time I go to Melbourne, I will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jb from cornwall uk

well equipped rooms

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
loved the old building,close to free city tram,good reception staff.
1 out of 5
by Sarah from Melbourne

Filthy Showers

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: Clean it!!!
Location: China Town! Very central.
No window in our tiny room. Had to close the shutters to the atrium area as anyone can see into the room from the outside. The shower was putrid. Dirt stains all over the shower base. Dirt/mould/grime buildup in shower over the tiles. On site cafe not open for anything to eat and drink until 8am on a weekend. Bed was old and rickety and like that you would find in a cheap run down old hotel My home bathroom would never be that filthy! I resent paying good money for a room that is inferior to what I live in at home. Get someone in there to scrub! . Not worth the money. I have posted a further review with photos on Trip Advisor. They take $100 bond from your credit card then tell you to expect it back in about 5-10 days. Unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pauline Lawless from Ballarat

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was in romm 70 on the ground floor, and the lights from the inner court yard shone through the venetian blinds, which made it difficult to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good spot with a pool, but pokey & noisy

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: llocation, pool, shower head, heritage building, friendly staff, the freshmess of the bed linen
Cons: the small room size, the hard bed, the lack of natural light, the noisy pool equipment, the dankness and smell of chlorine
Location: there is a wide variety of restaurants, bars, and cafes close-by. It is well serviced by trains, trams, and taxis.
the location is pretty good, and we discovered a pool, but our room was very pokey and noisy for the money we paid. the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the heritage building is a bit of fun, but I'm not sure it was very good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Manny from canberra

nice position

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Average but great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Haggis from Brisbane

Watching LFC play at the MCG - Best Sporting Event

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved it! They were lovely Staff who were very helpful. We stayed for one night to see the LFC soccer game. Will definitely return for the tennis one January! Thank you for a fab time. Will never forget how much fun it was to visit Melbourne.