Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Great hotel, Great price.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This hotel is a perfect place to stay in Melbourne for a cheap price. The facilities are very clean and functional. It can be a bit of a walk to get into the heart of the CBD and South bank but there is the city circle tram about 2 mins from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Easy to access, nice and clean

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Close to major venues, cheap, friendly staff.
Stayed overnight for birthday, was extremely close to everything in the city. Clean rooms and bathrooms, and quiet building overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Handy and affordable option for families

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Staff were helpful.
Cons: Fridge in room might be helpful.
Location: Location is close to Lygon Street and lots of good food options, and also to the Victoria St markets, China town, the Museum, and Princess Theatre.
Stayed 5 nights with 3 kids and husband in a family room with shared facilities. It was surprisingly comfortable and the shower/toilet facilities were cleaned 5 times a day and always accessible when we wanted them. I was really pleasantly surprised by the experience. Close to the city and lots of fun stuff for a short family holiday. Staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MY

Great location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We stayed in a double bed ensuit room for 5 nights. The room is very clean but small & no room service except towels are changed everyday. Kitchen is not tat clean & doesn't seem to have enug pot/pan/ utensils to go around. But overall for the cleanliness, price & location, we will recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Nice comfortable hotel close to transport

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Location: It is opposite the old Goal easy walking distance to the Museum Parliament the Library and the Treasury Building.
The hotel was handy to the free tram which does a circuit around Melbourne City and stops at the main sightseeing sights. A very pleasant experience staying there. We had our own bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. There was a shared kitchen where you could cook and a laundry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Surprisingly very adequate!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This place was very good! I was a bit apprehensive about staying in backpacker hostel. But when I walked in, I was impressed that it looked like a "normal" hotel. The staff were quite helpful and upbeat. I had actually lost my wallet on the plane so I didn't have any ID or Bank Cards on me. Thankfully, I had the Expedia App which housed my itinerary which was accepted by the hotel. I was able to access my money from my banks branch so I had the requested $50 bond instead of using a credit card (which I didn't have). The room and toilet doors were opened by using an access card. The room I was in (Room 102) which always a 4 bed dorm was clean and acceptable. The toilet and showers were together in individual suites out in the hallway. They we're quite clean. I didn't use the movie room, roof space or kitchen so I can't comment. Overall, I was really happy with this hotel. It isn't the Hilton but they never make any claims to be. It's a no fuss backpackers hotel which appears, in my humble opinion, to be the Hilton of all backpackers hostels. I would consider bringing my wife and even my kids (in our own 4 bed dorm). Well done to your team and I look forward to staying there next time I'm in Melbourne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, basic accommodation

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Convenient, good facilities for basic price.
Cons: Closest bathrooms not always available. Improved recycling - of organics and paper.
Location: Near eastern part of CBD, and to Lygon St restaurants. Not too far to QV market
Good basic facilities, with some extras - e.g. roof top area with spa; exercise room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vic

VERY BUDGET & TOILET FACILITIES GROSE!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Rooms ok.. Toilet and showers disgustingly dirty.. Backpackers think they can walk round all but naked.. Beds harder than rocks.. Staff friendly & it's warm in there..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by waiyu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com