Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Fremantle

Iconic Hotel.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff. History. Furnishings. Artwork.
Cons: Airconditioning and plumbing
Location: Right across from Parliment House and Train and Tram stops. Short walk to the centre of the city
Lovely old Hotel at the top end of Town. Our room was disappointing, as the heat was regulated by the Hotel, and was set around 30 Degrees, so was far too hot. We were forced to sleep with the window open, in the middle of winter. Also the shower was difficult to adjust, by the time it was adjusted right it was time to get out. Staff were all friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Historic hotel in centre of Melbourne

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts were delicious and generous.
Room was small, but comfortable and had a pleasant outlook. Traditional style and furnishings added to the effect. The close proximity to many restaurants and beautiful buildings and parks make it an ideal choice. Breakfast was unhurried and beautifully presented. Staff were courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hay

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Impeccable service.
Cons: Loved everything.
Location: Right in the "Theatre District" and the Spaghetti Tree restaurant just round the corner.
I certainly recommend the Hotel to anyone the likes a classy hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Deluxe rooms were so spacious and beautifully decorated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise from rooms above clearly heard

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms. The historic architecture of the hotel and sweeping staircase.
Cons: noise reduction. more rapid restoration of telephone and TV faults. Clean the grout in between marble tiles of shower recess.
Location: Tram at entrance convenient location
Hotel is asthectically pleasant. Unfortunately Noise from rooms above clearly heard & disruptive. The three phones in the room did not work the entire 4 nights at the hotel. The fault was notified to hotel staff but nothing fixed. TV reception very poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very comfortable and convenient

Posted Jul 17, 2014
very close to Botanical gardens and shopping. the room was great and staff very helpful It would be nice if the DVD was in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Old World Charm

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Wonderful staff, location, service
Cons: A refurbish of the bathrooms and corridors. As they are quite dated and worn.
Location: Circle tram at the door. Treasury Gardens are wonderful to walk through. Easy walk into city centre. Close to all the theatres.
Although the rooms are quite dated the staff and service are certainly 5 star. I thoroughly enjoyed my 8'days at the hotel. The room was always cleaned and restocked to a very high standard. The concierge desk extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its wonderful service and hospitality. I would hope that in the near future they refurbish the rooms and corridors to give it that 5 star feel that it deserves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, iconic hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location, size of rooms, lobby, free apples!
All very smooth. No complaints. Enjoyed the very comfortable room and excellent bed. Staff were very polite and had no problem with my late check-in. It is a perfectly located hotel, particularly if you want to catch the tram and go to hip cool areas such as Fitzroy and Collingwood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Yarra

Old world charm

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location: Located at the eastern side of the city across the road from Parliament House and Treasury Gardens, a short walk from theatres and restaurants.
We enjoyed the luxury of a four night stay in this gracious old hotel. We were upgraded to a suite on our arrival which certainly added to our comfort. The staff are professional yet welcoming. Some aspects of the decor could do with updating but I far prefer to stay here than in the sterile surroundings of new, modern hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Comfortable but not 5 star

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The history and decor.
Cons: Trying to modernise without losing the charm.
Location: Walking distance to the MCG and underground loop via Parliament Station.
Got an excellent daily deal from Expedia for one night in a basic room. It really was basic, but comfortable and clean. There was a nice close up view of the building at the back of the hotel. The quality of the digital channels on the television was erratic at best. The tap work in the bathroom was faulty. For a hotel that prides itself on their high tea, the tea in the room consisted of four tea bags, some basic thick china cups and milk pods. My expectation of fine china, a tea pot and fresh milk was way off. It does have an olde worlde charm; but this should not be a compromise on quality. I have stayed in basic rooms in most of the 5 star hotels in Melbourne and they were way above The Windsor in so many aspects. Got the deal, so we could walk from the hotel to the MCG for a night football match. The close proximity was great, as it was a freezing night. In all it was great value, but I wouldn't have done it at the normal rate.