Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice little hotel close to shops and eateries.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: location was good and staff were friendly
Location: walking distance to lots of good food and shopping on chapel street.
stayed there for work so had to leave early for course. Breakfast only served from 7am onwards but staff were very helpful and got breakfast served to eat at 7 sharp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay

Posted May 26, 2014
Great find. Excellent location and friendly staff. Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Perth

Great Location - South Yarra

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Just about everything other than parking
Great location for Botanical Gardens, Toorak Village and close to the city to take a walk along Yarra river. The hotel has excellent facility, clean and friendly / helpful staff. The only shortcoming is the parking to get in and out. Enjoyed the use of the spa and massage - great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: its ease of location and being able to walk everywhere
pleasant stay in melbourne in a good location, will definately stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from london

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Sydney, Australia

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location, Wonderful Staff..

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Perhaps the Television reception quality….pretty ordinary.
Location: South Yarra is a great suburb with excellent Cafes/Restaurants and so close to all transport and much of what is best about Melbourne….a hidden gem.
My eldest son was seriously injured in a fall and was in Intensive Care at Melbourne's Alfred Hospital. I needed accommodation for myself, my daughter and my 2yo grandson, which was close to the Hospital. Thankfully Expedia revealed the Lyall Hotel in lovely South Yarra where I had lived for several years quite a while ago….I booked 3 nights….last Friday, Saturday and Sunday at a very reasonable price. On arriving I was greeted by Luciana who was warm and gracious. She immediately upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite which pretty much blew me away and the "feeling" continued when we saw the quality of the accommodation….superb….and with 2 singles in a separate room it was perfect for my daughter and grandson. All weekend the staff were friendly and really helpful and the Lyall's proximity to the Hospital was truly convenient. My son is now improving daily and the Doctors said he will recover fully. Our thanks to The Lyall and Expedia….I've never had a poor Hotel through this website. John.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Visitor from Western Australia

Lovely Hotel in great location

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Lyall is a beautiful, small hotel conveniently located in the heart of South Yarra with easy access to shops, restaurants and transport. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are very comfortable with every convenience a traveller could need. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nadia from Brisbane

A lovely experience and one we will do again

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a beautiful part of Melbourne and very close to great shopping. It was quiet and very relaxing. We enjoyed the atmosphere and a glass of red by the fire in the evening. The rooms were spacious and had all that you needed. My only complaint was the bed. I felt it was in need of an upgrade for a hotel of that quality. The bed should be as luxurious as the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by E & T from Mosman

Great location and value

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The location, tasteful decor and good value.
Cons: The additional charge of the daily newspaper was not necessary!
Location: Close to the South Yarra train station and tram stops, ample choice of surrounding cafes and restaurants. Within walking distance to Chappell Street.
I have returned to this lovely boutique hotel with my husband this time and we were both extremely pleased with the location and value, particularly as we were upgraded to a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite. Thank you Lyall Hotel! The congenial staff were helpful and courteous and the locale was very quiet, safe and surrounded by many lovely cafes, bars and restaurants. Both train station and tram stops were within walking distance as was Chappell Street and Prahran. We would not hesitate returning to this hotel for our next visit to Melbourne!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

C'est chic!

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Wonderful boutique hotel tucked away just far enough so you have ample privacy but not too far so you can still play near by chapel st and toorak road. Beautifully appointed room, spotless with lovely big windows and balcony doors to let the fresh air and sunlightstream through. Even though my partner and I live in Melbourne we left feeling we'd been on a chic overnight stay somewhere in Europe - well done to the team at the Lyall!