Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom casuarina beach, NSW Australia

quiet and lovely for a getaway weekend.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: understated comfort and luxury, private, a true boutique hotel
perfect for closeness to CBD without being right in it. Chapel street shopping very close by, nice restaurants and we would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

excellent staff and great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The warm welcome, personal attention and the location
Cons: The lighting could be improved, it does nothing for the ambience of the room. Poorly chosen low energy light bulbs are my pet hate in hotels
Location: Great, walk to fabulous shopping and restaurants, close to tram
The staff here have a deserved eruption for making you welcome, nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make you feel at home, I can't praise them enough. The room is comfortable and generous with a separate lounge, kitchenette with a microwave and hot plate, a generous bathroom and very comfortable bed. There's ice cream in the fridge, which is great when you have a midnight craving. In short, all you need to be comfortable. The hotel itself is right in the middle of the up market south Yarra, close to the shopping strip, and you can walk to lots of great restaurants. There's a tram to the city nearby. All in all, I preferred staying here to my usual stay in the CBD, and will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic position in Murphy Street,easy walking .

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Beds a little uncomfortable,time to change them or upgrade to a higher quality.
Cons: Painting touch ups required ,from suitcase knocks etc.
Location: Close to everything ,chapel street for shopping dining
Staff more than accommodating ,nice to see the same faces every stay there. Easy walking distance to tram stop and good restaurants on Toorak road. Warm open gas log fire in the lobby,great place to have coffee or a drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice little hotel close to shops and eateries.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: location was good and staff were friendly
Location: walking distance to lots of good food and shopping on chapel street.
stayed there for work so had to leave early for course. Breakfast only served from 7am onwards but staff were very helpful and got breakfast served to eat at 7 sharp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andyfrom New York

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
My friend and I enjoyed staying at the Lyall. The staff was very helpful and the room was excellent. It is located in a great area of Melbourne, in South Yarra. Being from NYC, the area reminded me of SoHo with all of the shops and great restaurants close by. One thing to consider though is that since this is in South Yarra, it is a little out of the way form the airport and does not have direct access to the Skybus. However it is a short taxi ride or a quick train ride from Southern Cross Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay

Posted May 26, 2014
Great find. Excellent location and friendly staff. Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom Perth

Great Location - South Yarra

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Just about everything other than parking
Great location for Botanical Gardens, Toorak Village and close to the city to take a walk along Yarra river. The hotel has excellent facility, clean and friendly / helpful staff. The only shortcoming is the parking to get in and out. Enjoyed the use of the spa and massage - great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: its ease of location and being able to walk everywhere
pleasant stay in melbourne in a good location, will definately stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveller

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent friendly boutique hotel in fantastic location close to Toorak Rd and Chapel St Sth Yarra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jamesfrom london

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com