Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Very convenient location South Yarra and Chapel St

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Pleasant rooms to rest, good gym facility for the hotel size, real coffee on offer in the rooms. Courteous and efficient staff.
Cons: I would look at the menu, breakfast and lunch may have more choice eg breakfast only cour dough bread or croisants available - no whole grain for exam
Location: Close to South Yarra shopping area of Chapel Street, easy access to Melbourne city centre by tram, art gallery and Botanoical Gdns within walking dist
On arrival I found that the area I requested was not available. However, the room change was made and all good. The food is somewhat expensive for what is on offer. Rooms are very well designed, great living room area and excellent bathrrooms with glass showers though spacewise bathrooms little on the squeeze side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NSW

Style and location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location, room size and staff
Cons: Lighting in bathrooms and the provided teabags let the experience down. T2 would be commensurate with the overall quality of the hotel
Location: Breakfast at Top Paddock in Richmond and Kettle Black in South Melbourne are a must.
This was our second stay at the Lyall. The location is excellent for access to city and the burbs, especially the breakfast eateries in South Melbourne and Richmond. The staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful, the service excellent and the rooms large enough for sustained comfort over several days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in perfect position

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Comfortable,wonderful facilities,best place to stay in Melbourne.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely idea; but doesn't deliver

Posted Mar 15, 2015
The hotel is lovely. Very charming, I love the fireplaces and common areas; but my room was very disappointing. The décor was reminiscent of a 3 star American hotel. It had one picture on the wall in a gold-tacky frame. The rest of the room was very baron. What was worse was the filth on and behind the bed-side table. The table top was sticky, as if someone spilled a drink and it was never cleaned up. And then I pulled the table out to plug in my laptop and it was filthy; layers of dust, hair, etc. It was so gross, if it wasn't so late I would have called house cleaning to clean it straight away. The bathroom was no better. So for a person that is crazy about cleanliness, this was a major turn-off to the rest of the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Always a pleasure to stay at the Lyall Hotel and Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2015
When in Melbourne look no further. Stayed three nights during the last week of the Australian Open. Would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by Tracey Loweryfrom Australia - VIC - Geelong

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The staff and service are fantastic. A massive breakfast menu with free room service.
Cons: I couldn't stay longer
Location: Wonderful
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Great deal; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless;
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2015
Dear Tracey, Thank you for such a generous and positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Lyall and in particular our new menus. We hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay next time. Warmest wishes, Rowina Thomas Hotelier
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel! Service really good. Very nice rooms and good location in SY. We stayed 4 nights with our baby and loved the fact that you have a washing machine in your room.
5 out of 5
by Patricia Howardfrom Australia - VIC - Regional VIC

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Home away from home
Cons: Service was a bit haphazard and slow at the start
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Great deal; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015
Dear Ms Howard, thank you for your recent review on Wotif. While your overall review was good, thank you, I was a little concerned to read your comment that our service was a little slow at the start. Once again, thank you for your comments and I have looked into this and acted upon your comments and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall. Warmest regards, Rowina Thomas Hotelier
5 out of 5
by Tony Fayadfrom Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The service was impeccable . the staff went above and beyond and were happy to help with any request.
Cons: Rooms slightly outdated but showers were great.
Location: Perfect, Wonderful, Outstanding
Facilities: Nice , Distinctive, Above average; Value: Bargain, Fantastic, Amazing; Service: Flawless, Remarkable, Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless, Immaculate, Beautiful; close enough to chapel st for the dining and the shopping but far enough away for peace and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014
Dear Tony, Thank you so much for your great review of The Lyall on Wotif. I have shared this with the staff and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall in the near future. Warnest wishes, Rowina Thomas Hotelier