Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Durham

Wonderful Views from front and West facing rooms

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location - ideal for exploring on foot or diving to other border towns.
Location: Kelso for Floors Castle, Melrose Abbey, Abbotsford (Home of Walter Scott), and many other delightful border towns - avoid Hawick !!!
Unfortunately we were initially in room 007 which had no view at all. We asked for a change and paid an upgrade to a suite - room 316 which I must say was magnificent and well worth the extra cost. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was first class. Only a short drive to many nice places - especially Kelso - with eve Edinburgh and Berwick upon Tweed being within hour's drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great food

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Relaxing stay in a beautiful location - food excellent standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tomfrom Wiltshire

Warm welcome on a snowy day

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely location and excellent service from all the staff, who were some of the friendliest I have encountered. Good locally sourced food in the restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom Glasgow

OK and not much more

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room was very cold, breakfast disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Margaretfrom Durham

Comfortable, lovely location

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful country situation, overlooking the river Tweed. Rooms very comfortable and the staff delightful. Food was first rate. The lounge could have been a bit warmer, but we were told that the fire was awaiting repairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Moirafrom Clydebank

Recent visit

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a 2 night stay .Staff could not have been more helpful,very welcoming and friendly.Bedroom fine apart from rather stained and worn carpet.Nice big bathroom and cosy temperature.Dinner in the Tweed Restaurant was served very pleasantly by staff but room was too gloomy and had no atmosphere with guests whispering to each other-more like a church! Next morning the same room was quite different in daylight,with beautiful views of the Abbey and Tweed. On our second evening we ate in the Bistro which was much cheerier.Menu was exactly the same as the previous night-does it ever change? Our dessert-cranachan was like a froken block of icecream with 4 or 5 rasps arranged round it. I have never tasted cranachan like it! Apart from those criticisms all went well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dfrom Leicester

A quiet relaxing stay

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We found this a very quiet hotel after staying in the centre of Perth for the weekend. The staff were helpful and the location is wonderful, with views of the river and the Abbey itself,also a few walks to interesting places that did not tax the legs over much. The dinner menu stayed the same for the three nights we were there but there was also a chefs special menu which did change daily.We would recommend this hotel to our friends and have added it to our list of hotels to revisit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

1 night October

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice staff and good food. Very sleepy and quiet Only negative is that the hallways need a good dusting and hoover!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David Lfrom Cheshire

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice individual hotel in a great location, beautiful grounds leading down to a river. Rooms okay but in need of an update. Would stay here again.