Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Quiet, beautiful location, beautiful décor, good food.
Location: Abbotsford and Border Abbeys, many signposted walks and fishing. Golf at excellent, cheap, St Boswells course just across the river.
Stayed there while attending Hawick Common Riding events and visiting Abbotsford and Border abbeys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Durham

Wonderful Views from front and West facing rooms

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location - ideal for exploring on foot or diving to other border towns.
Location: Kelso for Floors Castle, Melrose Abbey, Abbotsford (Home of Walter Scott), and many other delightful border towns - avoid Hawick !!!
Unfortunately we were initially in room 007 which had no view at all. We asked for a change and paid an upgrade to a suite - room 316 which I must say was magnificent and well worth the extra cost. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was first class. Only a short drive to many nice places - especially Kelso - with eve Edinburgh and Berwick upon Tweed being within hour's drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from Colchester

Genteel and timeless Scottish hospitality

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a beautiful location - outstanding views from all parts of the grounds, its own fly fishing beat, and overlooking the magnificent ruins of Dryburgh Abbey. Staff were attentive and efficient, the room was comfortable and well appointed, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel if asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hector from East Kilbride

Very relaxing Easter weekend break

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely atmospheric country hotel with great service and good staff. It has that gentrified country air but not in a pompous way and goes all out to attend to customers needs including being very dog friendly although we are not dog owners, all the resident dogs were exceptionally well behaved. The hotel was probably modernised about 20 years ago and although impeccably clean it did have a slightly worn feel especially the main stair carpet which was a bit threadbare. Bistro and restaurant served excellent fayre again with attentive and well trained staff. Breakfast was hearty with as broad a choice as you would want and of course the Full fry up something not to miss. We were there over the Easter weekend with a full hotel and fantatsic weather it is ideally situated to visit all the surrounding towns, Abbeys, Abbotsford and just below a little known Wallace Monument walkable in about 30-40 minutes from the hotel although it is uphill all the way! Final day we had a fire alarm just around breakfast time which was more an inconvenience than a real issue, staff were very well trained, full guest check done, bright sunny morning, space blankets offered to all and breakfast time extended as a result.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan from Skipton

Ok but could be better

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, and building, but in need of some tlc and extra staff. Room was chilly and tired looking, food in the bistro was good but only one member of waiting staff, she did a great job considering, and same again at Breakfast only one person serving. Probably stay again but in its current state the room rate a little expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MARY B from Edinburgh

Top Marks

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely relaxing stay in a great hotel in a beautiful setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Glasgow

Lovely house, wonderful location

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful historical, traditional, but comfortable, accommodation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil from Wales

Great stay - recommend it

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic - lovely location, lovely folk, lovely stay.