Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Quiet, beautiful location, beautiful décor, good food.
Location: Abbotsford and Border Abbeys, many signposted walks and fishing. Golf at excellent, cheap, St Boswells course just across the river.
Stayed there while attending Hawick Common Riding events and visiting Abbotsford and Border abbeys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Durham

Wonderful Views from front and West facing rooms

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location - ideal for exploring on foot or diving to other border towns.
Location: Kelso for Floors Castle, Melrose Abbey, Abbotsford (Home of Walter Scott), and many other delightful border towns - avoid Hawick !!!
Unfortunately we were initially in room 007 which had no view at all. We asked for a change and paid an upgrade to a suite - room 316 which I must say was magnificent and well worth the extra cost. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was first class. Only a short drive to many nice places - especially Kelso - with eve Edinburgh and Berwick upon Tweed being within hour's drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan from Skipton

Ok but could be better

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, and building, but in need of some tlc and extra staff. Room was chilly and tired looking, food in the bistro was good but only one member of waiting staff, she did a great job considering, and same again at Breakfast only one person serving. Probably stay again but in its current state the room rate a little expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MARY B from Edinburgh

Top Marks

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely relaxing stay in a great hotel in a beautiful setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Glasgow

Lovely house, wonderful location

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful historical, traditional, but comfortable, accommodation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil from Wales

Great stay - recommend it

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic - lovely location, lovely folk, lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kirsten from Dunbar

Wonderful escape

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
I took my mum away here for a break as she'd only recently come out of hospital and we didn't want to leave our dog behind. I'd requested a twin disabled access room which they ensured (I rang to check the next day and they'd already set it aside for us). I'd heard it was a great dog friendly hotel and it really lived up to that - ours got a welcome of her own, and a little treat. And it was lovely to be able to sit in the lounge and bistro/bar with her. And meet others with their dogs. The room was nice and comfortable and with a great wet room attached (with a good strong shower which my mum really enjoyed using). We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was good. The setting is beautiful, right next to the river. You can walk round the hotel and grounds but if you want to walk in the Abbey grounds (next door) you have to pay, unless you're a NTS member.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great food

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Relaxing stay in a beautiful location - food excellent standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Wiltshire

Warm welcome on a snowy day

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely location and excellent service from all the staff, who were some of the friendliest I have encountered. Good locally sourced food in the restaurant.