Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

ideal for visiting the border towns

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location and old world charm
Cons: Staff very friendly and helpful, lack professional image and skills expected from a 4 Star hotel.
Location: Excellent for walking and fishing. Border towns are outstanding examples of country life and living.
Friendly staff, interesting location and outstanding food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location on the Tweed a delight

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Window frames need upkeep
Location: Outstanding
Pity about the exhaust noise from the kitchen extractor next to the lawn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from Epsom

Character Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014
I loved the atmosphere and scenery at this hotel. Will be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Arnstein & Harriet from Norway

Excellent

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only thing to complain about is low water pressure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stevewadd from Essex

Nice place to stay

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only thing that i can knock this hotel for is the furnishings within the rooms could do with an update. The main issue being the TV was made circa 1990 and my laptop screen is bigger. Other than that the staff and the hotel itself are very pleasant and the stunning surroundings are priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from North Yorkshire

Quiet Hotel on the banks of the river

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Setting and friendly staff
Cons: The stay represented good value for money, so nothing!
Location: Good location next to the river with a variety of country pursuits available including fishing and walking from the hotel.
This is our third visit to the hotel. The staff are welcoming and we had a room overlooking the front of the hotel, glimpses of the abbey and a good view of the river. The food is well presented and tasty and represents good value for money. We ate in the bistro (bar) where the tables are well spaced giving a feeling of privacy. The room was comfortable, clean and the shower worked well (always a key indicator for the standard of the hotel!) We shall definitely return to enjoy the walking in the Eildon Hills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel adjacent to an ancient Abbey

Posted May 14, 2014
The dinner at the restaurant was exceptional. The setting is quite lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JL from Reading, UK

Great overnight stay

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for 1 night on a trip between Newcastle and Edinburgh and this hotel was a gem of a find, lovely setting, grounds and quiet location almost exactly halfway between Newcastle and Edinburgh. Was very happy with the price, breakfast was delicious and had a good dinner here as well. Room was clean and comfortable, and plenty of parking available even for larger vehicles. Overall do not have any cause for complaint and definitely would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carpenters from Diss

Tranquil Luxury Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment you come up the drive passed the ruined abbey you know you are in for a treat, staff are friendly, rooms well appointed and comfortable, and a good restaurant menu, put into outstanding country by the river Tweed means you will have a memorable stay, enjoy!