Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Hristi

Disappointment with nice staff

Posted Aug 22, 2013
The hotel had the feeling of one that has been nice in the past but feels cheap except for the bedroom itself (or the bed). Staff was polite and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Sharon

Run, don't walk to another hotel!

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: The staff we dealt with was courteous.
Cons: The place needs an extensive overhaul.
Location: It is next door to the Cracker Barrel and near quite a few restaurants and fast food places.
The lobby was nice, the rooms weren't. We had two rooms. One room had a big smear of blood in the bathroom at the light switch. the second room had blood on the sheets, hadn't been vacuumed, and the phone didn't work. They switched our rooms after a lengthy wait. The first room was okay, the second had no phone, the bathroom sink was below the counter top and the bathroom smelled musty. The tub didn't drain very well in the first room. The next day the towels were not picked up or fresh ones left. The elevator was out and our replacement rooms were on the second floor. The next morning we went out a door which said an alarm would sound. It didn't. We came back the same way and still no alarm. The icemaker on the second floor was in pieces. The hotel needs a lot of work. This was my first time in a Clarion Hotel. It will be my last.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Read the reviews they are TRUE!

Posted Jul 23, 2013
The hotel had an over all muggy smell. The presentation of the staff was not professional at all. Water stains on the ceiling in my room,outlets were broken, the lock on my room door was broken, updates or maintanence to this hotel have not been done in over 30 years it seems like. NOT RECOMMENDED!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was horrible

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Bad customer service n wall paper was coming off the wall
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ramon from Atlanta

A Definite Thumbs Down

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay was incredibly uncomfortable. We even checked out a day early because of how much we disliked our stay. This hotel is old and in TERRIBLE condition. Paint on the walls is chipped off, the carpet is more than 10 years old and probably hasn't been cleaned in as much time, doors are falling of hinges, and worst of all because of the conditions the entire hotel just feels dirty. I didn't even want to walk around my room with my shoes off. If you have never stayed in a hotel before an don't care where you stay...go for it, but if you have standards for where you lay your head when you are traveling, this place is not for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patria D from Louisiana

Very pleasant stay

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
My family of four stayed at this Memphis Clarion two separate nights this week. Between the two nights we had a non-refundable reservation at a nearby Holiday Inn. This Clarion out-shined the HI in several respects with the staff being the brightest. They were very friendly and professional and even greeted us on multiple occasions to assure that our stay was comfortable. Although the hot tub we nicknamed the "cold tub" the first night(it had been drained and refilled due to previous patrons) it was back up to its soothing heat by the time we returned. The pool was clean and comfortable and the maintenance personnel was very attentive. The accommodations are not the newest, but are very clean and comfortable. The staff even retained my camera battery charger(which I had forgotten the first stay) and returned it to me our next stay. My family highly recommends this Clarion. Thanks so much for helping to make our Memphis trip memorable!
1 out of 5
by boomerang

Never again

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: It's due to be renovated
Location: location may be the only good thing...
Check-in was very slow. then i was first booked to a room that someone was already in. got another room. hallways are old with holds in the walls and very bad odor, bottom of pool looks dirty, tub in room dirty, no waste basket, overall if I was anyone else (dont let the pictures fool you) book you a stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Christiansburg, VA, USA

Good Location and Breakfast

Posted Jun 8, 2013
The air conditioner in our room was a little noisy but overall it was a good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Home

Hotel clean, but ---

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel looked fine, rooms clean & maintained, but in bathroom over lavatory, what appeared to be mold-elevator out of service, which desk clerk seemed to be unaware of, though another guest said it had been down for a couple of days-none too happy with 1-800 reservation service, which mispronounced the name so bad, we actually only stopped there for directions. Without these glitches, would have rated overall 4 1/2 stars. Maybe next time.