Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Nice, staff was helpful and nice. Went during off season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope we have another opportunity to service your needs in the future. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We know there are many options when choosing a hotel, and we are honored that you chose our location for your visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hayward, CA

Nice Hotel, Close to Beale Street

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel is a few blocks from Beale Street, THE place to be at night. Enjoy bar-b-q or sing and/or dance at a club. The area feels very safe.
Cons: The room was large and clean, although it initially smelled a bit musty. The bathroom was well designed but VERY tiny with no where to hang towels.
Location: Walk down 2nd St. to Beale. Enjoy the jazz, rock & roll or blues being played live in several different clubs. Eat bar-b-q and absorb the ambiance.
Because I was traveling by train I arrived at 6:27 AM. I had talked to Dana at the front desk the day before and she arranged for me to get in my room by about 7:30 AM. I was able to take a 4 hour nap, shower and enjoy a bus tour of the city. Our driver, Harry Baptist of Backbeat Tours, was wonderful. He answered all of our questions and relayed the history of Memphis in a flowing narrative, without sounding like he was reading from a script. I highly recommend taking the bus tour on day one and then returning to those places that really intrigued you on day two. Unfortunately, I was only in town for 24 hours, since my train left at 6:50 the next morning, but I know what I want to examine in more detail on my next trip. The Lorraine Motel, site of the Martin Luther King assassination, is now part of the Civil Rights Museum. Mr. Baptist told us it would take about 4 hours to properly visit it. We also spent about 50 minutes in the Rock 'N' Soul Museum. The bus tour included the museum and we could visit it again within 48 hours at no additional charge. It deserved at least 2 more hours of our attention. The tour ended with a viewing of the ducks at the Peabody Hotel, which is directly across the street from the Holiday Inn. Dana and Sherica at the front desk were especially helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom J

Poor experience.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
They are renovating. Only 1 of the elevators is in service. Hot water would not get over barely lukewarm. Waited 20 mins to be seated in restaurant and was only person in line. Upon finishing meal, waited 25 mins for check. Will not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. It sounds as though our hotel did not meet with your expectations, and I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to our current renovation process. I would like to invite you to return to our location once our renovation process is complete so that we may have the opportunity to improve your impression of our hotel. Thank you for your comments. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Ideal location in Downtown

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The hotel itself is dated but the location essentially makes up for it. It is located a few blocks from Beal St, where tourist should stick to at night. You must pay for valet parking which is $20 a night, so that was a tad annoying. When we arrived at the hotel the evening staff was rude and ignored me while they tried to handle some situation with people there for a conference. I heard a worker yell at a man staying at the hotel that he "couldn't steal all of his luggage carts". But when we checked out the morning staff were incredibly nice and polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. However, I regret that you had a poor experience regarding customer service. It is our goal to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest, and I regret that we fell short of that goal in regard to your personal experience. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. You can be assured that your comments will be shared with the appropriate management staff to ensure that you and future guests will not have the same experience. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future so that we may improve upon your opinion of our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: location
Though the staff was pleasant and helpful, my experience was disappointing. The rooms were advertised with refrigerator and microwave but didn't have either in mine. There was no ice machine on our floor. Elevator waits were long. Next to our room were many young girls having a sleepover with no adult in the room.....excessive noise in their room and hallway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I apologize for the confusion regarding the presence of a microwave and refrigerator in your room. We do have room types that offer these items to guests who request them. I apologize for any confusion regarding this matter. I also regret that you were inconvenienced by neighboring guests who may have disrupted your rest. I wish we could have handled this matter while you were staying with us. Thank you for your comments. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to target areas that may need improvement. I hope we are granted another opportunity in the future to improve upon your last impression.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aus

Lovely hotel with even better staff

Posted Nov 15, 2014
We had such a great time staying here. The staff were absolutely lovely and answered all questions. Our room was clean and comfortable. We couldn't fault our stay at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at our Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis and for sharing your experience. It pleases us that you were happy with the customer service and southern hospitality our staff provided during your visit. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Fine if you like a cold shower

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Availability of hot water in showers and lifts
Location: Central to Beale st
Central location and staff helpful. Shower was a debacle. Could only get hot water by running bathroom tap at same time as running the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience. I apologize if you experienced issues with the water temperature in your guest room and thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can improve on our guest's experience. I hope you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, MS

Excellent stay!!!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The Staff!!
Cons: Nothing, everything and everyone was Awesome!!!
Location: I love the fact that it was in walking distance to everything and place that we needed to go.
My experience was Great!!! the people who visited the hotel at the same time I did were very pleasant and the staff was Awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and your time in Memphis!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Good place to stay

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We spent three days in Memphis and wanted to stay close to downtown. This Holiday Inn is perfectly located. We arrived at the hotel and were met by a smiling, friendly and helpful staff. They unloaded our luggage and got us checked in, and within 5 minutes, we were in our room. The room was clean and smelled fresh. During our stay everyone was extremely helpful and courtious. There are a couple of things I would have liked. First, better coffee. Both the coffee in the room and at the "Seatle's Best" shop in the lobby was AWFUL!! When I first booked this hotel, I thought $20.00 per night for parking was very high. I still do, but It seems to be about normal for downtown hotels. If you stay here, DON'T waste your money on the breakfast buffet. "Very Expensive" for what is at best, average breakfast fare. Also, we booked a room with what was supposed to be 2 Queen sized beds. At home we have a standard "full" size bed and the ones in the room were even smaller than what we have at home. So, be aware. No Way are they Queen size. Lastly, as we checked out the person who brought our car had his own agenda and did not listen to our concerns about loading our luggage. None of these issues were a big deal for us. Overall we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay downtown and will stay here agin if we should find ourselves back in Memphis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis. It sounds like you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown, and I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I regret you dissatisfaction with our coffee selections, and I apologize that you did not feel that our breakfast selections were a good value. Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding these matters, as well as your view on our valet parking. As with other downtown hotels, parking is not complimentary, but we do feel that our prices are competitive. I hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future to change your opinion of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mississippi

Great location.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Walking distance from fedex forum and Beale st. They have there own parking garage which is nice. It's $20 a day to park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you enjoyed our ideal downtown location, and I am delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of it. I am so pleased to hear that you had a pleasurable experience at our hotel and in the city of Memphis, and I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.