Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by horacebroon from scotland

This hotel badly needs some money spent on it!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: The human rights museum is a trolley ride away. Beale st only a few blocks
Twice I ordered a cab for 6am in the morning with reception the night before. On each occasion, no can turned up. Second time around the security lady kindly drove me. The hot water wouldn't come of the first day at 5.30am. I reported it and it worked the second day, although I had to leave it running.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The parking attendants were excellent
Cons: The 4:00 p.m. check in time is ridiculous
Location: Downtown and Memphis everything is in walking distance, food, arenas, etc.
Hotel is undergoing construction so there are internal problems. First day no hot water, second day muddy water, but they prefaced the visit with those issues. The service attendants were good; it took two days to get my room cleaned but that was no real issue.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with others. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems concerning our water, but I am glad to hear that our staff was informative upon your check in about our current renovation process. As for housekeeping, did you bring your concerns to the attention of our staff? I feel confident that if you had, we would have made sure your room was serviced immediately. We appreciate your patience with us as we make improvements to our property, and hope you will return to stay with us in the future once our renovations are complete. Thank you for staying with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: proximity to attractions.
Cons: obviously the construction, however that will end and all will be good.
Location: close to everything I wanted to see, beale street, museums
had read a lot of complaints about construction..it was going on when we were there but didn't affect us at all, out most of the day and back in evening and all was quiet. front desk accommodated my request for room change due to ice machine noise, no problem, that would have been much more annoying hearing that throughout the night...walking distance to all museums and food eateries. really enjoyed the stay and found rates very reasonable.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and your stay was not disrupted by our renovation process. We value all of our guests’ feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The person at the counter was extremely rude

Posted Mar 31, 2014
they just acted like we stole something... very rude
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing this unfortunate experience with us. This issue will be addressed with the appropriate staff, and further education and training will be pursued so all of our associates can better serve our guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Next time you visit Memphis, we hope you will consider us again so we can improve on your last impression.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Beale

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Great little shops, bars, trolley, and within walking distance to Beale Street.
Overall experience was good. Parking was terrible and to be charged $17 per night was a bit much. There was construction going on during our stay-good thing I didn't need a nap because they were there all weekend! Had to use the service elevator to get to the garage and it was scary!! It appeared only 2/3 other room elevators were working which made things very slow. Most of the staff were friendly and outgoing, Clean, clean, clean, which was great.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis. We are delighted to hear that you lfound your room to be clean to your satisfaction and our dstaff to be friendly and helpful. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced regarding the ongoing construction and our elevators. We value all our guest feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future once our renovations are complete.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No roll-away for a three person reservation??

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Previous year had a roll-away. This year were told no way???? Not good.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. Unfortunately, roll-away beds are only allowed in certain room types due to fire safety regulations. This is for the safety and protection of our guests. I am sorry if you were inconvenienced by this regulation. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marc from Toronto

Good location. Friendly staff.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Even though we had to wait for our room, the staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable.
Comment from
Jan 20, 2014
Marc, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear that despite the inconvenience you experienced while checking in, our staff was able toimprove the situation by providing the kind of customer service we strive to give to all our guests. I'm glad you found your room to be comfortable. Thanks for your patience and understanding with us, and thank you for staying with us. Please consider us again if you ever return to the city of Memphis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susan

Nice hotel in good location for downtown activitie

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Nice hotel in good location. Only drawback was the parking garage was full so we had to use another one just down the street.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.I apologize that you were inconvenienced by the full praking garage. Unfortunately, there are times that there is a higher demand for parking, and that is why we offer overflow parking in other areas aside from our parking garage. Again, I apologize for your inconveience and I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. Please stay with us again if you ever return to the Memphis area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonya from Minnesota

Hotel experience

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: How close it was to Beale Street walking distance
Location: Peabody ducks was pretty cool. Trolley ride
Hotel was under renovations and was very load at times. Seeming like a jack hammer right above my head. I think that a discount should of been offered for the incomvenience like free valet or self parking. Along with the noise it interferred with elevator speed as often being used for worker and equipment being moved up and down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony

Holiday Inn

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: ALL of the staff was excellent. If you get a chance say Hi to Julius.
Staff is excellent. Undergoing renovations so be prepared.