Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Ver pleasant stay,nice room and the staff was very friendly and informative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

nice downtown hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: location and rooftop
Cons: parking
Location: convenient to downtown trolley (when operational), Beale Street, and riverfront.
nicely refurbished old building. convenient walk to Beale Street and riverfront. convenient to downtown trolley (which unfortunately was out of service during our stay). be sure to take in the great rooftop views and atmosphere. adequate fitness center in old bank vault. a bit overpriced with everything "extra" including valet parking on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington, Mo.

Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Everything was great... The room was very clean. The staff were exultant!! The location could not have been better for my needs.. Quick acces back on the main highways, for going out and heading back home, were a plus.. And the hotel is only blocks from many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Everyone was very friendly. Great location as you're within walking distance of lots of attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

A Memphis Gem!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The Madison staff is well trained, friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The view from the rooftop bar is spectacular!
Cons: Don't know of a thing.
Location: Located within easy walking distance of the Beale Street music district. There are also many dining options available closeby as well.
We selected this hotel after reading comments on Trip Advisor. We had considered staying at the "Peabody" , but some "spotty" review steered us away. Glad we selected the "Madison". It was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from St. Louis

Loved this hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Loved everything about this hotel
Loved this hotel, the staff was great!! We loved our room and the rooftop bar had a magnificent view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted May 26, 2014
Everything about this hotel nice. Every staff member was incredibly helpful. The only drawback was my room air conditioning would not cool my room even though I had the thermostat set to 55°F. I believe they could have fixed it had I told them about it early Saturday morning but Iddidn't notified the staff until about 7:00pm Saturday night. The staff was apologetic. All in all, it was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and I will definitely consider staying there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bil

Friendly Staff, Perfect Locale, Very Quite.

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Close to all major attraction. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were all extremely friendly. The roof deck bar was great.
Location: Beale Street, Famous Restaurants, Music, The Mississippi River, Civil Rights Museum all super close.
We walked to museums, restaurants and the Beale St. music scene. Shuttle bus took us to Graceland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Memphis 10, Madison Hotel 3

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: the rooftop bar which is open to the public, no need to stay at the hotel to enjoy this experience
Cons: housekeeping skills, front desk/customer relations, there are only 2 elevators and the staff holds them both for long periods of time in the basement
Location: Its a bit far from Beale Street which is actually nice.
The Madison is supposedly a 4 star hotel, trust me, it is not even close. We arrived at 5pm, 2 hours past check in and our room was not ready. When we do finally get our room it is dirty, not vacuumed or dusted. Despite paying extra for a 3rd guest the room was not supplied for 3, not enough towels, coffee cups or coffee. I have never stayed in a four star hotel in which I had to call the front desk as soon as I walked into my room. Front desk help was not sympathetic or apologetic at all. After spending the next day out exploring wonderful Memphis we returned at 5:30pm to find our room had not been made for the day, another call to the front desk. We went to the rooftop, which does have beautiful views of the river, for about 1.5hrs. The room had been addressed, but again, not enough towels, nothing tidied, NO coffee cups or coffee. On our way out to dinner we spoke with the manager and housekeeping manager about these issues. They did apologize, offered us a bottle of wine and said they would head up to rectify room. When we returned, lo and behold there were rugs on the bathroom floor, a tray(none before) with 3 coffee cups AND water glasses, enough coffee for all, tidied up, and left us a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine. Let me correct that...a bottle of wine way into the vinegar stage and a box of stale chocolates. Really quite insulting. I will not be recommending The Madison Hotel to any family, friends, or clients. They need to get their act together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location, trendy yet comfortable

Posted May 6, 2014
Pleasure to stay at the Maddison. brilliant decor and music theme. Will return.