Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Perfect for activities downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The beauty of it, and the atmosphere. The competency of the staff. It's convenience for downtown attractions and restaurants.
Cons: Better access to the rooftop at night for guests simply wanting a drink and to enjoy the view. I wish I knew what that view was like at night.
Location: Autozone Park, Beale St., great restaurants, Mud Island, shopping--all close enough to make a simple walk.
The staff was very welcoming at check in. They were competent and went above and beyond . Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The rooms were updated and had all that was required. On our second night there was a noise problem in the room across from ours. When reported the staff responded, but the noise continued. That was not a good night for sleep . I loved the view from the top of the building, but unfortunately, a party was on the top of the building when we returned from our ballgame, and the cover charge and loud noise drove us back to our rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Hotel within walking distance to Beale St

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant. Good location
Cons: Redesign closets. Police the cleaning.
Location: It is within walking distance of restaurants and entertainment.
Room too small and pricey for the little space. Most of the closet is full of baskets that are not necessary and little space to hang clothes. It was clean the first day but we extended our stay and on the second day the bathroom was not cleaned and the towels were not replaced. Once we notified the front office they did send staff to do it quickly. The roof top bar has a very nice view of the river and the Tapas are quite good. The restaurant staff is very helpful and the food was good but overpriced. In general the stay was all right and it was nice to be able to walk to Beale St.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Lesli, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts regarding your stay at the Madison. We have multiple room types on each floor and I am sorry that your reservation was made for one of our smallest rooms - unfortunatly, we were unable to upgrade you to a larger room. I waill share your experiences with the team and will addresss your concerns. Regards, Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Steele, Mo

Disturbing

Posted Aug 11, 2014
My son found white panties with black kisses on them. So I guess the guest before us had a pretty good time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Lesli, Hotel Management
My sincere apologies. We have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping team . I understand that Management did speak with you while you were onsite and offered an upgrade and additional night stay. Thank you for choosing the Madison and we appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Monte Carlo, Monaco

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Great location within walking distance to most things downtown.
We enjoyed The Madison Hotel. It had a deco vibe with a modern feel. The elevators are decorated with album covers - super cool! Our room was gorgeous, super clean and we loved the amazing wallpaper in our room and in the bathroom... really well done. The front manager lady (forgot her name!!!) was lovely and warm. The rooftop patio is something to check out. Great views and the lighting is spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Ver pleasant stay,nice room and the staff was very friendly and informative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

nice downtown hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: location and rooftop
Cons: parking
Location: convenient to downtown trolley (when operational), Beale Street, and riverfront.
nicely refurbished old building. convenient walk to Beale Street and riverfront. convenient to downtown trolley (which unfortunately was out of service during our stay). be sure to take in the great rooftop views and atmosphere. adequate fitness center in old bank vault. a bit overpriced with everything "extra" including valet parking on the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington, Mo.

Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Everything was great... The room was very clean. The staff were exultant!! The location could not have been better for my needs.. Quick acces back on the main highways, for going out and heading back home, were a plus.. And the hotel is only blocks from many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Everyone was very friendly. Great location as you're within walking distance of lots of attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

A Memphis Gem!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The Madison staff is well trained, friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The view from the rooftop bar is spectacular!
Cons: Don't know of a thing.
Location: Located within easy walking distance of the Beale Street music district. There are also many dining options available closeby as well.
We selected this hotel after reading comments on Trip Advisor. We had considered staying at the "Peabody" , but some "spotty" review steered us away. Glad we selected the "Madison". It was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from St. Louis

Loved this hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Loved everything about this hotel
Loved this hotel, the staff was great!! We loved our room and the rooftop bar had a magnificent view!