Ratings based on 951 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala

Hotel Memphis

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Clean the floors in room 411. Clean the pools pronto. Breakfast should start at 6AM.
The staff was excellent. The bathroom off the lobby had an enormous cobweb across the stall. The room had not been vacuumed in a while...............and the entrance could use some TLC. The pool filter was not operating so the water was very cloudy in the inside pool and the exterior pool needed vacuuming.................. I was unsettled by the number of armed guards walking the premise..............the shuttle was timely....... The breakfast starts at 6:30AM so we missed it due to an 8:15AM flight.................Free breakfast should be available by 6AM.......... I would not stay here again. The location is excellent but the hotel is on a decline. The lobby is lovely, the restaurant had a limited menu for Sunday night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Dirty, bad area, don't let pics fool you

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved
Location: This hotel is in a bad area of Memphis. Can't tell ou about things nearby, we were just anxious to leave
The bathroom floor was sticky from hairspray, the towel shelves were dusty, a hair on the washcloth and there was a plastic tooth flosser on the floor. Don't be fooled by the pictures. This place is a dump. It looked like the people of Walter-Mart in the lobby. Awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City area

Very comfortable beds.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
A nice hotel, very soft beds and comforters. Enjoyed shows in the ballrooms. Breakfast was o.k. Only downside was distance to Beale or Graceland. Would gladly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

very nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: clean and safe
Cons: more food availability and maybe room service
Location: no comment
The hotel was just what we were looking for, a nice place to stay in a safe environment. Out only complaint would be that they did not have any type of restaurant that was open for dinner except the bar. Breakfast was good and everything else was good. Since I did not want to eat in the bar, I came down to the lobby desk where they sell a few light snacks and candy bars. The desk clerk thanked me by name which really impressed me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Prairie Texas

Horrible

Posted Aug 17, 2014
My Husband and I had the worse experience every at any hotel..We arrived about 1:15 am Friday morning got up about 8:30 am for breakfast..Check out about 11:00 to our surprise we were accuse of theft some one had been breaking in cars in their parking lot and they said we fit the description.We explained we just got there from Texas and we left..Minutes later we were pull over by Police stating we fit the description of someone committing felony theft at the hotel..this was horrifying defaming our character. I would never recommend anyone to Hotel Memphis..Our whole vacation was ruined
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Aug 16, 2014
I was somewhat surprised by the level of disrepair of the hotel (peeling wallpaper and such) but was very pleased with the friendly staff and the comfort of the rooms. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Nothing pleases us more than hearing that a guest had such a comfortable stay with us at The Hotel Memphis they will be returning for another. Our staff loves to go above and beyond for our guests; we appreciate your acknowledgement of them and look forward to your return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We like the fact that breakfast is included with the stay. The hotel is comfortable and amenities are good. The staff is not as friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is so nice to hear when a guest appreciates the beauty in our hotel. Were glad you had a comfortable stay here at The Hotel Memphis and were able to enjoy our amenities as well as breakfast during your stay. We pride ourselves on our staff going above and beyond for our guests and would like to apologize if for some reason our staff fell short of your expectations in any way. We do hope that you will return and allow us the opportunity to exceed those expectations in the future. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Good Hotel for Overnight Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Not run down like others claim. My room was very nice and there's free wifi/parking. It's close to the interstate too.
Cons: The breakfast selection.
Location: Did not seem like there was much around. You will absolutely need a car if you're staying here and plan on going anywhere besides the airport.
Not sure what all the complaining is about. I was nervous after reading the negative reviews but my stay was fine. I had to stop over in Memphis on a long road trip and needed a place to spend the night that was adjacent to the interstate but not scary or dirty. Checkin was very fast and the room was great! Checked under the bed, checked under the sheets, checked the bathroom - all spotless and clean in my room. It's not near downtown or Beale Street, so this place might not be good for a visit TO Memphis. But if you're just passing THROUGH Memphis like I was, this hotel is perfect. Staff was excellent and the parking lot was gated and secure. I didn't have any noise problems, but my room was at the end of the hall away from the elevators and ice machine. My only complaint would be the breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausage, cinnamon toast sticks, and oatmeal (along with the obligatory fruit, bread, and juice/coffee) is not very impressive for a hotel this nice. Maybe I missed something? Regardless, my stay was very pleasant and I'm glad I picked this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
The bed was comfortale. Free breakfast wasn't great. But, it was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Hearing that you found The Hotel Memphis to be economical during your recent stay is pleasing. Not only do we wish to give our guests the best experience possible, to remain cost friendly is of major importance as well. We do wish however that our complimentary breakfast had met your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated, thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

A drive to Beale Street & Graceland mediocre.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
It was not the cleanest hotel and was a distance from Beale Street and Graceland. No Memphis feel to it. An airport hotel very blah. I would definitely stay at The Peabody Hotel which was gorgeous and inviting and right in the middle of everything. Hotel Memphis zero character. Very blah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Nothing disappoints us more than hearing our hotel did not meet a guest’s expectations. We are sorry to hear that our location was not in the ideal area for your travels. Thank you for your feedback.