Ratings based on 1,061 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my stay at the hotel was great the beds great

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: it was very central located to every where i needed to get to where i was going
Cons: no improvement needed
Location: it was near graceland
my experience was very good the staff was good rooms were very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff. Good valur

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Staff, staff, staff
Cons: Will need a renovation - but does offer good valua
Location: You need a car
Offerred a very competative price. The hotel will need a makeover in the coming years but was clean ans efficient. Staff were great and tha made the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Not the best part of town

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Overall a very good stay. However breakfast was truly terrible. Worst tasting hotel breakfast I've ever had. Needed to use Business Centers internet service for less than 2 minutes and it cost more than $6
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Great unpublished place to stay. Liked it much more than chains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Comfortable and helpful

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Also enjoyed the relaxing Koi pond and complimentary breakfast.
Location: 14+ miles away from Convention Center but enjoyed a nearby restaurant "Half Shell."
Staff went out of way to be helpful. They helped with transportation issues, offering suggestions to good restaurants, directions, and more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington Court House, oh

Disappointed with the change in our room!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel lobby was very attractive. Staff was pleasant and kind.
Location: Convenient to get to freeways as we traveled to other cities near by.
We booked a room with two beds as I was traveling with my father-in-law. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told that the only room that was available was one with a king bed and sofa bed. My father in law is 79 years old and certainly would not have expected him to sleep on the sofa bed. Unfortunately, that was my bed for the two nights we stayed at your hotel. What I expected to be a restful weekend with two good nights of sleep turned out to be not that way. It was explained to us that there were several groups of soccer teams in the hotel that needed the two-bed rooms and that was the reason for the change. We inquired for the second night about changing our room and were told that it was not a possibility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliments to our lobby and our staff. While we appreciate your feedback we are disappointed to hear that your accommodations may have fallen short of your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience you and your father-in-law may have experienced. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing us. We do hope you will return and allow us the opportunity to exceed all expectations on that future visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They did not honor our room reservation on Expedia

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Hotel itself was OK. Failure to give me the room I selected sucked.
Cons: They need to honor room reservations.
Booked a double room months in advance, but the hotel "overbooked" and only had a single available. Had a share a single bed with a large man. I will not go back to a hotel that I cannot trust with a "reservation." Apparently, they don't honor your room choice when booking through Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We can certainly understand your frustration when expectations are not followed through as originally planned. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and want to let you know that efforts are always made to try and ensure that our guests receive the accommodations they wish. Thank you for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Just a lot of little things wrong with this hotel. First room we got the window was completely covered in white cloudy gunk. They moved us but then didn't clean our room after the 1st night. We returned after a long day to a dirty room and were offered nothing but a change of room at 11 pm at night. No thanks. No water in the fitness room. Also there is free breakfast but it stops at 9:30 on the weekends- not that convenient in my opinion. The staff was nice but it's like the hotel has no manager- just too many dropped balls
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we appreciate your acknowledging our staff here at The Hotel Memphis we are disappointed to hear that we may have fallen short of your expectations in other areas. Although we understand that opinions may vary, we never wish to hear that we did not exceed a guest’s expectations. Thank you for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just close it down!!!!!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Close it down and start again
Location: Noting to do near it and expensive cab fares into the town, while the shuttle sits there not being used.
On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the staff, checked into our room which at best I would say was cleaned sometime ago, the room smelled stale. The room fixtures were out dated and in need of repair. The hotel has stated that it is close to down town, which I think a $35.00 cab ride one way to town is not close. The breakfast was awful, disposable dinner ware and plastic cups. We later found out from a cab driver that is was closing down, if so CLOSE DOWN!!!! I could have saved my money. We ended up Checking out a day early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While all feedback whether positive or otherwise is appreciated as it helps us to better focus on areas of our hotel a guest may feel needs to be further addressed, your review has greatly disappointed us this morning. Hearing that we fell short of a guest’s expectations is something we never wish to hear. Our hotel has no intentions of closing down at the present time and we are sorry to hear this rumor being spread. Thank you for your feedback.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While all feedback whether positive or otherwise is appreciated as it helps us to better focus on areas of our hotel a guest may feel needs to be further addressed, your review has greatly disappointed us this morning. Hearing that we fell short of a guest’s expectations is something we never wish to hear. Our hotel has no intentions of closing down at the present time and we are sorry to hear this rumor being spread. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was a great place will be back next time

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Was a great place will be back next time the place was very nice and liked the gated area very safe place tonstay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you! We’re glad you thought The Hotel Memphis was a great place and that you felt safe here during your stay. We’re already looking forward to that return visit with us in the future.